Get the real story? Where?

  • Follow Letters

Regarding the Aug. 6 letter to the editor “Color this editorial yellow,” by the Rev. Prescott E. Nead III, I must ask: Was this letter written in jest by the satirical news website The Onion? I laughed when I read it, and just have to give my take on it.

It appears to make the unfolding scandals phony by saying it would be uncovered by the 24/7 news organizations. Which one should I choose? MSNBC, where the lead evening presenter gets a thrill up his leg at the mention of President Obama? Or CNN, where Candy Crowley interjected herself and lied during the presidential debates? Maybe Al-Jazzeera’s English service. Or how about NBC – maybe it could divert resources from its upcoming Hillary Clinton mini-series.

I suggest Nead just turn on C-SPAN and watch the committees as they are stonewalled by the Obama administration on the release of documents.

Nead states that readers should just “Google” it to get the real story. Does he suggest the Huffington Post? The Daily Beast? The Daily Kos? I recently read a quote on the Internet attributed to Abraham Lincoln: “Anything you read on the Internet must be true.” That is, if we are one of the Rev. Nead’s “intelligent” readers. I believe Nead confuses “intelligent” with uninformed, low-information readers.

Allow me to draw his attention to the facts: It took a hostile but honest press from June 17, 1972, to Aug. 8, 1974 to bring down a president. Does he honestly think that today’s news organizations, in which network presidents have relatives who work for Obama, would actually investigate? Fox News can’t do it all. ...

I read the editorial Nead referred to (“Phony indignation,” Aug. 1), and it contains both pathos and logos, attributes of a good opinion piece. It is a far cry from yellow journalism. There were no “unnamed sources” or unabashed self-promotion, but rather an opinion, on an opinion page.

I have to wonder if the good Rev. Nead gets his information from one of those 24/7 news outlets that has opinion masquerading as news and no longer can tell the difference.

Comments (72) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Riverman1
78407
Points
Riverman1 08/13/13 - 04:29 am
11
3
The cover-up continues

It was obvious BEFORE the last election what the truth was about Benghazi, yet most of the networks avoided it. I was watching Meet the Press when the issue was mentioned and David Gregory said he didn't want to get into that. Hiding the truth gave Obama the election. It was a game changing incident. But what's astounding is NBC and the others still won't look into Hillary's conduct concerning the affair even after her "What does it matter?" statement. It's said the upcoming NBC Hillary miniseries won't cover the subject at all. The cover-up continues.

Bodhisattva
5471
Points
Bodhisattva 08/13/13 - 05:30 am
6
13
Bull. A diplomatic mission in

Bull. A diplomatic mission in a war zone that most likely was brimming with CIA operatives. Not enough security, people got killed as tends to happen in war zones and has happened under Obama, Bush, Clinton, Reagan, Carter, and Johnson in my lifetime. No other relief was available that could have gotten there in time. A bevy of poor candidates, coupled with the Tea Party and the religious right causing the GOP to lurch so far to the right that they deny science and want to codify the Old Testament into law helped the GOP lose. Add to that they have no plans of their own other than more tax cuts for the wealthy and big business. The main reason they loss, however, is that when America was in the throws of the worst recession it's seen since the 1920's and 1930's, on January 20th, 2009, the day Obama was inaugurated, they got together in a meeting with Frank Lutz (the guy who runs their focus groups and is essentially the go to guy for propaganda on the right) to block anything and everything Obama tried to do to help the economy. Even if they knew it would help, they had to vote as a block against it to deny Obama any wins. This meant that in some cases they even voted against their own bills. Bills that they wrote and introduced! If it went in and would help the economy and thus make Obama look good, vote en masse against it. Sacrificing the good of the country for political gain doesn't win many converts. Only one of the most extreme cases of gerrymandering in history in 2010 kept the GOP in control of the House. With the GOP becoming the new Flat Earth Society and the changing demographics, the GOP may never win another Presidency, that is unless they do what they usually do, change the rules and cheat.

Riverman1
78407
Points
Riverman1 08/13/13 - 06:01 am
12
4
Bod, you mean it wasn't a

Bod, you mean it wasn't a demonstration that got out of hand?

myfather15
47709
Points
myfather15 08/13/13 - 06:16 am
15
4
"No other relief was

"No other relief was available that could have gotten there in time."

This is a LIE!! Commander's have already stated on RECORD they were set and ready to deploy Special Ops units that could have been there within 2 hours. This was at the ONSET of the attack and IF they would have left THEN, they could have saved them. But they were ordered to STAND DOWN!!

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 06:18 am
13
4
Bod...you mean it isn't true
Unpublished

Bod...you mean it isn't true that they asked for help and were denied? It isn't true that the President lied for weeks about the motive?

As for your last statement, show us where the GOP has changed the rules and/or cheated to win a Presidency. If you make such an accusation, you should back it up with proof....otherwise it is just libel.

myfather15
47709
Points
myfather15 08/13/13 - 06:24 am
10
3
"A bevy of poor candidates,

"A bevy of poor candidates, coupled with the Tea Party and the religious right causing the GOP to lurch so far to the right that they deny science and want to codify the Old Testament into law helped the GOP lose"

What does this have to do with the topic of scandals? Nothing, this is just another pathetic attempt to divert attention and attack God.

Bod, is there ANYTHING the LP's haven't done perfectly? Please tell me!! It seems EVERYTHING, including these scandals are republican's fault, since they are the ones pushing them. We are also at fault for Obama's continued recession that he said he would fix!! But, it appears Obama is more than willing to bypass Congress; why not on issues he feels will fix the economy?

You wrote: "Even if they knew it would help, they had to vote as a block against it to deny Obama any wins. This meant that in some cases they even voted against their own bills. Bills that they wrote and introduced! "

Can you provide proof of this? Which specific bills they introduced, did they vote against? SPECIFIC please!! I would be very interested in learning about these. Since you brought it up, I would expect you to be able to substantiate the claims; or is that asking too much?

TrukinRanger
1748
Points
TrukinRanger 08/13/13 - 06:32 am
0
0
Bod... Finally, someone else
Unpublished

Bod... Finally, someone else who has a brain.

nocnoc
37317
Points
nocnoc 08/13/13 - 07:09 am
9
3
Low Info Voter elect Low Level Leadership

Saw this on the Internet and I agree.

Sometimes the facts are there if you know how look hard and compare multiple versions.

But it is getting harder everyday.
It is called Internet Pollution.

A recent investigation showed Google has been remapping the TOP articles to ensure certain politically planted pieces are displayed at the top. An placing tuned ads in special places.

This is what happens when you rely on 1 source for news.
Use the Internet, but don't rely on 1 source or search engine to find what you are looking for.

seenitB4
79298
Points
seenitB4 08/13/13 - 07:06 am
5
1
OH Lordy

Maybe we can't handle the truth!

carcraft
23647
Points
carcraft 08/13/13 - 07:20 am
10
2
Bodhisattva,your explaination

Bodhisattva,your explaination leaves out ONE BIG VERY IMPORTANT FACT THAT GOES TO HEART OF OBAMA AND CLINTON! That fact is that the situation in Bengahzi was deteriorating months prior to the attack. The British had pulled out and the Bengahzi compound had already been attacked once. The ambassador had ask for more security and been denied! A Utah special ops unit had requested to continue their mission of providing security and been denied! So you have a deteriorating situation in a war zone and refuse to provide your personnel with the OBVIOUS security they need? Then you go on national television and lie to the American people! PLEASE ...

corgimom
26084
Points
corgimom 08/13/13 - 07:20 am
5
17
Oh, for Pete's sake. Yes,

Oh, for Pete's sake.

Yes, the American embassy was attacked. 4 people died.

America has been known for botching things. You know why? Because you are dealing with people. Imperfect, frail, humans that can't predict the future.

And sometimes in life, despite everyone's best efforts, things just blow up. Things just go horribly wrong. Mistakes are made. Decisions don't work out. Minor things go wrong that lead to big things going wrong.

I have read day in, and day out, all the posts about Benghazi. It is ludicrous for anyone to think that a civilian, sitting in America, would be privy to all the decisions that went into this.

There seems to be certain people, both on here and in America, that are deeply invested in this. If that's what makes you happy, fine.

It's a war zone over there in the Middle East, 365 days a year. Who would think otherwise? American Embassies have been attacked before, people have been killed. It will happen again.

Tragedies HAPPEN.

Can people please just MOVE ON?

carcraft
23647
Points
carcraft 08/13/13 - 07:23 am
15
1
Corgimom NO WE CAN'T MOVE ON!

Corgimom NO WE CAN'T MOVE ON! WARNINGS WERE IGNORED, DUE DILIGENCE WAS NOT APPLIED AND THR AMERICAN PEOPLE WERE LIED TO!!

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 07:27 am
16
3
Corgi...it's not so much that
Unpublished

Corgi...it's not so much that things went wrong. It's the "what difference does it make" indignation, and the lies and coverups that make this different.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 07:28 am
12
3
"Since you brought it up, I
Unpublished

"Since you brought it up, I would expect you to be able to substantiate the claims; or is that asking too much?"

Actually, I have noticed with the hit and run tactics, that asking Bod to back up libelous accusations IS asking too much.

carcraft
23647
Points
carcraft 08/13/13 - 07:38 am
11
2
Corgimom, as I told Bod, a

Corgimom, as I told Bod, a deteriorating situation was ignored and repeated requests for security were denied! Lets just move on and ignore the gross incompetence,after all it wasn't us or our loved ones that were murdered!

corgimom
26084
Points
corgimom 08/13/13 - 08:07 am
4
15
carcraft, oh, PUH-LEEZE. So

carcraft, oh, PUH-LEEZE.

So what do you plan on doing about it, carcraft?

You are having a big ol' hissy fit, and just wondering, what do you think it will accomplish?

This is what she said: Clinton: "Was it because of a protest or was it because of guys out for a walk one night who decided they’d go kill some Americans? What difference, at this point, does it make?...But, you know, to be clear, it is, from my perspective, less important today looking backwards as to why these militants decided they did it than to find them and bring them to justice, and then maybe we’ll figure out what was going on in the meantime. "

What is she saying that isn't true? Really, what difference DOES it make?

What was she supposed to say?

We already know why they did it, they hate Americans, and want to kill us. Is that a surprise to anybody?

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 08:10 am
11
3
It makes a difference because
Unpublished

It makes a difference because we were lied to. If it happened and they accepted responsibility, it would be bad, but it WOULD be different, but THIS administration will accept responsibility for NOTHING.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 08:11 am
12
3
If a child breaks your
Unpublished

If a child breaks your window, and denies it, the window is still broken, so it doesn't matter that he lied about it. This is the logic you are using. It most certainly DOES matter.

myfather15
47709
Points
myfather15 08/13/13 - 08:42 am
11
3
Corgimom must be President of the Hillary fan club!!

What difference does it make? This is exactly the mentality that had led us to this point!! This is EXACTLY what the LP's want, is for everyone to stop concerning themselves with it; just trust them.

Corgimom; I've stated from the beginning of this, I DO NOT blame President Obama for this, period!! President Obama is NOT involved personally with every decision made in this government. He does NOT go out and gather intelligence himself and make decisions on that. But, what President's are suppose to do is surround themselves with competent people who will GET THE JOB DONE. But I DO blame him for the cover up and LIES. As the CEO you MUST hold people responsible for poor decisions, that COST LIVES!! Can you please tell me WHO he has held responsible?

The LP's were ALL to quick to want to HANG President Bush for bad intelligence that led us into Iraq (even though MANY democrats voted for the war). I said then, President Bush is not going into the field and gathering intelligence. I have the same opinion with Bush and Obama, in that aspect. But I have serious problems with the cover up and NO ONE being held responsible for TERRIBLE decisions, which cost lives. How can you deny that commander's have said they were ready to go into Benghazi? THEY WERE READY but were told to stand down.

Reminds me of Bosnia (I was there) and they made a movie about it called "Behind Enemy lines". They couldn't go in to rescue our pilot because of "fear" of upsetting the locals!! When Admiral McMahon made the decision to go in, he was relieved of his duty!! For what? Saving a downed American pilot? I was in the Marine Corps Infantry (81mm mortar platoon). I was also a member of the "Trap" team. (Tactical recovery of Aircraft personnel). No, I wasn't on the team that went in, but we were on standby in case the entry team needed assistance.

The fact is that the lies and cover ups of this administration is astounding!! But it's attitude like yours that contribute to NO ONE being held responsible. Why should they hold anyone responsible, when people don't CARE!!! Why should there be government reform, when people DON'T CARE!! Why should the government reign itself in, when people don't CARE!!

Why should the government answer to WE THE PEOPLE, when people don't CARE!!!

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 08:41 am
10
3
"We already know why they did
Unpublished

"We already know why they did it, they hate Americans, and want to kill us. Is that a surprise to anybody?"

Who is "they?" Are you talking about why the President and Secretary of State, etc lied to us? Is that the "they" you mean?

CobaltGeorge
148919
Points
CobaltGeorge 08/13/13 - 08:52 am
12
2
myfather

You have one large steak and a beer on your 08:39 if we ever can get together.

What is strange is corgimom makes common sense on some post and then on others.....Geeeez.

seenitB4
79298
Points
seenitB4 08/13/13 - 08:57 am
3
2
steak... heh

I could take a steak & a martini...how about that cgee?

At French Market in a month or so? Just invite the hard nose Rep on here.....the real meanies ..yaknow. haha

rmwhitley
5508
Points
rmwhitley 08/13/13 - 08:57 am
0
0
On a lighter note.
Unpublished

A lowyer, an illegal alien, a pathological liar, a muslim, a communist, and a black guy walk into a bar. Bartender asks: What'll it be, mr. president?

CobaltGeorge
148919
Points
CobaltGeorge 08/13/13 - 08:59 am
8
2
She Gave A Good Description

of our King SMNCICBHO(M), the Hammer & Sickle man by saying "Because you are dealing with a human, Imperfect, frail, and a humans that can't predict the future because he knows nothing of the past history of America.

Since 2008 despite his efforts, things just blow up. Things just go horribly wrong. Mistakes are made. Decisions don't work out. Minor things go wrong that lead to big things going wrong. (Like the destruction of once a GREAT Nation.)

faithson
4606
Points
faithson 08/13/13 - 09:10 am
3
9
March, 2003

Since 2003 despite his efforts, things just blow up. Things just go horribly wrong. Mistakes are made. Decisions don't work out. Minor things go wrong that lead to big things going wrong. (Like the destruction of once a GREAT Nation.)

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 08/13/13 - 09:13 am
9
4
Way to keep on blaming Bush.
Unpublished

Way to keep on blaming Bush, faithson. No need to make this administration accept responsibility for anything, after all.

Bizkit
28155
Points
Bizkit 08/13/13 - 09:18 am
6
2
Bull, the embassies have been

Bull, the embassies have been attacked and labeled as attacks on the US. I guess the entire US is a war zone since 9/11. Why is the NSA spying on us if not to prevent terrorist attacks here-and supposedly they have. If the embassy is a war zone so is all of the US. I know progressives like to play ignorant semantic games and don't believe there is a war on terrorism. They like to call it work place violence or domestic violence, and we have no enemy we could profile. I think Myfather is on to something with the LSD.

RMSHEFF
13303
Points
RMSHEFF 08/13/13 - 09:19 am
8
2
corgimon

If one of the Americans killed in Benghazi were your son, would you want to know who gave the order to NOT send help? Help was on stand by and could have been there in a few hours. Someone in the White House made the decision that these live were not worth saving. No, we can't move on until the person who made this decision has been removed. By the way, the only person that had the authority to stand down was Obama and he refuses to tell us where he was during this event.

justthefacts
19954
Points
justthefacts 08/13/13 - 09:20 am
4
3
seenit

A steak at The French Market? Even Chuck wouldn't recommend that.

Bizkit
28155
Points
Bizkit 08/13/13 - 09:24 am
8
2
Anyone who doesn't see why

Anyone who doesn't see why Obama has tried to cover up or defuse the incompetence of Benghazi for purely political reasons is too naive to understand politics - and too young to remember Nixon. If he hadn't he probably wouldn't be president. I'm not saying any laws were broken but Obama had a lot to gain by being deceptive.

Back to Top

Top headlines

URA votes to issue bonds for Municipal Building renovation

Augusta's Urban Redevelopment Agency agreed Thursday to issue nearly $27 million in revenue bonds to raise up to $28.5 million in cash for ongoing renovations and a new information technology ...
Loading...