Memphis punter Tom Hornsey presented with Ray Guy Award at banquet



While the buzz surrounding Ray Guy Award winner Tom Hornsey remains strong, the Memphis senior continues to work toward more goals.

Hornsey was presented with the award during the All-Area Football Awards Banquet on Thursday night.

With Guy in attendance, Hornsey, from Geelong, Austra­lia, said he is humbled by the reception he has received after winning the award Dec. 12 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

“I’m honored to be here for this,” Hornsey said. “To meet Ray Guy and work alongside him during his camp, it’s been exciting.”

Hornsey said he is close to finishing his degree in exercise sports science at Memphis. He will participate in an NFL combine in February to show professional teams the skills that earned him the award as college football’s top punter.

Hornsey averaged 45 yards per punt over 62 attempts in 2013. He booted 29 punts inside the 20-yard line and 11 inside the 10-yard line.

He attended St. Joseph’s College and played Australian Rules Football and tennis as a prep athlete.

To work his way up from Australian football to the winner of a national award has been a whirlwind experience, he said.

“It’s been surreal,” Hornsey said. “It’s a great honor to win the award.”

Mark Moseley was inducted into the American Football Kicking Hall of Fame, along with former San Francisco 49er kicker/punter Tommy Davis.

Moseley could not attend because of a prior family commitment.

“He said to make sure to tell everyone he’s so proud and honored to be inducted,” his daughter, Ellen Moseley-May, said.

Moseley is the all-time leading scorer for the Washington Redskins and the 1982 NFL MVP.

Moseley, 66, remains very active. He lives in Alexandria, Va., where he’s the Director of Franchising for Five Guys.

Davis established the record for most consecutive extra points at 234 before he retired in 1970. Just two months after his death, Davis was inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in 1988.

Staff writer Chris Gay contributed to this article.

Aquinas' Garnett named Deon Grant Player of the Year
Memphis punter Tom Hornsey wins Ray Guy Award


Thu, 01/18/2018 - 00:18

Wednesday’s prep box scores

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:07

Dimitrov holds off young American

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:13

Wednesday’s Futurity results

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 23:13

Rival Koreas to form joint Olympic team