Richmond County Sheriff’s Deputy Joshua Morris completed a course in advanced traffic law. The course is required by the Georgia Peace Officers Standards and Training Council for advanced certification.


Albert Dantoni Wiggins III completed his doctorate at Capella University. He is the son of Albert Wiggins Jr. and Jacqueline Turner and the father of Albert IV and Kayden Wiggins.

Jacob Adams graduated from Birmingham-Southern College with a bachelor of arts.

Christopher Lenear and Benjamin Wilson were named to the dean’s list at the College of Charleston for the 2011-2012 academic year. Margaret Bailey received Distinquished Honors for the spring 2012 semester.

Kristen Bryant, Kathryn Peacock and Harmony Morkve were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester at Wake Forest University.

• The following students were named to the president’s list at Georgia Southern University for the spring 2012 semester: Felicia Carter, William Bailie, Heather Coleman, Lauren Gilpin, Gary Glover, Carson Jones, Carolyn Mize, Brittany Ufret, Katherine Zielke, Matthew Baber, Patrick Bennett, Tiffany Blake, Marcus Ferrara, Jenell Gardenhire, Lashaundra Garrett, Kaitlyn Hadden, Paige Ingram, Raven Littlejohn, D’Marcus McMillan, Mark Peacock, Charlotte Sasser, Abigail Smith, Jeremy Stallings, Leigh Sundem, Ashley Usry, Kaitlyn Usry, Ariel Vipond, Ty Von Plinksy, Katelyn Wehner and Aishya Wofford.

The following students were named to the dean’s list: Nico Adams, Chelsea Adams, Ashlee Addison, Alison Arazie, Chandler Arnold, Charnela Barber, Christina Belge, Jonathan Butler, Brooke Cannon, Dakota Casey, John Cheek, Lara Dockery, Tomeisha Edwards, Joseph Fox, Amber Gamble, Toni Grandstaff, Hillary Haas, Sarah Henderson, Aja Hoeller, Molly Hynes, Alexis Inglett, Coeli Janiak, Courtney Jones, Crystal Lattimore, Allyson Lehi, Matthew Leonard, Joy Losee, Gregory Love Jr., Brianna Merritt, Lauren Miller, Lauren Moxley, Thomas Nail, Quynh Nguyen, Lan Nguyen, Chandler Norris, Robert Oellerich III, Lawrence Patton, Lasondra Person, Charles Plunkett, Celia Price, Mannix Pullens, David Rehder, Jacob Riffe, Matthew Robinson, Roman Sabol, Nyra Simmons, Adrienne Smiley, Emma Stephens, James Stone, Tierra Thompson, Taryn Weston, Savannah Wiersma and Amber Williams.

Khadejah Scott was named to Oglethorpe University’s dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester.

The following students were awarded the Savannah River Remediation 2012 Family Scholarship: Taylor Burke (John S. Davidson Fine Arts School), Taylor Schneider (Aquinas High School), Rachel Ward (Augusta Preparatory Day School) and Anna Whitehurst (Augusta Preparatory Day School).

John R.B. “Jack” Long, of John R.B. Long P.C., was installed as secretary of the Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of Georgia.

The Augusta West Rotary Club has received the Rotary District Governor 6920 Gold Award. The club has also made its 10th annual $1,000 donation to Augusta Tech to support scholarships for its GED program.

Drew Goldsmith graduated from the Internal Medicine - Pediatric Residency program at the Greenville Hospital System University Medical Center. He was the winner of the National Med-Peds Program Directors Walter Tunnessen Award, which is given to the fourth-year Med-Peds resident nationwide who demonstrates the values of dedicated patient care, excellent teaching and patient advocacy.

Air National Guard Airman Jamal E. Lambert graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas.

He is the son of Charlean Lambert of Hephzibah and George Lambert of Augusta, and is a 2011 graduate of Hephzibah High School.



Hephzibah grad serving on Navy destroyer

JOINT BASE PEARL HARBOR-HICKAM — A 1986 Hephzibah High School graduate and Augusta native is serving in the Navy aboard the guided-... Read more

4-H members collect pop tabs for local charity


Georgia 4-H members have collected aluminum pop tabs to raise money for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Georgia for... Read more

For the Record



Miranda Whitaker Slick, 48, of the 2300 block... Read more

School menus




Oct. 27: Steak biscuit, cereal with breakfast cracker, frudel... Read more