Jaguars, Pacers earn Peach Belt awards

USC Aiken coach Vince Alexander wins top honor

 After leading USC Aiken to a third consecutive Peach Belt Conference regular season title, Pacers coach Vince Alexander was named the league’s Coach of the Year today.

USC Aiken, No. 8 in Division II, finished the regular season at 26-3. Also, the Pacers are ranked No. 1 in the Southeast Region rankings.

USC Aiken point guard DeVontae Wright was named to the all-Peach Belt first team, along with Georgia Regents center K.J. Sherrill. Pacers Paul Larsen and Ronald Zimmerman were named to the second team, while Georgia Regents guard Ryan Weems was named to the third team.

Jaguars guard Keshun Sherrill was tabbed the Peach Belt Freshman of the Year, while USC Aiken center Alvin Brown was named Defensive Player of the Year. Montevallo’s Troran Brown earned the league’s Player of the Year award.

No one from Georgia Regents or USC Aiken earned all-conference honors on the women’s side. North Georgia’s Mimi Hill was named Player of the Year, while Armstrong’s Brigitta Barta was named Freshman of the Year. Fala Bullock of Armstrong and North Georgia’s Buffie Burson were named Peach Belt Co-Coach of the Year.



Sat, 11/18/2017 - 21:21

First buck taken