Back freedom of opinion

  • Follow Letters

I want to thank the editorial staff for the July 17 editorial titled “The two sides of freedom.” It was an excellent statement in reviewing both sides of freedom in this country.

It also brought to mind this week’s controversy over the hiring of Jenny McCarthy by ABC-TV as a permanent host on the talk show The View. It brings into focus the very freedom that all Americans value – and that is freedom of speech. Ms. McCarthy has stated she witnessed her son’s regression into autism following his series of vaccinations. If some people disagree with her, they can certainly educate themselves and choose different paths for heir own children. Why should she be silenced for her views?

However, that is exactly what has happened. The media, from National Geographic and Forbes magazines, to The Boston Globe and the Los Angeles Times, to major television stations, have called for a boycott of Ms. McCarthy and for ABC to rescind its offer. Headlines have read, “Don’t put Jenny McCarthy on The View as she is causing children to die” or “Jenny McCarthy’s pseudoscience has no place on the view.” This kind of backlash has no place in a country that was founded on freedom of speech.

Whatever one’s beliefs are regarding vaccines, we all have a right to speak out. Tens of thousands of parents saw the same thing happen to their children that Ms. McCarthy saw. We now have one in every 50 children in the United States diagnosed with autism and nobody can tell us why. The debate is not over.

I believe this media boycott is being fostered by the drug companies, especially those that make vaccines. Think about all the ads they run in the media and how much of their money supports magazines, newspapers and television.

So, again, thanks to The Augusta Chronicle for pointing out the freedoms we have and those that are denied us or soon will be. Thanks also to ABC-TV for not bowing to those who would take away our freedom of speech.

Maurine Meleck

North Augusta, S.C.

Comments (25) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
OJP
6470
Points
OJP 07/19/13 - 08:20 am
7
0
Having an opinion is fine.

But not all opinions are created equal. When it comes to matters of science, the opinions of scientists are much more valuable, and should trump lay opinions.

I support banning non-vaccinated children from anything involving other children. Parents' willful ignorance should not be allowed to endanger the children of others.

seenitB4
85836
Points
seenitB4 07/19/13 - 08:29 am
6
0
Opinions are not all the same

If a child had tb would you want your child siitting in class with him/her.....she has a right to HER opinion but not to health risks that involve others.

Bizkit
30906
Points
Bizkit 07/19/13 - 08:41 am
4
0
Religion deals with "faith"

Religion deals with "faith" and "belief" but science is evidence based. I agree it is fine for her to have her opinion but she should also realize people will vocally attack her with science. Just like atheist attack Christians with science. I don't "believe" anything about vaccines just the data indicating it the greatest success story in medical science with millions of lives saved (which some have died or had problems too but that pales to the success). Any medicine you take has a list of precautions yet I don't see people stop taking them. But vaccines aren't medicine they just use neutralized pathogens to initiate the normal immune response to convey immunity. Our bodies naturally do this every single day.

Bizkit
30906
Points
Bizkit 07/19/13 - 08:47 am
3
1
One day when the progressive

One day when the progressive have their way there won't be a religious out for vaccines and it will be mandatory. So enjoy this freedom while you can.

crkgrdn
2287
Points
crkgrdn 07/19/13 - 09:37 am
2
4
Science and how we see

In the 1920s, the National Academy of Sciences, the American Medical Association, the National Research Council, Theodore Roosevelt Woodrow Wilson, Winston Churchill, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Alexander Graham Bell, H.G. Wells and George Bernard Shaw supported a science-led movement to improve the quality of the human race and boost economic life by eliminating the less able...culminating in the very visible horrors of the Holocaust.

Eventually the truth is revealed. Of course the Nazis and Germany gets all of the blame.

Because some attitudes can be cloaked in science, they are granted immunity from analysis. Science works for us when it can accept scrutiny. Just take a look at the diet fads, promoted by dietary science, that have been disproved, more recently regarding salt and fish oil.

With our first grandchild, most new grandparents take a lot of photos. I did and still do, and after my grandson had his mumps/measles/rubella immunizations resulting in high fever, the changes occurred and are notable in the photos. My grandson is autistic.

I continue to try to understand what happened. My suspicions lead to pharmaceutical companies and the beneficiaries of their advertisements, which, at this time, may be trying to quiet Ms. McCarthy.

Bizkit
30906
Points
Bizkit 07/19/13 - 10:09 am
4
0
I am sorry your grandchild

I am sorry your grandchild has autism and not being insensitive, but you realize studies show autism doesn't reveal itself till after 6 months. Vaccinations can start as early as 6 months. The association you are making isn't a logical science based cause and effect. Duesberg believed because almost AIDS patients have tuberculosis then he believed AIDS was caused by a tuberculosis-like bacteria rather than the HIV virus. The Duesberg hypothesis isn't supported by critical analysis of the data. But I'm with you and would be looking for an answer too so this isn't a criticism. Now the science indicates it has a genetic and environmental link (just like cancer)and may have to do with the shift in age parents have their first child-waiting longer and older. So I am not adverse to keep on studying vaccines and autism, however now the majority of studies indicate no links. But it doesn't mean that the process of science may not reveal a link eventually too.

grouse
1635
Points
grouse 07/19/13 - 11:44 am
0
1
The letter writer is confused
Unpublished

The letter writer is confused about freedom of speech. The 1st amendment pertains to government censorship, not censorship by corporations.

amdachel
72
Points
amdachel 07/19/13 - 12:05 pm
0
0
The short trailer to the

The short trailer to the movie The Greater Good, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulmEGbwQsOU makes it clear that there are experts on both sides and a lot of serious questions that need to be asked. The medical community and health officials promote vaccines as the greatest achievement in modern medicine yet there is growing fear over vaccine side effects.

Anne Dachel, Media editor: Age of Autism

amdachel
72
Points
amdachel 07/19/13 - 12:07 pm
0
0
Here is a link to the Vaccine

Here is a link to the Vaccine Research Library where over 3,000 peer reviewed abstracts, studies, and articles show that vaccines have serious side effects.

http://vaccineresearchlibrary.com/

This is a link to a list of approximately 150 scientists and physicians who have serious concerns about vaccine safety.

http://www.greatergoodmovie.org/news-views/doctors-and-scientists-with-c...

There are over 200 independent studies done by well-credentialed experts that raise serious concerns about vaccine side effects shown on The Greater Good website.

http://www.greatergoodmovie.org/learn-more/science/.

Anne Dachel, Media editor: Age of Autism

amdachel
72
Points
amdachel 07/19/13 - 12:09 pm
0
0
It's simply NOT TRUE that all

It's simply NOT TRUE that all the science disproves a link between vaccination and autism. The studies repeatedly given to us from the Centers for Disease and Prevention show no link, but what would you expect from the agency that runs the vaccine program?

The CDC is also the place where hundreds of individuals have conflict of interest waivers because they're also receiving money from the vaccine industry.

The last head of the CDC, Dr. Julie Gerberding, a long time denier of any link, is now head of the vaccine division at Merck. This is the question CBS News asked in 2008, "How Independent Are Vaccine Defenders?" http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-500690_162-4296175.html

Anne Dachel, Media editor: Age of Autism

soldout
1280
Points
soldout 07/19/13 - 01:40 pm
1
3
World health organization

They say most improvement in health is due to sanitation not vaccinations. Thank your plumber instead of your doctor. Do your research and vaccinations won't look very good to you. By the way if you vaccinate your child why worry about other children unless.....you don't trust the vaccination to work which is very much the case with many of them. Money is the driver and not health. By the way the Bible is always ahead of science and a better science book than any. It said the world was round when science said it was flat. The earth is young as the Bible states. Look at the first moon landing and see how they had to jump off the ladder because science thought the dust would be very thick but the Bible would have taught them better than that.

Lee Benedict
1572
Points
Lee Benedict 07/19/13 - 03:41 pm
3
1
Corrupted science

The "scientific community" is basically run by the drug companies, so its "findings" are beyond skeptical. I have written several papers on the topic and there is ample evidence that links autism to vaccines...not in every case, mind you. When drug company executives go on record stating that they do not want their grandchildren to receive certain vaccinations, you must wonder.

US Representative Maurice Hinchey stated that 50% of the FDA's operating budget is provided by the drug companies. Look up up-front-user fees. If you want to know more, as I can go on for days about this, email me or contact me via Facebook or my book's site, freedomheist.blogspot.com, and I will share my EdS comprehensive paper with you upon request.

seenitB4
85836
Points
seenitB4 07/19/13 - 04:13 pm
2
0
soldout

Have you ever seen anyone with polio? My grandad had polio & that was before the vaccine was available...just be glad they came up with something to prevent more polio victims.

Little Lamb
45398
Points
Little Lamb 07/19/13 - 04:32 pm
1
1
Non-vaccinated Children

OJP posted:

I support banning non-vaccinated children from anything involving other children.

Such an opinion would give the impression that OJP does not believe the vaccines to be effective. If the vaccines actually work, a vaccinated child would be at no risk from a non-vaccinated child.

Bizkit
30906
Points
Bizkit 07/19/13 - 04:48 pm
2
0
The scientific community has

The scientific community has nothing to do with the drug companies and does not run science-what a huge fallacy. I've had few friends to leave academia and pursue a drug company or any other company. They are run by university pressure to attain grants and funding and then competing with other researchers for a smaller and smaller piece of pie called federal funding agencies. Without this funding your stay at a university is often measured in milliseconds. So maybe we may have pressure for scientist to be dishonest to attain funding and keep their jobs-so some people do get desperate in today's economy. I do believe there is slow politician of science which is just BAD,BAD, BAD. The FDA is a federal agency not a scientific community agency. I wager most scientist would agree the FDA is a useless pile of dung.

itsanotherday1
42295
Points
itsanotherday1 07/19/13 - 05:29 pm
1
1
BizKit, the voice of common

BizKit, the voice of common sense and reason on this thread.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:22 pm
2
0
"If some people disagree with

"If some people disagree with her, they can certainly educate themselves and choose different paths for heir own children. Why should she be silenced for her views?"

Because she is an absolute wackaloon who promotes false, dangerous lies, for one thing.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:24 pm
2
0
"Look at the first moon

"Look at the first moon landing and see how they had to jump off the ladder because science thought the dust would be very thick but the Bible would have taught them better than that."

Uh, ok. The Bible doesn't say a thing about dust on the moon, but whatever.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:29 pm
2
0
"Such an opinion would give

"Such an opinion would give the impression that OJP does not believe the vaccines to be effective. If the vaccines actually work, a vaccinated child would be at no risk from a non-vaccinated child."

No, the worry you always have is that the non-vaccinated child will spread germs and the vaccinated child will take the germs home to a pregnant woman or infant.

There are always pregnant mothers coming and going in a school, and having an infant there is an everyday occurance.

It is very common for children, especially poor children or immigrant children, to just get their shots as they are coming into school. They haven't had time to build up an immunity, and they could catch diseases from unvaccinated kids.

You also now have to worry about immunosuppressed people- they are vulnerable, and there are more and more of them around. Transplants, AIDS, and people taking prednisone for chronic diseases- and that includes kids.

If people don't want their kids to get the shots, fine. Then keep them home.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:32 pm
1
0
"By the way the Bible is

"By the way the Bible is always ahead of science and a better science book than any."

Yeah, the "unclean" lepers and the epileptics that were "possessed by devils", can't beat that great science.

Little Lamb
45398
Points
Little Lamb 07/19/13 - 09:34 pm
0
2
Non-vaccinated Children

Corgimom posted:

It is very common for children, especially poor children or immigrant children, to just get their shots as they are coming into school. They haven't had time to build up an immunity, and they could catch diseases from unvaccinated kids.

Well, then, if this is a true worry, then the school system can institute a policy that any student that is vaccinated when they first show up at school must be sent home for the required number of days for the immunity to build up. Worry averted.

Little Lamb
45398
Points
Little Lamb 07/19/13 - 09:38 pm
0
2
New Special Protected Class

Corgimom posted:

If people don't want their kids to get the shots, fine. Then keep them home.

Oh, no, I hope this idea does not catch on. Under No Child Left Behind, the school system would have to send teachers to the homes of non-vaccinated kids and teach them at home. You can't leave them behind.

Hey, I've got a great idea! In the same rationale as having Alternative School for truants, we could have Natural School for non-vaccinated students. The student-teacher ratio would be low, and the average IQ of the students would be higher than the general population.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:45 pm
1
0
"With our first grandchild,

"With our first grandchild, most new grandparents take a lot of photos. I did and still do, and after my grandson had his mumps/measles/rubella immunizations resulting in high fever, the changes occurred and are notable in the photos. My grandson is autistic.

I continue to try to understand what happened. "

Every kid on the planet runs high fevers at some time in their infancy and toddlerhood. He would've been far sicker if he had measles, mumps, or rubella, he would've had high fevers and then some, if he caught those. I've seen children that have been permanently damaged by measles. It's sad beyond belief, because it could've been prevented.

Quit trying to understand what happened. Who knows, and what difference would it make if you knew? Just love and enjoy your grandbaby like a good grandparent should.

You didn't notice it because prior to 12 months, pretty much all they do is eat and sleep. It becomes noticeable after a while, when they are supposed to have developmental milestones and they don't. You see a difference because you are looking for one. If you showed the two pictures to us, we wouldn't be able to tell- and my son is on the autism spectrum. I see certain things in his pictures, because I'm attunded to look for them. Other people would not.

The human body is designed to handle high fevers. And he's going to run more high fevers before it's all over and done with.

Autism isn't a death sentence. If he gets early intervention, he will do very well. It's not fun, and it's not easy, but I've seen kids with genetic diseases, and I'll take autism, thank you. Autism is easy compared to what genetic defects or diseases can do.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:47 pm
1
0
LL, sorry, it's the law,

LL, sorry, it's the law, schools aren't allowed to do that, and no, they aren't allowed to miss that much school.

But here's an interesing tidbit of trivia- when an infant gets a polio shot, they shed live virus into feces for a few days, so an immunosuppressed person has to avoid that.

It actually takes a few weeks to build up the immunity, LL, it's not just a few days.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:48 pm
0
0
LL, many homeschool parents

LL, many homeschool parents don't get their kids vaccinated. And I think that's lovely.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:51 pm
1
0
Bizkit, if you are in the

Bizkit, if you are in the military, it's mandatory.

If you are a prisoner, it's mandatory.

If you are a prisoner of war, it's mandatory.

If you are a child of an American citizen born overseas, and then brought into the country, it's mandatory.

If you are a LEGAL immigrant, it's mandatory.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 09:56 pm
1
0
"In the 1920s, the National

"In the 1920s, the National Academy of Sciences, the American Medical Association, the National Research Council, Theodore Roosevelt Woodrow Wilson, Winston Churchill, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Alexander Graham Bell, H.G. Wells and George Bernard Shaw supported a science-led movement to improve the quality of the human race and boost economic life by eliminating the less able...culminating in the very visible horrors of the Holocaust."

You have to take that in the context of the times. There was no medicines, no treatments, no cures, no specialized equipment, terrible institutions. People that were severely handicapped led hellish lives and deeply suffered, many in severe pain and unbearable suffering and torture. Dogs led better lives than a lot of those people.

And that's the context that you have to take that in. Nobody knew what else to do, there wasn't anything else to do.

Little Lamb
45398
Points
Little Lamb 07/19/13 - 10:02 pm
0
1
Mandatory, except for the exceptions

Corgi, for many if not all of those mandatories in your list, there are some exceptions for religious belief.

corgimom
31534
Points
corgimom 07/19/13 - 11:09 pm
1
0
My exhusband was the deputy

My exhusband was the deputy commander of Gitmo for awhile.

They don't allow exemptions. They flat out don't care. They can't.

The need to protect the health takes precedent over religious beliefs, because when you have a bunch of people all packed together, epidemics can start quickly. ALL of those people were sick when they came in-some of them had diseases that the doctors had only read about in textbooks. They complained, but a command was issued that they all get vaccinated. It was also to protect the Americans that had to deal with them. The same way that they had to shave their head and their beards- to prevent the spread of lice- if they refused, they were handcuffed and secured in a chair and forcibly shaved.

Same with the military and the prisoners.

If you want to exempt out in the military, they will discharge you. It's all volunteers, and it is normal in the military to be exposed to Third-World diseases. A serviceperson has to be vaccinated so that they don't become ill when they are out in the boonies with no medical care. Your body is not your own in the military, it belongs to the government. If you don't want to get vaccinated, then don't join. If you refuse a vaccination, they just put you out. Anybody dumb enough in the military, that comes in contact with people that have been all over the world, to refuse to vaccinate, has rocks in their heads. Same with their families. For most people in the military, if you have religious reasons against vaccination, you probably have it against serving in the military anyway.

As for prisoners, the prison just gets a court order. They just can't afford the terrible damage it could cause, they have to protect the other prisoners and their workers. It's not that they don't respect the religious beliefs, but public safety and protecting other prisoners, who can't get away from it, is more important.

For the legal immigrants, if they want a visa, they have to get the shots. No exceptions, because nobody is asking them to come.

When I came into the country as a baby, I had to get all the shots. I had to get the biggies like smallpox and yellow fever, too. My mother raised Cain about it, because I was just a few weeks old, but they said the only other way was that I would have to go into quarantine for several weeks once they entered the States.

So I guess that's how they handle it, but then you have to pay for the quarantine, so most people just get the shots.

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs