LSU's Miles named coach of the year

LSU coach Les Miles was given the coach of the year award after leading his team to the title game.

Les Miles came out a winner even before LSU played in the BCS title game.


Miles won the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award for the Football Bowl Subdivision after leading the top-ranked Tigers to a perfect regular-season record and an SEC championship.

Miles said in a video recorded Sunday that he was honored to receive the award, which is given to the coach
who is voted the best example of sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field.

Montana State’s Rob Ash was honored in the Football Championship Subdivision, Pittsburg State’s Tim Beck in Division II and St. Thomas’ Glenn Caruso in Division III.

“It’s a tremendous award and could not have been achieved in any way without the efforts of many others,” Miles said. “My football team works hard on the field and in the classroom, my coaching staff puts in long hours, and I represent a great institution at LSU.”

TICKET MESS: Dozens of fans arrived at the Super­dome for the BCS title game to find their seats were taken over
for auxiliary press seating.

The top two rows of the upper deck were turned into an overflow area for the media, with one row covered by tables.

Timothy Rodrigue of Den­ham Springs, La., said he’d paid face value for a seat – $300 – that was beneath the table. He said he was promised by ushers that he would be moved to the lower level of the stadium. Seats in that level are more expensive, but Rodrigue, who is familiar with the dome, was not interested in moving.

SOUTH CAROLINA: Defensive end Jadeveon Clowney has been named to the 11th annual Football Writers Asso­ciation of America Freshman All-America team. Clowney finished with 36 tackles, including a dozen for loss and eight sacks. He was also credited with five forced fumbles and six quarterback hurries.

ARKANSAS STATE: Former Auburn tailback Michael Dyer is following Gus Mal­zahn back home, joining his former offensive coordinator at Arkansas State, a person with knowledge of the situation said.

Dyer was the first Auburn tailback to rush for 1,000 yards in each of his first two seasons, but coach Gene Chizik suspended him indefinitely before the Chick-fil-A Bowl for violating unspecified team rules.