Distinguish wants, needs

  • Follow Letters

You can only shake your head in disbelief considering the implications of the debacle surrounding the partial government shutdown in Washington, D.C.

At first glance, the dispute appears to be merely a tug-of-war between Democrats and Republicans. Yet a closer examination reveals that both Congress and the executive branch have ignored a fundamental and basic distinction that even your average kindergartner comprehends. Much like the contrast between needs and wants, there is a fine distinction between essential and nonessential services.

It has been reported that some nonessential services, such as the operation of museums and national parks, have ground to a halt. While I certainly acknowledge the learning opportunities provided by museums, and the beauty and splendor of our national parks, I think we can stipulate that these government functions are secondary to the powers implicitly provided to our federal government by our Constitution.

With a $16 trillion debt, can we even remotely believe that these services are appropriate and legitimate functions of our federal government? Why not delegate these nonessential services to private providers? Should we even dwell on the lack of these services to be provided? Absolutely not.

On the other hand, essential services should continue without fail. The American Heritage Dictionary defines “essential” as being necessary or indispensable. Of course, we can inquire as to why the National Institutes of Health’s cancer research; death benefits to surviving family members of fallen soldiers; disability benefits to our veterans; and some military functions provided at Fort Gordon are not deemed to be essential by the feds. Perhaps our federal government is short on the necessary intellectual acumen to distinguish between essential and nonessential. Essential services must be delivered without skipping a beat.

As a doting dad, I can say with pride that my 6-year-old kindergartener is astute enough to distinguish between wants and needs. An example of a need is food or a roof over your head. On the other hand, a want is a toy or a sweet treat. My child discussed this concept recently in her class and was bright enough to grasp these terms at once.

To me, wants and needs are analogous to nonessential and essential services. The former are nice to have, but the latter are necessary and indispensable. A kindergartener apparently is smarter than your average president or member of Congress. I am sure there are a few members of Congress who are exceptions to the rule. Yet it pains me to realize that they are in the minority. Or I could be cynical and suggest that our leadership in Washington is smarter than they are letting on, and have staked out their positions for purely political purposes. Either way, their actions are a disgrace.

Your average kindergartener also can appreciate the need to communicate with others – even those we do not agree with. Yet our leaders refuse to even talk. Perhaps we should just send a few of our kindergarteners to Washington to enlighten those who should be looking out for the future of our next generation.

Comments (24) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
GACopprhed
2136
Points
GACopprhed 10/15/13 - 12:14 pm
0
1
Good joke, nofanofobama, his
Unpublished

Good joke, nofanofobama, his name is spelled OBAMA.

t3bledsoe
14291
Points
t3bledsoe 10/15/13 - 12:20 pm
1
0
Obamacare

I know this sounds like a broken "CD", but I do not see how Obamacare is going to be paid for. The deffence buget cuts are not going to cover it all. Where do you go for the money, then?? Perhaps a little from Soc. Sec. and Medicare. PERHAPS A LOT from welfare, food stamps, and Medicade!! I have said it before, some of these people on gov. subsities are going to have to take the jobs from the illegals.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 12:20 pm
1
0
I understand Obama removed

I understand Obama removed the maximum out of pocket costs to the insured originally in the law, which seems a give away to the insurance companies to gouge everyone to death.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 12:24 pm
0
0
I thought it was Soetero.

I thought it was Soetero (oops Soetoro). Didn't he use to be the singer for Chicago? Wow he is a talented dude.

t3bledsoe
14291
Points
t3bledsoe 10/15/13 - 12:25 pm
0
0
LTE

"To me, wants and needs are analogous to nonessential and essential services. The former are nice to have, but the latter are necessary and indispensable"

The gov. is wasting a grand opportunity to see just how many gov. jobs are necessary.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 12:26 pm
0
0
OMG, It is spelled Biscuit

OMG, It is spelled Biscuit not Bizkit. E, I, E, I, O.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 01:01 pm
1
0
Too funny. I never noticed

Too funny. I never noticed the missing letters in his moniker. Sheesh some observant scientist I turn out to be. Probably my brain just filled in the letters I guess. Like they teach you in Art Classes to trick the brain to filling in pictures. Sadly the older I get the worse my typing and spelling. I've gotten a few awards in my past for writing but apparently I've degraded into an idiot. I use to have a memory like a vise but I apparently lost my vise.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 01:05 pm
1
0
My wife constantly challenges

My wife constantly challenges my ideas too, so move over GaCopperhead I'm moving in with you for some peace and quiet. LOL.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 01:07 pm
1
0
Yeah my name mysteriously

Yeah my name mysteriously changed years ago too. Funny I misspell it too. It happens. You know like Forrest Gump.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 10/15/13 - 01:12 pm
2
0
I like the venomous snake

I like the venomous snake idea. I'd change my name to "Black Mamba" but I'd be accused of being a racist. Hey now that's pretty funny.

InChristLove
22485
Points
InChristLove 10/15/13 - 03:05 pm
2
0
This is the issue with

This is the issue with reporting stats from polls. Depending on where you take the poll and if not all data is reviewed, you can make the numbers say whatever you wish.

The ABC News/Washington Post poll, found that 70 percent of Americans disapprove of the way congressional Republicans are handling negotiations over the federal budget, which sounds like a whopping majority but Congressional Democrats also suffered 61 percent of Americans disapprove of the way they’re handling the budget (up from 56 percent last week).

So there’s really not much difference in disapproval ratings.

Thirty-eight percent of Americans said Republicans were to blame for the shutdown, versus 30 percent who blame the Obama administration. (I suppose it looks better saying Obama administration than saying Obama and Democrats.) And 19 percent who blame both sides. So in actuality both Rep. and Dem. get their share of the blame.

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 10/15/13 - 03:29 pm
1
0
Saw a quote recently that

Saw a quote recently that made me think of our current governmental woes....

“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.”
― Henry David Thoreau, Walden

It takes time and forethought to build a good foundation. The ACA is one of those castles - and those that want it to have a solid foundation are criticized for it.

We can't keep borrowing like there's no tomorrow. We can't tax to death those that are contributing taxpayers to cover in perpetuity those that refuse to contribute. Try that in your own household and see how long you last.

When you find yourself in a hole - stop digging.

GACopprhed
2136
Points
GACopprhed 10/15/13 - 06:46 pm
0
3
No that the Credit rating
Unpublished

No that the Credit rating company Fitch has put us on rating watch negative, and says that if an agreement is not reached before Thursday, they will begin a review that likely will end with our credit rating lowered again. Way to go Republicans, most specifically the Tea Party and Ted Cruz, we will see it costing more money to borrow. It appears to me that Mr. Cruz is an undercover operative for Canada, hell bent to ruin this country if he doesn't get his narrow minded way.

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 10/15/13 - 08:07 pm
3
0
"It appears to me that Mr.
Unpublished

"It appears to me that Mr. Cruz is an undercover operative for Canada, hell bent to ruin this country if he doesn't get his narrow minded way.ral causes"
GACop, it is obvious that the lying, racist, Amercia hating Marxist/communist in the WH is 'hell bent to ruin this country if he doesn't get his narrow minded way'. He hates everything this country was based on. His mentor Franklin Marshall Davis poisoned his mind when he was still a child. Davis was a racist, he hated most white folks, child molester communist. Obama, like his mentor hates most white men. Obama "disclaim his mother's race" when he was 12 year old during the time he was mentored by the racist, child molesting communist Davis.
Nice company you liberals keep.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 10/16/13 - 05:45 am
2
0
GAC blames the party that has compromised.
Unpublished

Why does he not blame the party that OPENLY said they WILL NOT NEGOTIATE?

Back to Top
loading...
Search Augusta jobs