Upcoming golf events




SITE: Sydney

SCHEDULE: Thursday-Sunday

COURSE: The Lakes Golf Club (6,879 yards, par 72)

TELEVISION: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 8 p.m.-1 a.m.; Thursday-Saturday, 9 a.m.-noon, 8 p.m.-1 a.m.; Sunday,9 a.m.-noon).

LAST YEAR: Geoff Ogilvy won at The Lakes, finishing with 3-under-par 69 for a four-stroke victory.

LAST WEEK: Martin Kaymer rallied to win the World Golf Championships’ HSBC Champions in China, birdieing nine of the last 12 holes for a 9-under 63 and a three-stroke victory over Fredrik Jacobson. ... Matthew Guyatt won the New South Wales PGA Championship by a stroke, shooting 67-68-62.

NOTES: Tiger Woods, preparing for the Presidents Cup next week at Royal Melbourne, is making his first start since tying for 30th in the Frys.com Open on Oct. 9. He’s winless since the Australian Masters in November 2009. … U.S. Presidents Cup captain Fred Couples also is in the field along with team members Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Nick Watney, Bubba Watson, Hunter Mahan, David Toms and Bill Haas and assistant captain John Cook. The Australian contingent includes International captain Greg Norman and team members Ogilvy, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Aaron Baddeley and Robert Allenby.




SITE: Singapore

SCHEDULE: Thursday-Sunday

COURSE: Sentosa Golf Club, Serapong Course (7,357 yards, par 71) and Tanjong Course (6,625 yards, par 71)

TELEVISION: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 1-5 a.m., noon-3 p.m.; Saturday, 1-5 a.m., noon-2:30 p.m.; Sunday, 1-5 a.m., noon-3:30 p.m.)

LAST YEAR: Adam Scott won the tournament for the third time, completing 3-under-par 68 in a Monday finish for a three-stroke victory over Anders Hansen. Scott also won in 2005 and 2006.

NOTES: U.S. Presidents Cup players Phil Mickelson and Jim Furyk are in the field along with International team members Ernie Els, Retief Goosen and Y.E. Yang. ... Graeme McDowell and Padraig Harrington also are in the field along with Thomas Bjorn, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Louis Oosthuizen, Anthony Kim, Jeff Overton, Camilo Villegas and Jhonattan Vegas. ... Scott is skipping his title defense to play in the Australian Open.




SITE: Guadalajara, Mexico

SCHEDULE: Thursday-Sunday

COURSE: Guadalajara Country Club (6,626 yards, par 72)

TELEVISION: Thursday-Saturday, 4-6 p.m., 6:30-8 p.m.; Sunday, 4-6 p.m., 6:30-8:30 p.m.)

LAST YEAR: In-Kyung Kim won her third LPGA Tour title, closing with 8-under-par 64 for a three-stroke stroke victory over Suzann Pettersen. Kim had a tournament-record 19-under total.

LAST WEEK: Momoko Ueda won the Mizuno Classic in Japan, beating Shanshan Feng with a birdie on the third extra hole.

NOTES: Tournament host Ochoa, expecting her first child in December, won 27 LPGA Tour titles and retired last year. … Top-ranked Yani Tseng is coming off victories in the LPGA Tour’s Taiwan Championship and Ladies European Tour’s Suzhou Taihu Ladies in China. She has seven LPGA Tour wins this season, including major wins at LPGA Championship and Women’s British Open, and four other worldwide wins. … Michelle Wie won in 2009 for the first of her two LPGA Tour victories.



Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:07

Dimitrov holds off young American

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:13

Wednesday’s Futurity results

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:13

Rival Koreas to form joint Olympic team