Rutgers wins bowl game at Yankee Stadium

Rutgers 27, Iowa State 13
Rutgers running back Jawan Jamison was stopped by Iowa State tacklers on this play, but the sophomore rushed for 134 yards and two touchdowns in the win.



NEW YORK — Chas Dodd hit Brandon Coleman for an 86-yard touchdown pass late in the fourth quarter and Jawan Jamison ran for two scores to lead Rutgers over Iowa State 27-13 in the Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium on Friday.

Jamison finished with 134 yards on 27 carries for the Scarlet Knights (9-4), who ran their bowl winning streak to five. Rutgers, which played in one bowl game before 2005, is 5-1 in the postseason under coach Greg Schiano.

Steele Jantz took over for Jared Barnett at quarterback in the second quarter and helped pull the Cyclones (6-7) within 20-13 on Jeff Woody’s 20-yard touchdown run with 10:00 left.

After an exchange of punts left Rutgers deep in its own end, Dodd went deep to Coleman. The 6-foot-6 redshirt freshman went over 5-7 cornerback Jeremy Reeves, then outran him to the end zone to make it 27-13 with 5:47 left.




In Dallas, Riley Nelson threw three touchdown passes to Cody Hoffman, the last with 11 seconds left, as BYU finished with another 10-win season.

With no timeouts and the ball at the 2, the Cougars hurried up to the line. Nelson then faked a spike that would have stopped the clock and instead stood up and threw to Hoffman in the end zone.

The Cougars (10-3) wrapped up their season of independence by winning 10 games for the fifth time in coach Bronco Mendenhall’s seven years.

Tulsa finished 8-5 with four of those losses coming against top-10 teams.




In Nashville, Tenn., Vick Ballard ran for a career-high 180 yards and two touchdowns to lead Mississippi State past Wake Forest for its fifth bowl win in a row and second consecutive under coach Dan Mullen.

The Bulldogs (7-6) capped a season that started with high expectations hurt by losses to Southeastern Conference teams either ranked at the time or going into bowl season by winning consecutive bowls for only the second time and first since 1999-2000.


Sun, 08/20/2017 - 01:40