Slideshow: A look back at Augusta State's 2010 and 2011 national championships

1 of 13
ASU after winning its first national title
ASU defeated Oklahoma State in the NCAA Division I Championship match in 2010 in Ooltewah, Tenn., to claim its first national title.
2 of 13
Carter Newman
Then-assistant coach Kevin McPherson gives Carter Newman a bear hug after Newman clinched his 2011 semifinal match to give the Jaguars a 3-2 win over Oklahoma State on its home course. Newman became "Captain Clutch" after rolling in three palm-sweating putts on Nos. 17 and 18 and the first hole of sudden death.
3 of 13
Henrik Norlander
Henrik Norlander was a dominant force in the 2010 NCAA Championships, going 3-0 in match play. He also delivered a key win over Oklahoma State's Kevin Tway in the 2011 semifinals.
4 of 13
Mitch Krywulycz
Mitch Krywulycz posted one of the greatest comebacks in college golf history when he rallied from a 4-down deficit with 7 to play to shock Oklahoma State's Kevin Tway in sudden death in their 2010 championship match to clinch ASU's first national title.
5 of 13
Patrick Reed
Patrick Reed was unstoppable in match play, posting a 6-0 record in two years. Twice, he throttled one of the world's best amateurs, Peter Uihlein. Then in 2011, he clinched ASU's second national title with a 2 and 1 victory over Harris English.
6 of 13
Olle Bengtsson
Olle Bengtsson (left) posted a key 75 in the second round of stroke play in the 2011 NCAA Championships to help the Jaguars advance to match play.
7 of 13
Taylor Floyd
Taylor Floyd (left) overcame flulike symptoms to deliver an inspirational, win over Florida State's Wesley Graham in the match play semifinals in 2010.
8 of 13
ASU match play
Augusta State holding the match play bracket in 2011.
9 of 13
2011 NCAA sign
The distance from Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla., to Augusta.
10 of 13
ASU banquet
ASU held its second championship banquet at Augusta State's Christenberry Fieldhouse. The celebration featured more than 1,000 people in attendance for the second year in a row.
11 of 13
The Augusta Chronicle's front page in 2010
The Augusta Chronicle's front page in 2010 showing the Jaguars returning home.
12 of 13
The Augusta Chronicle's 2010 special section
The Augusta Chronicle's 2010 special section, which detailed the team's accomplishments.
13 of 13
The Augusta Chronicle's 2011 special section
The Augusta Chronicle's 2011 special section, showing coach Josh Gregory holding the national championship trophy. He became the first coach to win back-to-back titles since 1985.


In 2010 and 2011, Augusta State won its first two NCAA Division I national championships in golf. While the reign officially ends Sunday when a new school is crowned champion, the Jaguars can still savor their success. Coming Sunday, catch up with Augusta State's golfing heroes one year later. Augusta State Jaguars

This Week's Circulars