ASU student honored


Gilbert Lewis , a student at Augusta State University, has been chosen as the University Student of the Year by the Georgia chapter of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.

Laney students place

The following students at Lucy C. Laney High School placed in the Georgia Career Student Association Region 6 contests at Washington County High School in Sandersville:

Demarcus Pryor , Mathematical Applications, sixth; Sierra Hickson , Applied Communication, fifth; Alyssa Moten , Career Profile Manual, fifth; Shermia Fluker , Prepared Speech, second; Eric Coxson , Metal Working, second; and Jaquitta Dennis , Job Interview, second.

Also, George Walden , Computer Application, second; Toni Green , Career Manual, first; Amber Smith , Floral Design, first; Candance Pittman , Mathematical Concepts, first; and Renaldo Roberts , School Projects, first.

Mathcounts winners

The CRSA Home Education Association Home School Mathcounts team won first place at the Mathcounts district competition held at Augusta State University.

Members of the winning team are George Shepherd , eighth grade; Stewart Dover , seventh grade; Mac McCall , seventh grade; and Samantha Stewart , sixth grade.

Members of the Home School B team are Aiden Millar , sixth grade; Olivia Powell , seventh grade; Will Long , seventh grade; and Kitty Shepherd , sixth grade.

Finalists in program

The following students at John S. Davidson Fine Arts School were selected as finalists in the Junior National Individual Events program at the 2009 Junior Thespian Festival:

Karson Broome and Kaylee Key , duet acting; and Nicholas Ellington , solo musical theater.

Art competition

The following pupils placed in the Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition and Exhibition, sponsored by the Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art, the Irish-American Heritage Society and the Agnes S. and Victor Markwalter Foundation:

Best of Show -- Joseph Jackson , John S. Davidson Fine Arts School.

Division I (Grades K-2) -- Skylar Kernaghan , Gloverville Elementary School, first; Manny Patten , Byrd Elementary School, second; Sam Hatcher , Westminster Schools of Augusta, third; and Sunny Clemmons , Gloverville Elementary School, merit award.

Division II (Grades 3-5) -- Brannon McLaughlin , Gloverville Elementary School, first; Kara Baker , Gloverville Elementary School, second; Alyssa Burden , South Columbia Elementary School, third; Perry Barinowski , Westminster Schools of Augusta, merit award; Mason Beasley and Julia Hadley , South Columbia Elementary School, merit award; Chelsea Kerce , Byrd Elementary School, merit award; and Maya Koenig , Glenn Hills Elementary School, merit award.

Division III (Grades 6-8) -- Heaven Clagg , Sego Middle School, first; Austin Bryant , Westminster Schools of Augusta, second; Morgan Berry , C. T. Walker Traditional Magnet School, third.

Division IV (Grades 9-12) -- Adeana Berry , North Augusta High School, first; Judith Chang , Westminster Schools of Augusta, second; Autumn Von Plinsky , John S. Davidson Fine Arts School, third; John Buckley and Cassie Hartman , Westminster Schools of Augusta, merit award; Christina Huynh , John S. Davidson Fine Arts School, merit award; and Kateri Sheppard , Aquinas High School, merit award.



Hephzibah grad serving on Navy destroyer

JOINT BASE PEARL HARBOR-HICKAM — A 1986 Hephzibah High School graduate and Augusta native is serving in the Navy aboard the guided-... Read more

4-H members collect pop tabs for local charity


Georgia 4-H members have collected aluminum pop tabs to raise money for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Georgia for... Read more

For the Record



Miranda Whitaker Slick, 48, of the 2300 block... Read more

School menus




Oct. 27: Steak biscuit, cereal with breakfast cracker, frudel... Read more