College presidents approve college football playoff

College football will alter its format for 2014 season



WASHINGTON — College football will finally have a playoff. Come 2014, the BCS is dead.

On Tuesday a committee of university presidents approved a plan for a four-team playoff put forward by commissioners of the major football conferences.

The new system doesn’t go too far, Virginia Tech President Charles W. Steger said.

“It goes just the right amount,” he said.

The move completes a six-month process for the commissioners, who have been working on a new way to determine a major college football champion after years of griping from fans.

“There were differences of views,” Steger said. “I think it would be a serious mistake to assume it was a rubber stamp.”

Instead of simply matching the nation’s No. 1 and No. 2 teams in a championship game after the regular season, the way the Bowl Championship Series has done since 1998, the new format will create a pair of national semifinals.

College football fans have been clamoring for a playoff for years, and the BCS has been a constant target for criticism. Lawmakers have railed against it. A political action committee was formed, dedicated to its destruction. The Justice Department looked into whether it broke antitrust laws. Even President Obama said he wanted a playoff. Now it’s a reality.

No. 1 will play No. 4, and No. 2 will play No. 3 on Dec. 31 and Jan. 1. The sites of those games will rotate among the four current BCS bowls – Rose, Orange, Fiesta and Sugar – and two more to be determined.

The winners will advance to the championship on the first Monday in January that is six or more days after the last semifinal. The first championship Monday is set for Jan. 12, 2015.

The site of the title game will move around the way the Super Bowl does, with cities bidding for the right to play host.

The teams will be selected by a committee, similar to the way the NCAA basketball tournament field is set. The men’s tournament has 68 teams, and 37 at-large bids.

The football committee will have a much tougher task, trying to whittle the field down to four. Among the factors the committee will consider is won-loss record, strength of schedule, head-to-head results and whether a team is a conference champion.

The commissioners want to lock in this format for 12 years with a television partner. The current BCS deal with ESPN runs through the 2013 season. The new format will be presented to potential TV partners in the fall, starting with ESPN.

There are still some details to work out – such as who will be on the committee and what new bowls will be involved in the semifinal rotation – but all the decision-makers are on board.

Lower divisions of college football already have a playoff, but the highest level has always used bowls and polls to determine its champion. Those days are coming to an end.

“By making this change we felt we could enhance the regular season but at the same time provide the fans with the kind of postseason that will contribute to the regular season,” Southeastern Conference Commissioner Mike Slive said.



1998 Jan. 4, 1999 Tennessee 23, Florida State 16

1999 Jan. 4, 2000 Florida State 46, Virginia Tech 29

2000 Jan. 3, 2001 Oklahoma 13, Florida State 2

2001 Jan. 3, 2002 Miami 37, Nebraska 14

2002 Jan. 3, 2003 Ohio State 31, Miami 24

2003 Jan. 4, 2004 Louisiana State University 21, Oklahoma 14

2004 Jan. 4, 2005 Southern California 55, Oklahoma 19*

2005 Jan. 4, 2006 Texas 41, Southern California 38

2006 Jan. 8, 2007 Florida 41, Ohio State 14

2007 Jan. 7, 2008 Louisiana State University 38, Ohio State 24

2008 Jan. 8, 2009 Florida 24, Oklahoma 14

2009 Jan. 7, 2010 Alabama 37, Texas 21

2010 Jan. 10, 2011 Auburn 22, Oregon 19

2011 Jan. 9, 2012 Alabama 21, Louisiana State University 0

* vacated title



Mon, 08/21/2017 - 22:49

Braves fall to Mariners