Louisiana Tech's Allen named nation's top punter

Louisiana Tech's Ryan Allen had 29 punts of 50 yards or longer this year.



The best punter in the land hails from Louisiana.

On The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, broadcast Thursday night on ESPN, Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen was awarded the Ray Guy Award. He beat Auburn’s Stephen Clark and Oregon’s Jackson Rice for the honor.

Allen will be honored by the Augusta Sports Council at a banquet, with the time and date to be determined later, in Augusta.

The process for this year’s Ray Guy Award began with 55 nominees. That list was whittled down to 10 semifinals. In November, the sports council announced the finalists.

Allen, a junior, became the first Louisiana Tech punter and first Western Athletic Conference punter to win the award. Allen became the 12th winner of the award, which began in 2000.

Allen led the nation with punts inside the 20 with 37 and punts inside the 10 (20). He is the nation’s third-leading punter in gross average at 46.3 yards per kick. Also, the Bulldogs rank eighth in the nation in net punting (40.15).

Allen, of Salem, Ore., boomed 29 punts longer than 50 yards, with a long of 72. Of his 78 punts, 28 were not returned and none were blocked.

Allen was chosen by a national committee of Football Bowl Subdivision coaches, sports information directors, media, and former Ray Guy Award winners.


2000 Kevin Stemke

2001 Travis Dorsch

2002 Mark Mariscal

2003 B.J. Sander
Ohio State

2004 Daniel Sepulveda
Baylor University

2005 Ryan Plackemeier
Wake Forest

2006 Daniel Sepulveda

2007 Durant Brooks
Georgia Tech

2008 Matt Fodge
Oklahoma State

2009 Drew Butler

2010 Chas Henry


Source: augustasportscouncil.org



Mon, 12/11/2017 - 20:25

Stanton officially a Yankee