Nurses honored


The 2011 Spirit of Nursing Showcase, sponsored by the CSRA Chapter of the Georgia Nurses Association, honored the following University Hospital nurses:

Reflection of Nursing Spirit Award -- Ann Badke, Kathleen Bosdell, Deb Broske, Cheryl Hutto Bunn, Leigh Burt, Janet Carlton, Donna Carter, Carol Corcoran, Marie Davis, Mark Keesling, Lynette Moseley, Candy Russell, Sherri Simmons, Heather Thorton, Lorraine Thomas and Melissa Warren .

Nominees for 2011 Nurse of the Year -- Ron Elizon, Faye Froelich, Myra Pinson, Denise Shedrick, Barbara Wammack and Maribeth Weikle , Staff Nurse; Kimberly Burnett , Nurse Educator; Keith Albert and Reyne Kelton , Nurse Manager; Renee Butcher and Lynda Jones , Nurse Administrator.

Lynda Jones , director of Cardiovascular, Renal and Respiratory Services, a finalist in the Nurse Administrator category and named CSRA Nurse of the Year.

Honored at UGA

The following students from Richmond County have been honored for the spring semester at University of Georgia, Athens:

Dean's list -- Katherine Hamilton Anderson, David Scott Bailey, Elizabeth Almond Crute, Michael James Davis, Virginia Ellen Dent, Yao Kang, Robert Thompson MacDonell, Joachim Edward Veihman, Jonathan Raymond Weatherbee, Steward Thompkins Zellars and Jennifer Lauryn Evans .

Also, Katerine Clark Boutwell, Meredith Leigh Goodson McCloud, David Michael Boyd Jr., Matthew Miles Mack, Tyler Scott Bugg, Mikayln Jean Rush and Michelle Anne Clum .

Presidential scholar list -- Erin Elizabeth Burch, Sarah Katherine Gilliland, Melinda Clair Kezer, Richard Clark Lee Jr., Erin Andrea O'Rourke and Breonna Jarraye Shepherd .

Art scholarship

Sara Mays, a senior at Lakeside High School, has been awarded the Broad Street Artists' Row 2011 Art Scholarship.

Get scholarships

The following students have received $3,000 scholarships from Savannah River Nuclear Solutions LLC:

Wendy Xiao, Katherine George, Benjamin Musall, Steven Mets, Graham Gordon, Casey Izard, Kelly Cercy, Joshua Huffines, Kelsey Taylor, Gregory Edison, Michael Stoner, Matthew Bickford, Noland Seigler, Grace Halverson and Isaac Halverson .

Honor graduate

Lauren Wooten Smith , daughter of Mary L. Smith and Dr. James K. Smith, of Augusta, has earned a bachelor of arts degree, cum laude, Mary Lyon Scholar, from Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, Mass.

Wins blue ribbon

Linda Griffith , of Augusta, recently won a blue ribbon for her orange dreamsicle cake recipe from Just A Pinch Recipe Club, based in Franklin, Tenn., through the national online recipe-swapping club

Clayton graduate

Tishon Adams , of Augusta, has graduated from Clayton State University, Morrow, Ga., with a master of science degree in nursing.

Clubs win awards

Augusta Rotary, Augusta West Rotary, Waynesboro Rotary and Augusta South Rotary have received the Gold Club Award. Augusta South won Small Club of the Year and Augusta West won Large Club of the Year. All four clubs received the Rotary International Presidential Citation, with the Augusta club receiving the award with distinction.

Business degree

Austin Sheffield , of Augusta, has earned a bachelor of science degree in business management from Manhattan College, Riverdale, N.Y.

Makes donation

The Volunteer Board of University Health recently donated $10,000 to University Hospice.

Pass bar exam

Brian S. Coursey and Brooks K. Hudson , of Hull Barrett PC, have passed the February 2011 South Carolina bar exam.

Donation for nursing

The estate of former University Hospital nurse Nettie Hillmon has donated $17,000 to the University Health Care Foundation Nurse Alumnae Endowment to help fund nursing scholarships.

Piedmont honors

Katie H. Justice and Tara E. Keilholtz , both of Hephzibah, have been named dean's scholars at Piedmont College.

Also, Matthew Keadle , of Augusta, has been named to the dean's list at Piedmont College.

Hall of fame selection

Dr. Ruth B. Crawford , of Augusta, has been selected for induction into the 2011 National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame.

Complete training

Shane Andrews, James Jordan, Joshua Bryant, Eric Mccants, Matthew Cowdrey, John Nieves, Kevin Horsley, Ashleigh Phillips and Ryan Pittman have completed the Augusta Technical College Peace Officers Training Academy.

Science scholarships

The National Society of Black Engineers-Augusta Alumni Chapter has presented scholarships to Darrell Deas , of Westside High School, and Raquel Edwards , of A.R. Johnson Health Science and Engineering Magnet School.

UGA graduates

The following Richmond County residents have graduated from the University of Georgia, Athens:

Sonal Umeshchandra Mistry, Katherine Yvonne Claffey, Michael Bryan Barre, Cristi Tyrell Baskett, Robert Thompson Bennett, David Michael Boyd Jr., Kimberly Diane Broddie, Daniel Owen Burroughs and Christie Leigh Colvin .

Also, Dustin Joel Curry, Samuel Christopher Dewald, Sarah Elizabeth Dorman, Timothy Andrew Felz, Jonathon Cary Goldsmith, Andrew David Gonzalez, Lindsey Hays Goolsby, Jamieus Elajuwon Grace, Jason Graves, Monica HIll and Joshua Barrett Jenkins .

Also, Erin Dana Kahal, Amber D. Kempner, Melinda Clair Kezer, Timothy Hill Lansdowne, Richard Clark Lee Jr., Andre Alexander Lewis, Sallie Martin Long, Jimmy Lee Loudermilk, Olivia Grace Mann, Ann Elizabeth McConnell and Lee Goddard Moore .

Also, Ryan Gray Moore, Erin Andrea O'Rourke, Katherine Louise Robertson, Breonna Jarraye Sheherd, Lindsey Kathleen Sikes, Katelyn Elizabeth Snell, Daniel Martin Stallmann, Robert Putnam Thomas III , Thuan Yen Thi Tran , Michael Broughten Whitlow, John Thomas Wynne III and Allegra Elizabeth Yeley .

Furman dean's list

Kathryn Darracott, Deshanda Edwards, Preston Hull and Whitney Moss , all of Augusta, have been named to the dean's list at Furman University, Greenville, S.C.

Maryville graduate

Phillip James McCants , of Hephzibah, has earned a bachelor of arts degree from Maryville (Tenn.) College.

Furman graduates

Bryan Burack, Mary Hall and Whitney Moss , all of Augusta, have graduated from Furman University, Greenville, S.C.

Bellevue graduate

Yvette Denise Cordy , of Augusta, has earned a master of science degree in computer information systems from Bellevue (Neb.) University.

Earns doctorate

Renee Perry , of Augusta, has earned a doctorate of philosophy with a specialization in elementary and secondary administration from Capella University, Minneapolis.

Military news

- Georgia Army Guard Maj. Gregory B. Brown , of Augusta, has been promoted to the rank of lieutenant colonel.

- Army National Guard Pvt. Clintonia A. K. Crocker , a 2010 graduate of Aquinas High School and daughter of Vivian Rinke, of Augusta, has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia.



Hephzibah grad serving on Navy destroyer

JOINT BASE PEARL HARBOR-HICKAM — A 1986 Hephzibah High School graduate and Augusta native is serving in the Navy aboard the guided-... Read more

4-H members collect pop tabs for local charity


Georgia 4-H members have collected aluminum pop tabs to raise money for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Georgia for... Read more

For the Record



Miranda Whitaker Slick, 48, of the 2300 block... Read more

School menus




Oct. 27: Steak biscuit, cereal with breakfast cracker, frudel... Read more