UConn star Breanna Stewart, Irish coach Muffet McGraw earn top women's basketball awards



Connecticut sophomore Breanna Stewart earned The Associated Press Player of the Year award Saturday, becoming just the third sophomore to achieve the honor. Notre Dame’s Muffet McGraw was selected coach of the year for the second consecutive season.

Stewart got 20 votes from the 36-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike received eight votes while Baylor’s Odyssey Sims had six. Kayla McBride, of Notre Dame, received the other two votes.

Stewart joined former UConn star Maya Moore and Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris as the only sophomores to win the award.

Stewart helped the Huskies win the national championship as a freshman and has been a major reason why the Huskies are undefeated this season.

McGraw is only the second coach ever to win the award in consecutive years, joining UConn’s Geno Auriemma. West Virginia’s Mike Carey was second with eight votes. Auriemma was third and South Carolina’s Dawn Staley was fourth.


WNIT FINALS: In El Paso, Texas, Tyler Scaife went coast-to-coast and scored with 2 seconds left to give Rutgers the Women’s National Invitation Tournament title with a 56-54 win over Texas El Paso.


CBI FINALS: In Loudonville, N.Y., Brett Bisping had 20 points and nine rebounds, and Siena beat Fresno State 81-68 in the decisive Game 3 of the College Basketball Invitational title series.



Fri, 11/17/2017 - 00:55

Thursday’s prep box scores

Fri, 11/17/2017 - 00:54