Augusta has come long way, but has much longer to go, in acceptance of LGBTs

  • Follow Letters

The negative stigma surrounding the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered community and all who support it gives understandable reason as to why people would have foul opinions.

The reason people have this negative stigma is because people have ignorantly formed opinions based upon fallacies. Overall, it hinders our community from becoming well-rounded and accepting, as well as supportive toward the LGBT citizens of our city.

The Augusta Pride festival showed just how far Augusta has come in a few short years, but after the festival is over, the LGBT community does not leave with it. They are all still here and trying to live their lives. The gay-bashing frequently found in many local publications show Augusta’s true colors on their view of the LGBT community.

One thing people frequently forget are the children and teens who are coming to terms with who they are. If you take time to realize the hatred and bigotry thrown at these teens, it does not take very long to understand why practically none of them has the desire to stay local. Augusta is not a city where people can be themselves without fear of judgment and garnering hate. This is absurd.

Augusta is the second-largest city in Georgia, often dubbed “Little Atlanta,” and there is such frequent chastising of the LGBT community by citizens of Augusta that the view is almost completely backward. Why are people so demeaning toward what they do not know or understand?

Everyone should stop looking at the things they think are “immoral” or “wrong,” and focus upon themselves. The “gay agenda” is strictly to get the rights they think they deserve.

Samuel Wilson

Evans

Comments (12) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
specsta
6775
Points
specsta 08/05/12 - 12:36 am
2
6
Well said

Great letter, Mr. Wilson...

InChristLove
22481
Points
InChristLove 08/05/12 - 07:22 am
6
3
"Augusta is the

"Augusta is the second-largest city in Georgia, often dubbed “Little Atlanta,” and there is such frequent chastising of the LGBT community by citizens of Augusta that the view is almost completely backward"

Althought Atlanta I'm sure has some wonderful qualities, personally I don't want Augusta to become like Atlanta. "view is almost completely backward", well who's to say that Augusta has the right view and Atlanta is the one completely backward. Guess it depends on which view you have,

and "Everyone should stop looking at the things they think are “immoral” or “wrong,”

This is the exact reason why our society's morals are in the tank today. When we stop looking at what is right and wrong and fail to speak up when we see the wrong, soon the wrong appears to be right and the right appears to be wrong.

jic
352
Points
jic 08/05/12 - 07:33 am
4
7
Atlanta is a world-class
Unpublished

Atlanta is a world-class city, light-years ahead of this civil war era pea-patch. Augusta will never be an Atlanta until it is willing to look beyond its county lines and make a sincere effort to understand what the rest of the world knows and accepts about science and diversity. And a newspaper that proclaims itself a "Christian" rag will never advance citizens beyond righteous scapegoating of anything other than its fat, white, male, heterosexual citizens.

InChristLove
22481
Points
InChristLove 08/05/12 - 07:48 am
5
0
Well I guess that's just your

Well I guess that's just your opinion jic. Thank you for expressing it. Other's may differ with you on it but then they have a right to their opinion also.

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 08/05/12 - 09:18 am
9
3
* ignorantly formed opinions

* ignorantly formed opinions based upon fallacies
* Augusta’s true colors
* gay-bashing
* hatred and bigotry
* fear of judgment and garnering hate
* demeaning
* civil war era pea-patch
* righteous scapegoating
* fat, white, male, heterosexual citizens
* completely backward

Terms used, so far, to describe Augusta and her citizenry by individuals who claim to be seeking their understanding and acceptance.

jeff scott
151
Points
jeff scott 08/05/12 - 09:55 am
6
2
Yadda, yadda, yadda....

This SW letter, this precise letter, has been written again and again and again. Same tired themes, same effort to marginalized the "bad, white, phobics" I'm done being lectured to and denigrated by people who think they know me. Hypocrits! I don't care about anyone else's sex life, but I do care about having it thrust into my face in an endless stream of alligator-teared compassion. Keep judging and labeling Mr. Wilson....sure! that's got to be the road towards understanding and cooperation....more likely - failure. There are more important things in life besides somebodies sexual sensibilities. Case closed!

jic.....MOVE! already.

impossible
124
Points
impossible 08/05/12 - 10:40 am
0
0
To Wilson and those who think
Unpublished

To Wilson and those who think his letter is right, I would ask to ponder the difference between homosexual sexual activity and heterosexual activity and explain it to the rest of us so that we can better understand it. One big difference is that the latter don't have to use toilet paper after expressing their "love." The dissenting Black ministers agree that homosexual "marriage" is not a civil right and protest against what amounts to 3% or less of the population usurping the authentic civil rights movement to their perverted ends.

nnaugusta
533
Points
nnaugusta 08/05/12 - 11:44 am
5
2
One major complaint I have is

One major complaint I have is being called a bigot just because I don't agree with the homosexuals. The homosexual communinty are quick to throw that word out no matter what. And all the name calling by the above original poster and jic....wow what representation of the homosexual community you give. Then...you ask why??? There is your answer!

burninater
9799
Points
burninater 08/05/12 - 12:17 pm
1
4
So, if I didn't think heteros

So, if I didn't think heteros should flaunt their sexuality in public, holding hands or kissing; if I didn't think heteros should legally be allowed to marry; that wouldn't make me a bigot ... Would it?

Nomaninthesky
347
Points
Nomaninthesky 08/05/12 - 12:46 pm
2
4
Great Letter

Thanks Samuel. It is true there is much more to do here in Augusta and I'm staying here to help our liberal agenda.

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 08/05/12 - 01:52 pm
5
1
Bigot

" that wouldn't make me a bigot ... Would it?"

In whose opinion....yours, or the heterosexuals?

In my opinion, it wouldn't necessarily make you a "bigot," it would make you "odd." Or maybe "weird." Some might even say "queer."

The overwhelming majority of American society is heterosexual. Most of them don't believe in long, passionate smooching in public, but heterosexuals holding hands is quite "normal."

Making the assertion that homosexuals holding hands and smooching in public is "normal" belies the facts. Homosexuals, who make up 3-5% of the population are, statistically, not "normal."

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 08/05/12 - 02:08 pm
6
2
Let Me Add...

....this.

Beyond the point I just made, there is the aspect of morality to be dealt with. Many, perhaps most, Americans consider homosexuality not just "abnormal" (which it is by definition), but also immoral and dangerous to society. That's the real problem to be dealt with by supporters of the homosexual agenda. Like it or not, you are unlikely to change most peoples' views on the morality issue by calling them insulting names and claiming they hold "ignorantly formed opinions based upon fallacies," that they live in a "civil war era pea-patch," that they are "completely backward," or that they are all "fat, white, male, heterosexual citizens" as some of your side have done just today.

crackertroy
540
Points
crackertroy 08/05/12 - 02:58 pm
4
2
????
Unpublished

"The gay-bashing frequently found in many local publications show Augusta’s true colors on their view of the LGBT community."

What gay-bashing? Please give specific examples. Does eating at Chick-Fil-A now constitute gay-bashing?

myfather15
55844
Points
myfather15 08/05/12 - 09:53 pm
4
1
They won't give specific

They won't give specific examples, thats the problem. They just lie to further their agenda. At least nomaninthesky admits to wanting to further their AGENDA. I haven't seen a single story in years of a hate-crime related to homosexuals, in the Augusta area. But, they just keep on blathering about people hating them. Yada, Yada, Yada. Same boring stuff every single time. They will never believe we have come to accept homosexuality, until they are allowed to do WHATEVER they want. It is not enough that we don't care what they do in their personal lives, we must give them specials rights because they consider themselves minorities.

JIC writes; "Augusta will never be an Atlanta until it is willing to look beyond its county lines and make a sincere effort to understand what the rest of the world knows and accepts about science and diversity"

jic; Would you please not ignore this comment and answer me one quetion about this quote above? What is it the "Rest of the world" knows and accepts? I can't imagine your talking about homosexuality and the legalization of gay marriage. Because EVERY STATE that has placed in on the ballot, gay marriage has lost by no less than 63% of the vote. How does that FACT prove your point?? Even liberal California voted over 70% against the legalization of gay marriage. Colorado was the lowest with 63%. So, what exactly is it the "Rest of the World" knows and accepts???????? When you ask liberals a question they can't answer, they usually just ignore it. I just want you to answer this, unless you know your just lying to further your agenda and DO NOT CARE to prove your point.

I'm quite sure there are homosexual teenagers that get teased, bullied and made fun of, that statement I would agree with. There are also overweight teens and kids that receive the same. Autistic children who receive the same. There has always been bullies in existence in society. Its seems to be a little more rampant now that it used to be. Any child with a disability nows days is very subject to get teased. Its sad because its the fault of the parents at home. I promise you, my child shall never teased anyone and if they do and I find out about it, they WILL NEVER want to do it again. The recent video of the teens in NY that were harassing the elderly school bus aide was just disgusting. But discipline starts at home and parents must teach their children to be better human beings.

My point is that you can't just say homosexuality is exclusively being bullied or teased just to further your point. Teens and children of all disablities are teased, and probably more than gays, at least a gay person who isn't disabled has the ability to defend themselves more fairly. A child doesn't choose to be born autistic or with down syndrome.

Bruno
780
Points
Bruno 08/14/12 - 05:24 pm
0
0
People don't have to accept

People don't have to accept anything that they disagree with. That is one of the nice things about this country.
(This is neither pro nor anti gay.)

Back to Top

Top headlines

Georgia Regents' hospital plan chosen

Georgia Regents Medical Center won a lengthy and hardfought battle over two other Augusta hospitals to build the first hospital in Columbia County, the Georgia Department of Community Health ...
Search Augusta jobs