The following winners of the annual Arts Recognition Awards for 2010 have been announced by Greater Augusta Arts Council:


David Tucker , President's Award; Jim Nord, arts professional; and Ed Turner, individual artist.

Jobs training

Terry Saylor, Kelvin White, Dale McKie, Ron Smith, Marcus Chambers and Donald Watson have graduated from Augusta Rescue Mission's Jobs for Life training.

President's list

Claude Bernard Peuwe , of Augusta, has been named to the president's list at Rust College, Holy Springs. Miss.

Scout honors

The following people have received Women of Distinction Awards from Girl Scouts of Historic Georgia:

Carolyn Dolen, Augusta Choral Society; Susan T. Hunnicutt , Wachovia Bank; Ella Springs Jones , Augusta Technical College; Jacqueline Fason , Richmond County Board of Education; and Dr. Maria Rivell , New Frontiers in Medicine.

Dean's list

The following area residents have been named to the dean's list at the University of Georgia, Athens:

Urvesh Kanubhai Patel, Rebecca Olivia Adkins, Elisabeth M'Cheyne Ames, Michael James Davis, Virginia Ellen Dent, Dylan James Friedmann, Charles Federick Purcell, David Ronald Spearman Jr,, Kia Nanate' Zellars, Roy Bates McCutcheon IV, Melissa Katherine Walters, Sallie Martin Long, Marjorie Anne McElreath, Caroline Irene Mullins, Paige Frances McNeil, Michael Broughten Whitlow, Chelsea Marie Smith, Robert Edgar Bodenhamer III.

President's list

Amy Leigh , a graduate of Curtis Baptist, has been named to the president's list at Young Harris College.

Honor graduate

Kristina Small , of Augusta, has graduated with honors from Lycoming College, Williamsport, Pa.

Scholarship winner

Gary Sims Jr, , a 2010 Glenn Hills graduate, has been awarded the Boral Scholarship from Boral Bricks.

Named by group

Briona S. Price , a student at the Academy of Richmond County, has been selected for membership to the National Society of High School Scholars.

Military news

- Air Force Reserve Airman Esaias V. Hobbs, a 2009 graduate of Hephzibah High School, has graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio.

- Air National Guard Airman Lee T. Brown , a 2007 graduate of Academy of Richmond County, has graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio.



Hephzibah grad serving on Navy destroyer

JOINT BASE PEARL HARBOR-HICKAM — A 1986 Hephzibah High School graduate and Augusta native is serving in the Navy aboard the guided-... Read more

4-H members collect pop tabs for local charity


Georgia 4-H members have collected aluminum pop tabs to raise money for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Georgia for... Read more

For the Record



Miranda Whitaker Slick, 48, of the 2300 block... Read more

School menus




Oct. 27: Steak biscuit, cereal with breakfast cracker, frudel... Read more