Jones Creek receives award for best tournament of 2013

Evans resident Vaughn Taylor is proud of the men and women that put on the annual golf tournament that bears his name – especially so Thursday at a news conference at Jones Creek Golf Club.


The club has played host to the American Junior Golf Association’s E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf for three years, and Thursday the tournament was named the AJGA 2013 Tournament of the Year. This comes on top of the tournament being named most improved tournament of the year in 2011 and receiving the AJGA’s hospitality award for 2012.

Taylor, a two-time winner on the PGA Tour, praised Jones Creek general manager Ray Mundy, tournament chairman Dan Troutman and everyone involved.

“I’m proud to have my name on the tournament and definitely to be tournament of the year, I think is quite an amazing accomplishment,” said Taylor, a former Augusta State golfer. “From what we’ve seen today with the interaction of the sponsors and everyone involved here I think it shows how much passion these guys have for this tournament.”

The 2014 event is slated for July 15-17. It will be one of 108 events the AJGA will put on in 2014.

“This is really a great honor to receive this award,” Mundy said. “We’ve had the opportunity the last couple of years to go to an event or two and see the effort that goes on and to be recognized as the tournament of the year is really unbelievable.”

Ryan Tahara, the AJGA’s Southeast Regional director, gave kudos to all those involved with
the event.

“Out of all 108 tournaments they’re the best on our schedule from an all-encompassing standpoint,” Tahara said.

“That’s not possible without the support of the committee, Vaughn Taylor, of our sponsors and especially the volunteers. It’s really what sets it above and beyond.”

Reach Scott Rouch at (706) 868-1222, ext. 116


Leaders don't falter at E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Invitational
Harrison vaults to second spot at Vaughn Taylor tournament
August Kim wins E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship in playoff
McKenzie Talbert is the girls leader in the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship