Three vie for Ray Guy Award tonight



Just because Louisiana State University’s Brad Wing dominated in the Southeastern Conference Championship game, he is not in the running for the Ray Guy Award tonight.

Still, that hasn’t stopped people from chatting up Augusta Sports Council sales and marketing manager Carly Kobasiar this week about why Wing is not one of three finalists vying for college football’s top punter award.

“That was the voters’ decision,” Kobasiar said.

The Ray Guy Award will be handed out tonight as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, airing live on ESPN from 9-11 p.m.

In November, the Augusta Sports Council announced three finalists for the Ray Guy Award.

Junior Ryan Allen (Louisiana Tech), sophomore Steven Clark (Auburn) and junior Jackson Rice (Oregon) are up for the award.

Wing, who sported a 44.1 gross average that increased after a record performance at the SEC title game, was a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award.

Finalists are selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners.

Allen led the nation with punts inside the 20 with 37 and punts inside the 10 (20). He is the nation’s third-leading punter in average at 46.31 yards per kick. Also, the Bulldogs are eighth in the nation in net punting (40.15).

Clark, who sports a 40.5 punting average, is second in the nation in punts inside the 20 (32), with nine punts downed inside the 10. Auburn is 19th in net punting at 39.01.

Rice, with a 45.6 gross average, helped Oregon to a No. 2 ranking in net punting (41.72). Only two of Rice’s 46 punts reached the end zone.



Wed, 11/22/2017 - 00:22


Wed, 11/22/2017 - 00:13

Buckeyes QB Barrett emerges as a winner