Homosexuality politicized

  • Follow Letters

Homosexuality may be the political can of worms that, after being opened, will manifest itself in such a way that our society may never be the same. Politicians have succumbed to political pressure, and by doing so, have compromised our public schools and military.

Lawmakers have determined that it is more important to allow a whole new level of sexual provocativeness, for the sake of inclusiveness and equality, rather than maintaining a cohesive, well-disciplined military that builds men – no offense to the women serving within our military ranks. I am absolutely convinced that the gay rights issue is less about equality and more about political power. Now that our high-end politicians have tucked their tails and crawled under the table, gays have become more emboldened. Now they’re at the gates of the Boy Scouts of America demanding their political power be recognized.

My message to any homosexual: It is not essential that everybody knows what your sexual preference is. Lawmakers in today’s government have no courage and have an intrusive approach toward our personal and private lives; consequently, we end up with troubling circumstances. Our military – or the Boy Scouts, for
that matter – should not be the compromise zone for some men and women to further exploit their sexuality. In my mind, a man can never replace a woman, or vice-versa.

Sexual preference has nothing to do with skin color; one you choose, the other you don’t. Homosexuals will not back down, and are acutely aware that people in high positions – i.e., politicians, preachers, administrators, radio/TV talk show hosts and others – are too terrified to speak against this same issue. I say it’s all right to stand up for the natural and perfect union of male and female – the natural biological urge one has for the other. Stand up, I say to you heterosexual men, and teach against this provocative lifestyle before our society is compromised beyond repair.

Brian Green

Augusta

Comments (111) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 02:05 pm
5
5
"I am not a controversial issue, or a topic to debate....

.... I'm a human being."

Not to put too fine a point on it, but those things are not mutually exclusive.

Your "vision" seems to assume those who disagree with your agenda are somehow in need of enlightenment, or salvation from their "fear" and "ignorance."

I'm not sure they seek such salvation, or even accept the notion that they need it.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:18 pm
3
9
Montey..one more thing
Unpublished

"If the argument and facts pointed to homosexuals trying to force religious organizations to marry them, then I would whole-heartedly agree with you. "

http://www.creativeminorityreport.com/2012/04/new-law-would-force-church...

http://www.texasgopvote.com/comment/8273

SFCRET85
4998
Points
SFCRET85 02/14/13 - 02:30 pm
1
1
Geez, seems is there a person
Unpublished

Geez, seems there are people on this thread who didn't get a Valentines day card today and has taken it over out of poorness in spirit.

There has been an awful attempt at incitement on this thread today and I wonder why the decent folks at the Chronicle haven't put a stop tp it.

Oh, that's right, they started it.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:28 pm
4
9
Again...2 thumbs down for
Unpublished

Again...2 thumbs down for posting proof of what I said. I'll never understand the trolls.

myfather15
57371
Points
myfather15 02/14/13 - 02:29 pm
6
8
Don't you just love the

Don't you just love the lengths leftists will go to APPEAR to win their arguments? Ever notice during a discussion like this, how many NEW accounts appear and start posting, giving the perception of dominating the argument. Making it APPEAR we are getting our "butts kicked". What's that old saying; Perception is reality?

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:31 pm
6
8
Yeah, myfather....and
Unpublished

Yeah, myfather....and persistence won again.

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 02/14/13 - 02:36 pm
7
2
You know...

the older I get, the more I realize that there are are some simple truths:

1. You can't escape death or taxes (well, I think you can escape taxes if you're a politician...)
2. You have to agree to disagree

It has been my experience that there is absolutely NOTHING you can say that will change a person's perspective on something once they have made their mind up on it.

You can't argue about the morality of something when the opposing side doesn't share the same morals -it's futile.

You can't argue about the religious aspect of something when the opposing side isn't religious or doesn't share the same religious views- it's futile.

You can't have a battle of wits with an unarmed person....it's futile.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:37 pm
4
8
redhead...you are right.
Unpublished

redhead...you are right. Arguing morality is futile...but you would think you could argue logic with someone.

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 02/14/13 - 02:44 pm
5
5
Humble...

yeah, you'd think so - but sometimes trying to drive home the logic of something is like nailing pudding to the wall...

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 02:45 pm
4
6
"Don't you just love....

....the lengths leftists will go to APPEAR to win their arguments?"

Rarely does anybody "win" these kinds of discussions. In the end, the "winner" is the one/side who presents the most rational, logical, polite, coherent arguments supporting their side of the issue. I've probably seen a dozen, or so, "discussions" of this issue. Today's version, like all the others, wasn't "won" by those who rush to claim "victory."

nanowerx
1436
Points
nanowerx 02/14/13 - 02:46 pm
8
5
.

I find it hilarious that somebody disagreeing with you is automatically labeled a 'leftist.' I am a Registered Republican and very fiscally conservative, I just believe in human rights. I know, hard concept to swallow, right?! I am just as righteous against Obamas push to remove due process and 2nd amendment rights as I am for giving basic human rights and understanding to everybody (gay, straight, transgender, black, white, mexican, etc.). I must be some kind of monster!

TylerGalles
46
Points
TylerGalles 02/14/13 - 02:53 pm
7
2
The Texas law was struck down

The Texas law was struck down in 2003 per Supreme court: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrence_v._Texas

Per Webster, Bigot = a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially one who regards or treats the members of a group with hatred and intolerance.

Those are facts, anti-gay is being a bigot. Being intolerant toward a group.

I was an eagle scout. I went through scouting to grow as a person and American, not to prowl on anyone. Being gay is not a "lifestyle", it's about who you fall in love with and desire to form relationships with. You can be gay and never have sex, but still not be allowed in BSA.

I am a conservative. My "agenda" is have life, liberty and pursuit of happiness. I do not want folks to know about my sex life, but I would like to be able to protect and care for my family, including my partner. Seeking the right to care for myself and my family is not pushes my sex life in anyone's face.

Being a boy scout was one of the best experiences of my life. It should be an experience open to all gay youth, and leaders who happen to be gay. This has nothing to do with sex or political power.. seriously, that is ridiculous.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:57 pm
4
9
Congrats nanowerx....have you
Unpublished

Congrats nanowerx....have you found "separation of church and state" in the constitution yet?

new
Judging by the "thumbs down" I guess not.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 02:57 pm
4
8
"I find it hilarious that
Unpublished

"I find it hilarious that somebody disagreeing with you is automatically labeled a 'leftist.'"

Just like when someone who disagrees with you is a "hater" or "phobic." I know how you feel.

kmb413
533
Points
kmb413 02/14/13 - 03:02 pm
8
2
Leviticus 20

If a man lies with another man he shall be stoned. After the last election, legalizing of marajuana and gay marriage, I believe we have misinterpreted this scripture.

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 03:04 pm
4
7
"I am a Registered Republican and very fiscally conservative...

.... I am a Registered Republican and very fiscally conservative, I just believe in human rights."

One of the interesting things about this venue is that you can be whatever you want to be.

Another interesting thing is that your posting history is available for review so others can make their own assessment your claims as regards your political philosophy.

Your comment seems to suggest your being a "Registered Republican" AND a person who "believe(s) in human rights" puts you at odds with other "Registered Republicans." I doubt most other "Registered Republicans" would agree.

" I know, hard concept to swallow, right?!"

Would you consider rephrasing that, I mean in view of the topic being addressed here?

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 02/14/13 - 03:04 pm
5
1
kmb413

heh heh! I have to say, this one made me chuckle....good one!

myfather15
57371
Points
myfather15 02/14/13 - 03:06 pm
5
6
@Harley

I agree with you, but THEY were the ones saying Angela was getting her "Butt kicked", I didn't say it. I realize neither side really wins, but they sure love to cause the perception of dominating the discussion. Making us appear to be the minority in the discussion, when the truth is the opposite.

nanowerx
1436
Points
nanowerx 02/14/13 - 03:13 pm
6
7
.

'humble,' I am bigot-phobic, yes, just like you are homophobic. And I have already posted pointing to the separation of church and state indicated in the first amendment twice already, backed by the US Supreme Court, I refuse to do it anymore. This country was founded on religious tolerance for all religions and creeds, nothing guarantees that your religion is right or what everybody needs to go by, hence the separation of church and state. It isn't a war on your religion, it is in place so your religious beliefs cant dictate laws that affect others who don't share your religious beliefs. Welcome to America, deal with it. If you aren't fond of how our country works, then you are welcome to goto places like Syria or Pakistan where the religion rules the government and women can be stoned to death for showing skin or even being raped...

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 03:09 pm
8
7
I thought I was holding my
Unpublished

I thought I was holding my own quite well.....just my opinion. Honestly having owensfef say I was getting kicked doesn't hold much sting. Consider the source.

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 02/14/13 - 03:09 pm
9
2
thumb trolls

Not that I'll lie awake tonight pondering it...but I'm curious how my 2:44 post could have offended anyone...unless it was because I had the audacity to agree with Humble on something.. OH THE HORROR!

myfather15
57371
Points
myfather15 02/14/13 - 03:10 pm
6
4
@Red headed

So, what are we supposed to do? Sit on our behinds and let them run over us? I agree, there usually isn't a clear winner, but we MUST voice our opinions. The left would LOVE to shut us up, but we must continue the good "fight", using rational logic and common sense. Now, I realize many of us go to far with the argument, including myself. But I WILL continue to voice opposition to the agenda being passed in this Country.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 03:15 pm
7
7
Nanowerx
Unpublished

I am far from homophobic. Homophobic means a fear of homosexuals. I have no such fear. Your typical tactic of simply calling someone a name and hoping it sticks isn't going to work.

And you never showed me "separation of church and state" in the Constitution, because those words are never stated in the constitution......no matter how many times you say they are.

As far as my religions beliefs....I never stated any of my religious beliefs. It appears YOU are trying to put words in MY mouth now. Or were you automatically assuming that someone who disapproves of homosexuality MUST be religious? Sounds like when you laugh at people assuming you are a leftist. As I said....I know how you feel.

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 03:18 pm
6
3
"unless it was because....

....I had the audacity to agree with Humble on something"

A Mortal Sin in a discussion like this.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 02/14/13 - 03:20 pm
5
7
So it appears, harley. Those
Unpublished

So it appears, harley. Those who have a hard time with logic, DO hate me so.

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 03:22 pm
6
3
"I agree with you, but THEY were the ones....

....saying Angela was getting her "Butt kicked", I didn't say it."

Yes, I know. I was really just trying to support your conclusion.

Sorry my post gave another impression.

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 03:25 pm
5
3
"Those who have a hard time with logic, DO hate me so."

Yes, I know. Such kind, reasonable, good humored people are they.

If it's any comfort, I feel your pain.

harley_52
26146
Points
harley_52 02/14/13 - 03:34 pm
5
4
Red Headed Step Child....

your 2:36 PM post is dead on....

Red Headed Step Child
4496
Points
Red Headed Step Child 02/14/13 - 03:36 pm
7
0
@myfather15

Absolutely not! I think everyone should voice their opinions and stand firm with their convictions. I know I do. The intent of my post was to say, in my opinion and experience, that you can argue your point until you are blue in the face, and it won't change that person's opinion or convictions. I'm sure there are exceptions to every rule, but think about it - on this particular topic (homosexuality), are you apt to change your mind and convictions based on the other side's arguments? I mean look back at all the posts back and forth - NO ONE was going to budge from their stance and change their mind / opinion...That's all I was trying to say....

TylerGalles
46
Points
TylerGalles 02/14/13 - 03:42 pm
8
2
church and state

The phrase "separation of church and state" is derived from a letter written by President Thomas Jefferson in 1802 to Baptists.

In that letter, referencing the First Amendment to the United States Constitution, Jefferson writes:
Believing with you that religion is a matter which lies solely between Man & his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legitimate powers of government reach actions only, & not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should "make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof", thus building a wall of separation between Church & State

Back to Top
loading...
Search Augusta jobs