To avoid another Ferguson, we must 'be real' with one another

  • Follow Opinion columns

I cannot help voicing my thoughts on the events taking place in Ferguson, Mo., and wonder why I am not hearing public remarks from the leadership – black, white, clergy, politicians, business owners – in this community. Not the politically correct ones we normally get, but the ones we deserve as citizens of this area.

Protesters stand on a street in Ferguson, Mo. Racial tensions have run high in in the predominantly black city, following the shooting death by police of Michael Brown, 18, an unarmed black man. If Augusta is to avoid a similar escalation of racial tensions, residents must trust one another and take off their masks.  FILE/ASSOCIATED PRESS
FILE/ASSOCIATED PRESS
Protesters stand on a street in Ferguson, Mo. Racial tensions have run high in in the predominantly black city, following the shooting death by police of Michael Brown, 18, an unarmed black man. If Augusta is to avoid a similar escalation of racial tensions, residents must trust one another and take off their masks.

We deserve to know what our leaders really think and feel about the events occurring there and across this nation – not in private, secure conversations, but in a public way. We need to know how they would react under similar circumstances if such an event should occur here, and what they are doing to prevent it from happening. This goes far beyond law enforcement preparedness. It goes to the heart of the matter – facing reality.

WHAT IS WRONG with us is that we put on masks before we walk out of our doors each day to face the public, and nobody really gets to know who we really are. That’s what makes it impossible to deal effectively with the kinds of events we are witnessing in Ferguson, and those that happened days ago. Leaders come to the forefront, if at all, protecting their derrieres and casting blame on everybody except themselves. It is a rare commodity to hear one say, “It was my fault.”

I contend that if we are going to prevent a re-occurrence of what some of us experienced here in Augusta in 1970 and what is happening now in Ferguson, we have got to take off our masks and be real with one another. Trust never will be achieved until we really get to know one another as human beings, with all of the shortcomings that go with that designation.

For instance, we know that some snakes are poisonous and need to be avoided. But for those of us who don’t have sufficient knowledge of snakes, we treat all of them the same – poisonous. This is a disservice not only to snakes, but also to human beings of different races. Our stories are different, for sure, but if we would take time to know them, maybe – just maybe – at least we can learn to get along together, if not love one another.

THIS PROBABLY IS going to be a harder task for whites than for blacks, simply because blacks, on a whole, do have some knowledge of whites. We were required to learn their history in school. In addition, we learned a great deal working for them, both in their homes and their businesses. Whites, on the other hand, did not have this reciprocal relationship with blacks. Few, if any, ever worked for blacks in any place or capacity. This is not to cast aspersions, but rather to point out a fact of history.

Even if whites wanted to have empathy toward us, they most likely would fall short of the mark. They don’t have the history behind them that would do justice to their empathy. Yes, we all have the same emotional potentials. We hurt, we cry, we hate, we love and so forth. We react to all kinds of stimuli in similar ways, because we are humans.

BUT WHEN WE are made to look less than or treated less than, and told that we are less than, because of something we can’t change – our race, for instance – we, as a part of God’s creation, are done an irrevocable injustice. It is seared in the mind, heart and culture, never to be forgotten.

THIS IS NOT unique to the black-and-white relationship in America. It plays out in the news every day between Israelis and Palestinians. Peace, peace, they say, but there is no lasting peace, and there never will be. It is only temporary peace, as long as it is in the hands of people with irreconcilable differences. The history of these two peoples has shown that. And so it seems to be here in America between whites and blacks – and with the Hatfields and McCoys, and so forth.

Rodney King asked us a simple question during the 1992 riots in Los Angeles, “Can’t we all just get along?” I say yes – not long, maybe for a little while.

I BELIEVE THE one-sided teaching of American history has brought us to where we are today in race relations. If we don’t change our curricula in schools to include the American Negro as it does the white man here in this country, we are bound to repeat the mistakes of the past. The cold fact is that whites do not know us, and some don’t care to know us because they don’t see the need. Until white people come to see that need, they always will have a misunderstanding of us, choosing instead to rely on stereotypical descriptions of who we are.

The advantage we had of knowing the white man’s ways helped us survive to this day. Blacks didn’t bow and patronize him because we felt he deserved it. We did it to survive. In fact, everything the black man did, or is doing today, in my opinion, is to survive under a system that has shown a disregard for his humanity and his dignity. We watched the atrocities toward us throughout history and did little about them. We had the instinct to react as any man would, but survival was a better choice then, and may be now.

WE NOW CALL those kind of black men Uncle Toms. But we survived as a people because Uncle Toms knew the danger of challenging the white man ill-equipped. Even in 2014, that danger still exists – a lesson I hope our young black men will heed today. Don’t provoke authority, especially people in authority who carry weapons. Blacks may be within their rights to challenge them, but it is not to their advantage to be dead right.

We all are leaders in one way or another. What we do and what we say affect people’s lives. We are not perfect by any means, and never will be. But I think we should, every day, strive for that mark. That requires taking time to hear the other man’s story, and not assume that we already know it.

Even after we have heard it, we will not fully understand it until we have walked in his shoes, which is impossible to do. However, I guarantee we will deal with him in a more intelligent way in future relationships.

Trust is built on knowledge. I trust you because I know you are key to the question Rodney King asked.

(The writer is a former Augusta City Council member and a retired labor relations manager from Bechtel Savannah River Inc.)

Comments (82) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
wcorowitz
11
Points
wcorowitz 08/30/14 - 09:56 pm
3
15
A treasure in the community!

There are very few people in this community that have the life experiences and guts to speak equally to both blacks and whites like Grady Abrams. Take advantage of his sage while he is still among us. Don't wait until he's gone to say what a good person Grady WAS, listen to him NOW. I can only speak for myself, but I'm all ears!

Conservative Man
5577
Points
Conservative Man 08/30/14 - 10:26 pm
14
1
An interesting subject for sure…..

…First let me say , as a white man born in the 20th century, I can agree with what Mr. Abrams says as it pertains to the mutual mistrust of the races.
He, as well as I, were born of a generation where discrimination and segregation were the norm..
That means we both had a "bias"against each other that was due more to upbringing, and ignorance than actual relationships with each other..

Having said THAT….if ANYONE today with any modicum of sense STILL holds those biases, they are dinosaurs…black AND white…

A bit of history here..as a 51 year old I have worked WITH black people, and FOR black people…I love in a mixed race neighborhood, I have NO problem with the color of someone's skin….I take ALL people at face value, meaning, if you do right by me..I'll do right by you…..as it should be…

I DO however take issue from time to time with those who say they want to have an "honest" conversation about race…Why?…because it rarely means a "conversation"…

It generally ends up being a laundry list of why "white people are bad/ all black people have been wronged"…or "black folks are bad/ and white folks aren't"...

While I understand there is truth in BOTH positions,for the "conversation " to be fruitful, BOTH sides must be willing to admit that there is a middle ground…..
Just as I view no black man as a slave…no black man should view me as a slave owner..as we are many generations descended from both…

We should view each other as Americans…

If we can reach that compromise maybe THEN we can have an actual "conversation" rather than an indictment of each other...

Mr. Abrams has always been a voice of reason in the community, and I applaud his efforts in this endeavor...

deestafford
30293
Points
deestafford 08/30/14 - 11:07 pm
14
2
I believe Mr. Abrams heart and intent are in the right place;...

I believe Mr. Abrams heart and intent are in the right place; however, some of the things he writes are disturbing and not in keeping with previous things of his I have read.

When he talks about history and the way it's taught I would think he is reading the leftist Howard Zinn's history book which is so loved by the left and is in so many history classes as a result of the leftist take over of education.

Zinn focuses on none of the good of America but only the bad. Zinn has developed a following who seem to believe that the US is the source of all evil in the world and the world would be better off if America had never been founded. A more detailed discussion I'll leave for another day.

Mr. Abrams seems to be focusing on an "us versus them" antagonistic relationship and they may very well be true.

What caused the problem in Ferguson had more to do with the culture that too many blacks have developed. The black culture has gone down hill since the implementation of the Great Society programs of LBJ.

The black society of today would embarass the early black fighters for freedom and education and I dare say MLK would be one of them. They fought and died for the right of blacks to attend school and today that right is thrown away.

The two things that are causing the degradation of the black culture is the 70+% of out of wedlock birth and the attitude of so many blacks that if a black strives to do well in school and get a good education they are accused of "acting white".

The out of wedlock births saps the self-esteem from the black females and they lose the wonderful thing about the female gender about being special and the civilizing influence of society.

According to Doctors Thomas Sowell and Walter Williams, perhaps the smartest two economists in the US, there was a greater percentage of black children in a two biological parent household from slavery through the 1950's than there is today.

At one time the blacks wanted to be accepted in the US as part of the melting pot; however, in recent decades there has been push by the blacks, and especially the youth, to separate themselves from the whites. They have done this to the extreme in colleges.

The last point I'll make is the blacks such as Booker T. Washington, Thomas Sowell, Walter Williams, Shelby Steel, Clarence Thomas, Ben Carson and the like have been doing their best to become Americans as part of the melting pot. According to Mr. Abrams the ones who try to melt into the society do it only to survive rather than becoming true Americans. These great people he refers to as "Uncle Toms".

The strength of America lies not in diversity. It lies in people who live here melting together as one and not making this a mosaic country.

Racial pimps/agitators such as Jessie Jackson, Al Sharpton, Eric Holder, and yes, Barack Obama don't want peace between the blacks and whites because their entire persona and income are based on agitation and conflict. Say what you may.....they and their like do not want a true conversation about race.

myfather15
55844
Points
myfather15 08/31/14 - 12:52 am
12
1
The issue is NOT complicated; but people who want.....

to confuse, complicate it!!

Honor, integrity, dignity and respect; have no color!! Be a person with all three of these traits, and you'll most likely be treated with all three of these!!

Live life "however you want" without regard for anyone else feelings; then at some point, you're going to be treated the same way!!

You live a life that is "All about me" and "Nobody is going to tell me what to do" and chances are, you're going to meet someone just like you one day, and conflict will happen!!

specsta
6709
Points
specsta 08/31/14 - 01:33 am
2
18
Speaking The Truth

Great commentary, Mr. Abrams! Thanks for your insight.

http://www.tolerance.org/article/racism-and-white-privilege

Young Fred
19382
Points
Young Fred 08/31/14 - 02:26 am
16
2
Mr. Abrams, Starts out good,

Mr. Abrams,

Starts out good, then falls into the all to familiar agenda of pop versus reality.

His assertion that :

"I BELIEVE THE one-sided teaching of American history has brought us to where we are today in race relations. If we don’t change our curricula in schools to include the American Negro as it does the white man here in this country, we are bound to repeat the mistakes of the past. The cold fact is that whites do not know us, and some don’t care to know us because they don’t see the need. Until white people come to see that need, they always will have a misunderstanding of us, choosing instead to rely on stereotypical descriptions of who we are."

This statement shows a total disconnect from reality!!!

Current public education goes out if it's way to over emphasize Black achievements and under emphasize Caucasian achievements.

It is done exactly because of some of Mr. Abrams' concerns!

Not done for reality of history, nor done to teach history, but done to advance an agenda.

An agenda that's not done enough according to this letter writer.

Riverman1
90290
Points
Riverman1 08/31/14 - 04:55 am
16
2
Wrong Example

The problem is Mr. Abrams bases his discussion on the incident in Ferguson where the black rioters had no reason to strike out. A black man, Michael Brown, robs a store and fights with a policeman. He ends up being shot. Nothing to demonstrate about there, yet Mr. Abrams goes into a discussion of black history not being taught in the schools. He should have lamented black kids are not taught civic responsibility and economics in schools nor values at home that keep them from behaving as respectful individuals with store owners and the police.

corgimom
36491
Points
corgimom 08/31/14 - 05:22 am
13
5
Young Fred, I wouldn't say

Young Fred, I wouldn't say that white achievements are underemphasized. But yes, during Black History Month, achievements of blacks are emphasized. But that's ok, it's all part of American History, and it's actually pretty interesting.

But it's not as strong as it used to be, and I think that's due to Common Core.

Now, if we could just stop having to talk about that ridiculous racist madeup holiday of Kwanzaa, that would be good.

Riverman, the teachers teach civic responsibility. But then the kids go home and everything that the teacher has spent 7 hours of teaching, go out the window with one hour of BET, which is the worst thing that has happened to black America in the last 25 years.

All of the good, decent, hardworking black people of America should rise up and protest how blacks are portrayed on those terrible videos, and protest how that garbage is used to fill impressionable childrens' minds.

And Mr. Abrams would do well to protest that, because those horrible videos do far more harm to promote stereotypes than any American History course could ever do.

corgimom
36491
Points
corgimom 08/31/14 - 05:24 am
14
3
That riot was nothing more

That riot was nothing more than an excuse to rob and destroy property.

Stealing has nothing to do with a police officer killing anybody.

nocnoc
47023
Points
nocnoc 08/31/14 - 06:21 am
7
1
HOW I'D HANDLE RIOTERS & LOOTERS

have a Publicly published a Standing Order that clearly states:

Rioters and Looters will be tagged (chose any color) of a long lasting skin dye.

Any one TAGGED with dye may be questioned and their place of residence may searched for looted goods for a period not to exceed 7 days after the official end of the riot. If looted goods are found they maybe arrested and charged with Rioting/Looting and Felony Theft.

Any rioter/Looter seen with a Fire Bomb or weapon will be video taped to document the crime, and shot if they committing arson or Physically harming others.

Enact a Good Samaritan law.
Enact a law that offers legal protection (civil and criminal) to people who gives reasonable assistance to those who are injured, ill, in peril, or otherwise incapacitated. aka stopping Looters and rioters by any means possible.

seenitB4
93480
Points
seenitB4 08/31/14 - 06:29 am
14
1
We must be "REAL" heh

What River said is making it real....

"He should have lamented black kids are not taught civic responsibility and economics in schools nor values at home that keep them from behaving as respectful individuals with store owners and the police"

Tell that to the store owners in Ferguson....they will feel the REAL pinch of replacing a business..tell that to the lady sitting outside Marvin Methodist Church...she will feel the real pinch of losing her husband...get a grip Grady....get real with the youth....Dr Ben Carson did, you can too.

seenitB4
93480
Points
seenitB4 08/31/14 - 06:30 am
16
1
THAT is real....

That riot was nothing more than an excuse to rob and destroy property.

LillyfromtheMills
14018
Points
LillyfromtheMills 08/31/14 - 06:46 am
16
1
Mr Abrams

IMHO is the dinosaur - we having been living and working side by side for many years now - he needs to be trying to help the way wards instead of trying to concentrate on those of us that have moved way past the color of ones skin. I feel like he is singing to the choir

deestafford
30293
Points
deestafford 08/31/14 - 07:04 am
13
2
Al Sharpton gave a speech the other day....

Al Sharpton gave a speech the other day about the history of "our people" in which he said when the white man was running around in bear skins "We were building pyramids". That either shows ignorance or the use of false information to distort history for his anti-white purposes.

The building of the pyramids was done by the Egyptians who were from the Mediterranean area of North Africa and not Sub-Sahara Africa from where his ancestors, the Negroid race, came. There was a vast difference between the peoples of Africa bordering the Mediterranean Sea and those below the Sahara.

Like the American Indians the peoples of central and southern Africa did not even have the wheel until it was introduced by the white man.

The thing about black history is it dwells so much on slavery without the great accomplishments of many blacks. My daughter took an accounting class at Augusta State and the professor continually brought up slavery. That had nothing to do with the subject of accounting.

The blacks chose to follow W. E. B. DuBois who was a communist sympathizer rather than the example of Douglass and Booker T. Washington. They pick the radicals who want revolution rather than the blacks who want to be American.

Pops
12240
Points
Pops 08/31/14 - 07:10 am
17
0
What Abrams fails to mention

is that black people are FAR less likely to be killed by a white cop than their own black neighbors.......and another thing.....as far as what is being taught in the schools......how about addressing the issue of things being taught but nothing is being learned........

cush1944
12329
Points
cush1944 08/31/14 - 07:10 am
15
2
"But then the kids go home

"But then the kids go home and everything that the teacher has spent 7 hours of teaching, go out the window with one hour of BET, which is the worst thing that has happened to black America in the last 25 years"
corgi, "the worst thing that has happened to black America" was the Great Society which pretty much destroyed black families. The democrats, liberals and black leaders created this mess.
http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2014/08/09/lbj-destroyed-african-america...

deestafford
30293
Points
deestafford 08/31/14 - 07:10 am
11
1
The media focused on the small percentage of blacks...

The media focused on the small percentage of blacks on the Ferguson police force not representing the percentage of blacks in the community.

They failed to ascertain the number of blacks who applied to become policeman from a population who most likely taught that the law enforcement officers were "The Man" and they were there to put the black people down.

They never looked into the inner workings of the community that most likely had the attitude that if you cooperated with the police you were a "snitch".

You see, the blacks in the inner city look at the police as the enemy and what black would want to be part of the enemy's organization?

The large percentage of black law enforcement here in Augusta would preclude the same attitude permeating as deeply here. It's there, but not nearly as pervasive.

deestafford
30293
Points
deestafford 08/31/14 - 07:34 am
12
2
In general, the whites form their opinions of the blacks...

In general, the whites form their opinions of the blacks from basically three sources: those we know and interact with; those we see on the streets; and those we see in the media.

Social economics have a great deal to do with the type of blacks and whites interacting with each other.

On television, in the newspaper, and on the radio we hear and see different types of blacks upon which to form our opinions. If we listen to Herman Cain, Ben Carson, Thomas Sowell, Walter Williams, Clarence Thomas and the like we get one opinion of blacks.

If we see Jessie Jackson, Al Sharpton, Eric Holder and the like we get a different opinion of blacks.

If we see the "Obama phone" lady and the one who screams that now Obama is president she "won't have to worry about my mortgage, my car payment,or anything now that Obama is president!"

We see on TV the looters, rioters, and demonstrators who destroy things just because there was a conflict with a black youth and a police officer without knowing the facts, we form another opinion.

If we ride down the streets of Augusta and see youths with their pants down around their knees and their underwear showing, we form another opinion.

If we see a pretty young black female child all dressed in her Sunday best with great smiles and beaming, we get another opinion.

So, looking at all of these observations, what do you think the opinions of most whites are of blacks? They vary according to the group of blacks we are talking about. It's not race. It's the projection of the different blacks we see.

As a generality, one main difference between blacks and whites is the blacks have it drilled in their heads on a constant basis from the left/liberals/race hustlers that they are not responsible for their conditions. They are victims of the white man stealing from them.

The blacks who accept personal responsibility for their lives are the ones who succeed in America while the others who succumb to the siren musings of the hustlers wallow in generational dependence and poverty.

justthefacts
23840
Points
justthefacts 08/31/14 - 07:36 am
8
2
Amen

What lilly said.

seenitB4
93480
Points
seenitB4 08/31/14 - 07:41 am
7
1
JTF ^^

You just like Lilly ...hah

justthefacts
23840
Points
justthefacts 08/31/14 - 07:48 am
8
1
seenit

Sure, but she has a way to cut through the bull with very few words.

leawords
84
Points
leawords 08/31/14 - 08:14 am
17
1
Don't be preposterous,

Mr. Abrams! You mean that had Michael Brown been well-versed in black history, he would not have met his demise at the end of a policeman's gun? I think you're mistaken: the lessons Mr. Brown sorely lacked are those John Rosemond speaks of in his column in today's "Your Life" section. Also, as a 55-year-old white woman, I, like several others commenting here, have been immersed in black culture since my youth, often sitting in classrooms where I was the only white student, moving on to a career where I obeyed and toiled for black supervisors. To suggest that the problem here is one of color is both trite and blind - as Mr. Rosemond says in his column, it is all because of a lack of respect for authority. Period.

freeradical
1144
Points
freeradical 08/31/14 - 08:16 am
10
2
Trusting Whitey

" Don't trust whitey " is a code that Blacks abandoned shortly after

they made their greatest strides as a people .

The greatest strides ever made for freedom , independence , &

respect by blacks were made completely independent of

white liberal politicians & government support .

The greatest strides were made thru the black church & family , with

support much greater than any corrupt government can provide , the

Supreme support of God .

The moment the liberal white godless political establishment realized

the political possibilities , ( much in the same way illegal Hispanics are being

drooled over today ), of hijacking the trust of blacks by playing the

Good white vs Bad white game , taking charge of their affairs it was

game over .

They literally traded one form of slavery for another.

Enjoying just a few moments of true freedom .

They handed the whole thing over to self-serving liberal white

politicians and the movement collapsed with warp speed .

What we see today by and large in the black community is a

result of that surrender to liberal white power & subsequent black

collapse .

It is a sobering realization to admit that as an entire people with so much

potential starting out you screwed the future generation by handing

the whole movement over giftwrapped to whitey, but that is

exactly what transpired .

They traded the power, supremacy ,intelligence & energy of God for

a bunch of corrupt self - serving politicians .

A bad deal beyond measure , with predictable results .

Not an easy thing to admit that you screwed up so badly and that is

Why no one ever does .

But admitting that is the only way such strides will ever be made

again .

RMSHEFF
17754
Points
RMSHEFF 08/31/14 - 08:44 am
9
3
The writer begins the letter

The writer begins the letter assuming what he is trying to prove. We don't know exactly what happen in Ferguson. What if the situation in Ferguson had nothing to do with race? What if the situation was handled exactly as it should have been handled and the officer did exactly what he was trained to do? The writer builds his entire example of injustice based upon an unproven set of facts. What if Michael Brown was proven to have beaten and then charged the officer and the office acted as he should have? Would this race issue go away and would all of the protestors and looters and this letter writer apologize and help rebuild the areas they destroyed ? These folks should try to remove race as the common factor in every negative event and just focus on the facts. The Ferguson incident could be a bad man being shot by a good man that had no choice and have nothing to do with race.

hoptoad
18302
Points
hoptoad 08/31/14 - 08:48 am
6
2
Mr. Grady states all history

Mr. Grady states all history being taught is white man's history. Before slaves were freed that's mostly what there was - white men making history. The slaves who were brought over here were not educated, wore loin clothes and carried spears. Nothing wrong with their way of life, they were satisfied with it while living in Africa but they offered nothing at that time to be put in history books except the fact that they resided and worked in America.

Once freed, or if they were lucky enough to be a slave for a fair land owner who encouraged his slaves to become educated, some blacks made some contributions to American's history.

I went to school in the 50's and remember reading about Booker T. Washington among others. So gradually blacks were incorporated into our history books.

hoptoad
18302
Points
hoptoad 08/31/14 - 08:57 am
10
2
Mr. Grady needs to

Mr. Grady needs to concentrate on the ministers like Reverend Wright who preach hate and revenge; Jackson, Sharpton, Farakhan, and the likes - who want to keep the racial divide alive to fill their own wallets - instead of telling white people to "understand" black people.

What's to understand - they are humans who have hopes and dreams like any other race. The problem is they think they should be treated differently. When Affirmative Action and other programs were instituted, that verified to them that they should be treated not only differently, but special.

Asians and all the other immigrants who came here couldn't speak English, didn't know anything about our history or culture, but they didn't expect special treatment. They got busy and did what they had to do to become successful.

Many of them were slaves in their own country and many came here with only the clothes on their backs.

Blacks are no less able to be successful, productive citizens than any other race. My advice to them is to get over it, quit wallowing in slavery self pity, pull up your pants, get educated and join the American race.

Bizkit
34261
Points
Bizkit 08/31/14 - 09:19 am
12
1
This fella is living in the

This fella is living in the past-you'd think he'd just got off the plantation. He is talking about the past-I've had black bosses and we now have a black president. Many couples are now of mixed ethnicity and produce biracial children such as our president. Gosh folks there is no race=just the human one so let's get on with it together living today rather than the past. For the most part I think our younger generation and our future has gotten over it more so than those who remember the oppression.
Asian americans are a minority that express health disparities and also suffer discrimination, yet on average they make more than white, blacks, or hispanics, and the same trend applies to having fewer kids drop out of school, more kids with college degrees etc. It's cultural and environmental-they propagate these outcomes by family, discipline, and expectations. Why is one minority doing better than whites and one doing poorer than whites ? Now even blacks rank lower than hispanics, which before Obama hispanics were lowest and the black community was thriving?

ralphinga
1601
Points
ralphinga 08/31/14 - 09:16 am
10
1
The Golden Rule

Obviously there are many folks who don't see people as individuals. Rather, they see them specifically as a part of a larger group. In and of itself that isn't necessarily negative. We can talk about Georgia Bulldog supporters in either positive or disparaging terms, and everyone understands what is being addressed. If we did the same thing addressing a religious belief group or nationality group, we are going way out of societal bounds. When we interact with individuals, we can't just apply a neat system of labels relative to some group to which they may belong. We need to apply the Golden Rule. I had the high privilege to once meet Ms. Rosa Parks. She didn't greet members of a race, she greeted individuals.

Bizkit
34261
Points
Bizkit 08/31/14 - 09:30 am
8
1
It is blatantly racist in

It is blatantly racist in perspective and a fallacious argument-that blacks "understand" whites more so than blacks whites. Like if I were to state than blacks could never understand whites-that would be taken as racist as though they lacked the intellect to understand or they are inferior-which is racist crap.

Darby
28323
Points
Darby 08/31/14 - 11:06 am
8
2
I began reading Mr.Abrams letter

with the idea that it might be a legitimate effort to bridge a divide.

Then it became obvious that it was nothing more (or less) than a Sharptonesque assault on white people.

When my children and grandchildren went through school, one thing stood out dramatically. When anything to do with Black History was taught,(not just in February) on average, the white kids were much more interested in the subject matter and took much more away from the classes than did the black children.

Even today, my grandkids (grown now) are probably much more conversant about the accomplishments and lives of people like Harriet Tubman, Matthew Henson, Emmett Till, Medgar Evers, et al.

Ask the average local black high school graduate to tell you what he/she knows about Alex Haley, or James Meredith and you'll almost certainly get a blank stare of incomprehension.

Ask my grandkids and they can (and will) give you point and counter-point in the lives of these historic figures.

NOTE: Composing this post, I've come to realize that it wasn't just my kids and grandkids who learned something...

..........................................................................................................

Thanks, but no thanks Mr. Grady for sharing your racial bias as well as your attempt to perpetuate the divide.

Back to Top

Top headlines

Storm brings heavy rain, property damage reported

The National Weather Service in Columbia says the threat of severe weather has left the Augusta area, but not before leaving behind some property damage Sunday.
Search Augusta jobs