Congrats and watch out

  • Follow Letters

I would like to extend congratulations to Hardie Davis on his successful bid to become the next mayor of Augusta.

A tough hide to cover his skin is a necessity. His campaign slogan “One Augusta” is well-intentioned and futuristic, and I wish him good luck. However, may I caution him that Augusta’s last elected black mayor was hounded by certain natives from start to finish.

There are fools on the airwaves and nestled in chambers and towers who sit poised to besmirch and dwarf Davis’ every effort and attempt at better leadership. I safely assume that Davis has an impressive educational, business and social background that will support any endeavor he explores.

But I must inform Mr. Davis of a certain well-known chief executive. He has a Harvard Law School education and impressive credentials; is a former U.S. senator; is the author of two books; and is an outstanding public speaker with proven diplomatic and negotiation skills, along with great parenting skills and leadership potential. He has been, and probably always will be, considered incompetent and inadequate in the eyes of certain individuals. Oh yes – he also won re-election.

Only when the chaos-and-controversy crowd contends that you can’t do anything right will you be on the right track.

Tunk Martin

Edgefield, S.C.

Comments (43) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Riverman1
90463
Points
Riverman1 07/14/14 - 05:38 am
9
0
Not A Bad Idea To Caution Davis

I disagree that Obama is picked on because he's black. On the other hand, cautioning Hardie Davis is probably a wise idea after the attempted bribes with the TEE Center. But Mr. Davis is respected by most whites and has a proven record in Atlanta representing Richmond County.

Little Old Lady
7396
Points
Little Old Lady 07/14/14 - 06:17 am
11
0
Augusta's last elected black

Augusta's last elected black mayor was not hounded by anyone. He was dishonest and got caught.

seenitB4
93610
Points
seenitB4 07/14/14 - 06:31 am
8
1
and probably always will be, considered incompetent and inadequa

Oh please---don't make me choke..

When the crap hits the fan the color won't matter.

hoptoad
18395
Points
hoptoad 07/14/14 - 07:00 am
7
2
Every single policy of this

Every single policy of this president that is being quesioned is because it is a bad policy, no matter what color he is. Some people seem to think that no matter what this president proposes, just the fact the he is black, should be accepted and enacted with no thought as to the consequences to this country.

gaflyboy
5154
Points
gaflyboy 07/14/14 - 07:57 am
11
2
Resume of the ...

"certain well-known chief executive." The writer is correct on some counts, but I take issue with these:

"Harvard Law School education and impressive credentials" - Can't speak much to that as he's had these sealed (for some reason). He was a one term Senator who voted "present" almost all the time. And, he did write two books about himself, some of which was totally fabricated.

“proven diplomatic and negotiation skills” – Which is why he could not get a Status of Forces agreement in Iraq; the Russians had to step in and save him in Syria; Latin America countries misunderstood his intentions on immigration, leading to the current invasion of our southern border … Quite the opposite has be proven time and time again.

“leadership potential” – Almost all Democrat candidates are running away from this man’s leadership. Even Democrats are screaming that he should have visited the border while in Texas. Instead he plays golf and pool and reaches over sneeze guards at restaurants and cuts in line at a popular Texas BBQ joint. That’s the writer’s idea of leadership?

But, other than that ...

gaflyboy
5154
Points
gaflyboy 07/14/14 - 07:37 am
7
1
Unlike this certain well-known chief executive ...

Hardie Davis has positive credentials for the position and will actually be able to properly carry out the duties of the office.

Bizkit
34338
Points
Bizkit 07/14/14 - 07:45 am
10
1
Wow never took Tunk as a Bush

Wow never took Tunk as a Bush fan- attended Harvard business and Yale, a book author, great father, elected twice as Prez, but he was a Governor not a Senator. Must gave been a typo.i don't know why Tunk thinks he needs to inform Hardie about that. Not very informative and says nothing.

jimmymac
45719
Points
jimmymac 07/14/14 - 07:45 am
0
0
Writer
Unpublished

Once again a statement that opposition to a black leader is only because he's black. Don't kind ever get tired of playing the race card? Maybe it's because every policy Obama has pushed through has been a disaster for America. I wish Hardie Davis well as mayor of Augusta. He'll be evaluated by his success not his color on this board.

dichotomy
36257
Points
dichotomy 07/14/14 - 09:08 am
7
1
I was fixin' to unload on you

I was fixin' to unload on you Tunk but gaflyboy said it all.

The things you mentioned about the "certain well-know chief executive" were all POTENTIAL but unfortunately he has proven to be a total failure and a DISASTER. His policies have kept the economy stagnant, set the Middle East on fire, driven major corporations (47 at last count and the 48th in progress) to foreign shores, and caused literal CHAOS on our southern border. I won't even mention the total loss of confidence in our government due to NUMEROUS lies and scandals from the Dept. of Justice, the IRS, Benghazi, Obamacare, ad nauseam.

I certainly hope that Hardie Davis will be MORE effective and honest than a certain well-know chief executive and IF HE IS NOT he will damned well deserve to be hounded.

itsanotherday1
46883
Points
itsanotherday1 07/14/14 - 10:34 am
9
0
Puzzling

I have a challenge for the race baiters. Explain to us how those of us who criticize Obama's lack of performance as POTUS, will, in the same breath; praise Ben Carson, Thomas Sowell, Clarence Thomas, Walter Williams, Allen West, Herman Cain, Ward Connerly, and Alan Keyes? These are just off the top of my head, so sorry if I left out other notable "people of color" who embrace conservatism.

Can you give a rational explanation for that, Tunk?

KSL
140232
Points
KSL 07/14/14 - 11:01 am
5
1
No, he can't.

No, he can't.

corgimom
36696
Points
corgimom 07/14/14 - 12:45 pm
1
12
Academic records aren't

Academic records aren't sealed, gaffyboy.

But they are considered private property and belong to the college that issued them.

He couldn't do any worse than George W. Bush, whose granddaddy's and daddy's money got him mercy C's and a mercy diploma.

corgimom
36696
Points
corgimom 07/14/14 - 12:56 pm
1
7
Itsa, I can. It has now

Itsa, I can.

It has now become the thing to do to bash anybody that has different political ideas. The vitriol is among all parties. I've been called a liberal (I've also been accused of being too conservative, depending on the poster.) I've been called a Democrat (how would anybody know, I've never said) and an anti-American. (Really??? You're anti-American if you don't agree with somebody?)

Of course, if you ask these people if they believe in the Constitution and freedom of speech, oh yeah, of course they do. If you ask these people if they want a one-party system, a dictatorship, they tell you, oh no.

But just reading these posts, the amount of misinformation that is out there about Obama is staggering. From the ridiculous claim that he was born in Kenya, it starts there and goes on and on.

That man gets accused of anything and everything, true or not. Too many people want to blame the president for everything, when the President has little power. It's about CONGRESS.

And human nature is such that people want to believe what they want to believe. Those posters that were listed- they earn their living by telling people what they want to hear. They all have publicists, they all write books and give speeches, their images are carefully crafted by professional PR firms. They are trying to earn a living.

Does anybody really think that Ben Carson spends his day worrying about politics? Because if he does, I wouldn't ever want him as my physician.

And as we all have found, people's professional public image is usually far different than their private one.

corgimom
36696
Points
corgimom 07/14/14 - 12:59 pm
1
7
Then there's this- " Despite

Then there's this-

" Despite largely expressing conservative viewpoints, Carson has also expressed some views at odds with most conservatives, such as supporting banning automatic weapons in large cities. He has also stated, “There’s a reason for the Second Amendment; people do have the right to have weapons.”[22]"

So do all the people that like Ben Carson agree that automatic weapons be banned in large cities?

cush1944
12515
Points
cush1944 07/14/14 - 01:13 pm
4
1
"So do all the people that

"So do all the people that like Ben Carson agree that automatic weapons be banned in large cities?"
And back in the old days, children were not allowed to ask rude, snoopy questions about adults, because how other people live is none of a child's business.
No, Dr. Carson is a brilliant man but he is wrong on this. Only honest folks will do away with those guns the criminals will still have them.

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 01:41 pm
1
4
"Can you give a rational

"Can you give a rational explanation for that, Tunk?"
------
Iad1, I've heard the justification for this enough times that I bet you've heard it too.

Some racists differentiate between individuals, and the cliche phrase is:

"There are Black people, and there are n******".

The logic behind this type of racism is that some people are SO exceptional, they rise above the color of their skin -- while the rest behave "according to their skin," as a racist would say or think.

Why only mention Black men who "embrace conservatism" as those worthy of praise? By "embracing conservatism," have they "risen above" the color of their skin?

Why is political behavior the prerequisite for acceptance by some conservatives of a specific person of color?

itsanotherday1
46883
Points
itsanotherday1 07/14/14 - 01:56 pm
4
0
Because Burninator, we were

Because Burninator, we were speaking in the context of people bashing Obama due to his color, when in fact, it is his politics.

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 02:12 pm
1
3
Just a couple of weeks ago, a

Just a couple of weeks ago, a regular conservative poster here was talking about Obama's "white half".

If you don't think race is a factor in the political dialogue, you must have exceptionally fine-tuned filters.

myfather15
55844
Points
myfather15 07/14/14 - 02:16 pm
3
1
"Does anybody really think

"Does anybody really think that Ben Carson spends his day worrying about politics? Because if he does, I wouldn't ever want him as my physician."

He is retired, so there's a chance he is worrying about politics! And no, since he is retired, he won't be doing your surgery!!

myfather15
55844
Points
myfather15 07/14/14 - 02:18 pm
3
1
burninator

That poster was saying he doesn't like Obama's white half either; so pretty much saying that his dislike for Obama has nothing to do with skin color!! You've got to keep it in context!!

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 02:19 pm
1
3
Also, Obama's name,

Also, Obama's name, parentage, ethnic background, race, color, relatives' color -- amongst other things -- are frequently bundled into the "political" discourse.

How are these "in fact, his politics"?

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 02:21 pm
1
4
"That poster was saying he

"That poster was saying he doesn't like Obama's white half either; so pretty much saying that his dislike for Obama has nothing to do with skin color!! You've got to keep it in context!!"
------
Myfather, is there a non-racist context for splitting someone into a "white half" and a "black half"?

Darby
28357
Points
Darby 07/14/14 - 02:25 pm
3
1
Take it easy on Mr. Martin...

He's just following the lead of OzBama, his racist Attorney General Holder and half the current administration. After all, they constantly pull their wimpy little race card out on an almost daily basis.

When you don't have anything to show for six wasted years except for billions of (also) wasted dollars, you gotta blame someone or something else. (And pointing the finger at George Bush) IS getting a little tiresome.

My advice to Mr. Tunk Martin, STUFF IT! No one in his/her right mind wants to hear your bigoted BS.

.
And to Hardie Davis I say, I rooted for OzBama to fail because he ran on a platform of blatant socialism.

I'm rooting for you to succeed because you didn't.

hoptoad
18395
Points
hoptoad 07/14/14 - 03:49 pm
3
1
There are comments about Mr.

There are comments about Mr. Bush getting good grades or getting into the better schools because of nepotism - what documents or verifiable information do you have to prove this. Someone is quick to demand proof from everyone else, yet provide none when spouting such unbelievable nonsense as this. Mr. Bush earned his entrance and grades with no help from daddy or granddaddy. Maybe you are referring to the tradition with the Ivy League Colleges to give children of graduates preference. That applies to ALL previous graduates, not just Mr. Bush. His grades were released when he was running for president and they were not "C"s, let alone "mercy C"s. Did Clinton, Gore, Hillary have help from their family? There's talk that Obama had lots of help getting into college from his socialist family and friends. And there is sufficient proof of that.

If posting misinformation is wrong, I have a clue who would be the at the top of the list for doing just that.

And yes, O has asked the school to seal his college transcripts, and refused to reveal his grades, otherwise we would have seen them by now. The colleges do not arbitrarilly disclose transcripts, but they will if requested by the student. Why can't we see what his grades were, what name he went to college under, did he go to college as a foreign student? Because he will not release his transcripts, these unanswered questions are fodder for speculation.

Other presidents and politicians have offered their transcripts, probably because they have nothing to hide.

Mostly, people are not bashed for their political views, only for their ridiculous statements or misinformation. Nobody should be bashed for their opinion - eveyone has an opinion - but different opinions should elicit a lively debate without trying to insinuate someone did or did not do the right thing, or insinuate someone is lying. Which I have noticed a certain poster doing just that.

myfather15
55844
Points
myfather15 07/14/14 - 03:57 pm
2
1
burninator

"Myfather, is there a non-racist context for splitting someone into a "white half" and a "black half"?"

Yes, actually there is!! Because THAT commentor didn't intitially split his race, the author of the article did; by saying people's criticism was only because he is black. Since the fact is that Obama IS bi-racial, and the article you're speaking of was about people's criticism being only because he is black, then the author of the article has introduced race into the argument!! Therefore, if one say's (jokingly) that he doesn't like Obama's "white-half" either; they aren't introducing race into the argument, only RESPONDING to the author's allegations that all criticism is based upon his race.

I understood, as most people did; that the commentor was being facetious with this reference and was merely pointing out that they don't care for Obama's other half as well, because of his politics. That would indicate to me that he doesn't care for Obama's politics no matter what his color is; which is exactly how I feel.

I personally like Herman Cain, Ben Carson, Allen West and many other's because I AGREE with most of what they believe and say!! It has absolutely nothing to do with their RACE!! Why can't people grasp that the same criticisms apply to Obama as well? It's not criticizing because of his race, it's because of his policies and political ideology!!

The shallowness comes, when people BLINDLY claim that all criticism is simple because of the color of his skin, without any evidence or proof!!

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 04:01 pm
1
2
hoptoad, since you are so

hoptoad, since you are so concerned with accuracy, you should know that your claim that Bush's grades "were not C's" is false.

Bush graduated with an overall C+. Whether or not this was a "mercy" C+, I cannot say. But it is true that Bush's grades were C's.

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 04:12 pm
1
3
"The shallowness comes, when

"The shallowness comes, when people BLINDLY claim that all criticism is simple because of the color of his skin, without any evidence or proof!!"
-------
You're setting up a bit of a straw man here. Saying that some criticism is racially-based is not saying, "blindly," that "all criticism" is because of skin color.

As I pointed out above, when folks bundle political criticism with comments about the President's name, parentage, ethnic background, race, color, and relatives' color -- amongst other things -- the claim that the criticism is simply based on policy is, frankly, a load of horse manure.

This doesn't mean that all criticism of the President is based on racism, and I don't think most people believe that. I know there are agitators and race-baiters on both sides of the aisle that make this claim, but that's because their wallets get fat when they stir up trouble. If you are taking anything those types say as gospel truth, there's not a lot of hope for you, unfortunately.

itsanotherday1
46883
Points
itsanotherday1 07/14/14 - 04:10 pm
3
1
So, do you get it yet? When

So, do you get it yet? When critics of Obama's politics are labeled racist, it is totally illogical because those same critics embrace the politics of others with the same skin tone. Pretty simple concept I would say....

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 07/14/14 - 04:17 pm
1
2
No Iad1, you are making the

No Iad1, you are making the same straw man as myfather. When the conversation is limited to policy, then the claims of racism are unfounded. But often, the conversation is not limited simply to policy, but racial identity. This is the basis for the claims of racism.

Those who play racial identity politics with Obama, but not with members of their own party, are going to be labeled racist. Not being racist towards some does not exonerate being racist towards others.

Get it?

Bizkit
34338
Points
Bizkit 07/14/14 - 04:28 pm
3
1
Corgi your parents don't get

Corgi your parents don't get you through Harvard or Yale, that would be like those that accuse Obama as being socially promoted because of race. I don't think either is true, but it goes to show you that even these two morons were able to get a college degree at great schools. See there is hope for our aspiring youth that they too coul go to Harvard. Even an idiot such as myself was able to acquire a PhD- with honors no less, so once again an inspiration that an idiot can earn a PhD. America the land of opportunity - even for morons and idiots. I bet some of these Latin American kids will one day be earning their PhD.

Back to Top

Top headlines

Smith case referred to Attorney General's office

A state probe into allegations former Augusta commissioner Donnie Smith moonlighted for a hospitality company while drawing his Georgia State Patrol salary will be reviewed by the state attorney ...
Search Augusta jobs