SEC honors Shaw as offensive player of the week

Connor Shaw (center) holds the Mayors Cup after the team defeated Missouri Saturday. Shaw is the Southeastern offensive player of the week.



South Carolina quarterback Connor Shaw is the Southeastern Conference offensive player of the week while Gamecocks placekicker Elliott Fry claims special teams honors.

The SEC also named Alabama safety Landon Collins defensive player of the week on Monday.

Shaw entered the Missouri game in the third quarter despite a sprained knee. He led the Gamecocks back from a 17-0 fourth-quarter deficit en route to a double-overtime win.

Fry, a freshman, kicked a 40-yard field goal in the second overtime.

Collins returned an interception 89 yards for a touchdown and forced a fumble in Alabama’s win over Tennessee.

Auburn quarterback Jeremy Johnson is freshman of the week.

Mississippi State guard Gabe Jackson receives offensive line honors and South Carolina tackle Kelcy Quarles is defensive lineman of the week.


NEVADA: University of Nevada police say they made two arrests at the Wolf Pack’s football game against rival-UNLV on Saturday, issued eight citations and ejected four people from the sold-out Mackay Stadium.

UNR Police Commander Todd Renwick says the two arrests were for suspicion of obstructing and resisting police, and for domestic battery.

HALL OF FAME: The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame will induct a seven-member class in 2014, including former NFL standouts Deuce McAllister and the late Steve McNair. McAllister played at Ole Miss before becoming the New Orleans Saints’ all-time leading rusher. McNair, played at Alcorn State before a career with the Tennessee Titans.

The group, which was announced on Monday, also includes women’s basketball standout Ruthie Bolton, Ole Miss and NFL standout Doug Cunningham, award-winning broadcaster Robin Roberts, track star Calvin Smith and former Mississippi State basketball coach Richard Williams. The class will be officially inducted in July during a banquet at the Jackson Hilton.


JIM THORPE AWARD: Alabama’s Landon Collins, Oregon’s Ifo Ekpre-Olomu and Florida State’s Lamarcus Joyner are among the 15 semifinalists for this year’s Jim Thorpe Award, given to the country’s top defensive back.

Three finalists will be named Nov. 25, with the winner announced Dec. 12 on ESPN. The award is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City.

Other semifinalists for the honor include: Ohio State’s C.J. Barnett, Washington State’s Deone Bucannon, Oklahoma’s Aaron Colvin, Michigan State’s Darqueze Dennard, Virginia Tech’s Kyle Fuller, Florida’s Vernon Hargreaves, Oregon State’s Steven Nelson, Ole Miss’ Cody Prewitt, Louisville’s Calvin Pryor, TCU’s Jason Verrett, Northern Illinois’ Jimmie Ward and Kansas State’s Ty Zimmerman.

Last year’s award went to Johnthan Banks of Mississippi State.



Wed, 12/13/2017 - 22:29