Four SEC schools are regional hosts

The Southeastern Conference had four schools -- South Carolina, Arkansas, Auburn and Florida -- selected Sunday as host teams for the NCAA Division I baseball tournament.


The Atlantic Coast Conference, with Georgia Tech, Miami and Virginia, had three schools chosen as sites for the four-team, double-elimination regionals, which start next week.

Other host teams include: Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Coastal Carolina, Connecticut, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas, TCU and UCLA. All games will be played on campus sites, except for the regionals at Coastal Carolina and Connecticut.

The games at Coastal Carolina will be in Myrtle Beach, S.C., at BB&T Coastal Field, home of the Atlanta Braves' Carolina League affiliate. The regional played host to by Connecticut will be played at Dodd Stadium, the home ballpark of the Detroit Tigers' New York-Penn League team in Norwich, Conn.

All 16 host schools are assured of spots in the 64-team tournament, with the rest of the field to be announced by the Division I baseball committee Monday.

Texas, ranked No. 1 in several polls throughout the season, is playing host for the 25th time. Louisville, TCU and UCLA are hosting for the second time.

Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas and TCU also were hosts last season.

Each of the 16 regional winners advance to the super regionals, with the eight remaining teams earning trips to the College World Series beginning June 19.


Tue, 08/15/2017 - 23:51


Tue, 08/15/2017 - 23:32

Creamer motivated for Solheim Cup

Tue, 08/15/2017 - 23:33

Sharapova gets Open wild-card spot