Examine facts on Trayvon

  • Follow Letters

Speculation, manipulation, falsification and utter nonsense has been used to describe the situation that led to the death of 17-year-old Trayvon Martin at the hand of 28-year-old George Zimmerman. None of us saw it and we don’t know exactly what happen. However, with the known facts, certain things can be concluded.

Fact one: Trayvon committed no crime, though he was no angel, getting kicked from school for drug possession. Fact two: Trayvon was out loafing around when he should have been home – on punishment. Conclusion: Neither of these facts warrant a death penalty, but my parents would have given me the devil.

Fact three: Zimmerman is not a police officer, and had no authority to patrol with a loaded gun. Fact four: Zimmerman is not certified to profile, stereotype or stalk passersby. Fact five: Zimmerman pursued Trayvon even after police told him not to. Conclusion: Zimmerman clearly was the aggressor, and rightfully is charged with second-degree murder.

Fact six: Police did not test Zimmerman for drugs or alcohol. Fact seven: Police gave Zimmerman the benefit of the doubt, allowing him to go even after he admitted to shooting the teenager. Conclusion: Sanford police should have done a better job in this case.

Fact eight: The neighborhood housing association that once embraced Zimmerman is now indicating that he was self-appointed – in case a lawsuit follows. Fact nine: Trayvon’s girlfriend heard something and failed to call anyone. Conclusion: The housing association should be implicated, and the girlfriend needs to hush.

A thorough investigation is under way and everyone else should back off. The feds should scrutinize Sanford police and Florida’s “stand your ground” law. It may be quicksand.

Tunk Martin

Edgefield, S.C.

Comments (123) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Pu239
284
Points
Pu239 04/24/12 - 10:42 pm
0
0
Some facts appear to be
Unpublished

Some facts appear to be missing....how Zimmerman's nose got broken?
Head got bloodied? It would seem that the LTE writer has appointed himself the keeper of of the facts.....
But there is no need for facts to get in the way of a good story right?

Andybinga
1
Points
Andybinga 04/24/12 - 10:48 pm
10
6
Fact one: Not a fact.

Fact one: Not a fact. Zimmerman had injuries and witnesses seen Trayvon on top of him hitting him. Assault and battery is a crime.

Fact two: Not a fact. You don't know what Trayvon was doing.

Fact three: Not a fact. Zimmerman has a CCW and he was allowed to carry a concealed gun. He was not "patrolling", he was headed to Target and he seen someone acting odd so he called the police and he seen where he was headed.

Fact four: Not a fact. According to the police investigator at the bond hearing they can not prove that Zimmerman continuously followed him. Furthermore, I think it is bizarre of you to suggest that people can be certified to stalk.

Fact five: Not a fact. A dispatcher can not give a lawful order. However, Zimmerman did stop following at that point. Once again the police investigator stated that There was no proof that Zimmerman continued to follow Zimmerman. Furtermore, Gilbreath, the investigator, stated that there is no proof that Zimmerman was the aggressor.

Fact six: Not a fact. Zimmerman was never arrested so the police could not make him take a drug or alcohol test.

Fact seven: Not a fact. You are innocent until proven guilty and the police could not prove guilt. In America we don't arrest people without valid charges.

Fact eight: If Zimmerman is found to be covered by the Stand your Ground law he can not be sued.

Fact nine: Not a fact. Daisha Mitchell was not Trayvon's girlfriend. If she testifies Mr. Crump will be disbarred because he has been feeding her info.

You know nothing about this case. Harvard Law School professor Alan Dershowitz believes the prosecution team in the George Zimmerman case should be investigated to see if they committed a criminal act.

Cdr4500
20
Points
Cdr4500 04/24/12 - 11:20 pm
7
7
If Zimmerman doesn't go to
Unpublished

If Zimmerman doesn't go to jail, he needs to go to a mental hospital. Calling 911 50+ times a year and paranoid about people just walking down the sidewalk. Has this guy ever been drug tested? Sounds like meth abuse or ol' fashion crazy.

Cdr4500
20
Points
Cdr4500 04/24/12 - 11:25 pm
10
7
Let me understand this. A
Unpublished

Let me understand this. A hero in his own mind, not law enforcement, decided to follow an unarmed law abiding citizen not because he observed him committing a crime but because he looked suspicious. The unarmed citizen runs, not because he did something wrong but because he has no idea why he's being followed and wanted to avoid a confrontation and feared for his safety. The unarmed citizen is caught and stands his ground against an unknown wanna be hero, not law enforcement, just another guy dude AND is killed. The unknown wanna be hero, not law enforcement dude claims self defense, he was only standing his ground after chasing the unarmed citizen with a gun.
Key Questions: Who's the aggressor? Is it called Neighborhood Watch or Neighborhood KILLER? Is the only law broken the death of this young man? Did the wanna be hero, not law enforcement dude get any training on the use of deadly force.....Exactly? Should law enforcement be left to trained accountable professionals. Why is this complicated? What if Trayvon Martin was White? Oh, the wanna be hero, not law enforcement dude with a gun is asked by trained law enforcement professionals to stop because it wasn't safe. Guess our hero should have let them know he had a gun.

faithson
4783
Points
faithson 04/24/12 - 11:38 pm
8
6
Zimmerman got out of his

Zimmerman got out of his car... a FACT that is not in dispute. Would he have gotten out of his car had he not been 'packing' is also relevant. What was his basis for his authority to question ANYONE ! His CCW ?

AutumnLeaves
5939
Points
AutumnLeaves 04/24/12 - 11:41 pm
20
0
The only fact I recognize in

The only fact I recognize in the Martin/Zimmerman case is that I don't know what happened. Let the legal system handle it. The court of public opinion and the media are not capable of sorting this out.

Andybinga
1
Points
Andybinga 04/25/12 - 12:00 am
6
0
Get you facts straight. He

Get you facts straight. He called 911 a total of 46 times since the year 2004. Here is a link for EVERYONE of his 911 calls:

http://www.wagist.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/911CallHistory.pdf

Andybinga
1
Points
Andybinga 04/25/12 - 12:04 am
7
5
Your post is even more

Your post is even more pitiful as you spout disinformation. Do yourself a favor and educate yourself about the case. Legal experts are saying that their is no case against Zimmerman.

Because the lynching mob caused Zimmerman to be arrested he will be able to file a suit for false arrest after he gets immunity from the Stand Your Ground hearing.

http://www.examiner.com/article/dershowitz-believes-zimmerman-prosecutor...

Retired Army
17512
Points
Retired Army 04/25/12 - 12:11 am
9
9
One more time for the slow

One more time for the slow learners. If the races of the two had been reversed is there any doubt in any reasonable human beings mind how fast Zimmerman's Cowboy butt would have been locked up. Anyone at all?

Zimmerman would never under any circumstance got out of his car and confronted a 17 year old black kid had he not been packing. You know that to be true. Had Zimmerman simply taken the undisputed advice of the police Trayvon Martin would most likely be a slightly P.Od' LIVE black kid today. The cops took Zimmerman seriously. They arrived on the scene of the crime in less than 3 minutes. And within an hour managed to horribly screw up an open and shut case of unauthorized aggression that led to the death of a young man who's only crime was being there. That in my book is murder, to what degree I am not sure, but murder nonetheless.

It's obvious to me that if I am approached in the dark at a place where I have every right to be and I am questioned because of my dress/manner/skin color who the real aggressor is.

Andybinga
1
Points
Andybinga 04/25/12 - 12:25 am
5
2
For the really slow learners

For the really slow learners on here I present a case where a black man killed a unarmed Hispanic man with a gun in Phoenix and he has not been arrested.

http://nation.foxnews.com/daniel-adkins/2012/04/09/black-male-shoots-una...

Andybinga
1
Points
Andybinga 04/25/12 - 12:31 am
4
2
Here is a link to some

Here is a link to some comments by legal experts who say this case will be dismissed:

http://www.startribune.com/opinion/commentaries/148756895.html

GaStang22
910
Points
GaStang22 04/25/12 - 01:35 am
1
0
Tunk, cdr and Retired
Unpublished

Tunk, cdr and Retired army..... a 911 dispatcher is NOT a policeman or a trained law enforcement professional!!!!

As usual...what you call "facts"....are just plain wrong!!

GaStang22
910
Points
GaStang22 04/25/12 - 01:54 am
1
0
Wonder why "tunks" racist
Unpublished

Wonder why "tunks" racist letters under the other profile are gone?? Did he delete it so he could scam some people who do not know he is racist into thinking he is writing an unbias article about this case? Trying to start over and not include something racist in every single letter? Why are you hiding the real you?? What a joke!!!

specsta
6073
Points
specsta 04/25/12 - 02:30 am
7
8
The fact is that Zimmerman

The fact is that Zimmerman murdered an unarmed 17-year-old who had done absolutely nothing wrong. The fact is that the Sanford police completely bungled the investigation. The fact is that an innocent child is gone because he was the wrong color and wearing the wrong clothes in the eyes of a racist with a gun.

debbiep38
378
Points
debbiep38 04/25/12 - 02:33 am
0
0
RA, got a "cowboy" phobia?
Unpublished

RA, got a "cowboy" phobia? "Races reversed". Do you mean if a black had killed a hispanic? So if the hispanic had have been in his "right mind" he would have realized his butt would've gotten beat up?Yes, we all know everything you said is true, even us "slow learners". After all you witnessed everything. Correct?

debbiep38
378
Points
debbiep38 04/25/12 - 02:35 am
0
0
ACES, isn't "slow learners"
Unpublished

ACES, isn't "slow learners" hateful?

debbiep38
378
Points
debbiep38 04/25/12 - 02:37 am
0
0
So you were on the scene
Unpublished

So you were on the scene also, Specsta?

debbiep38
378
Points
debbiep38 04/25/12 - 02:40 am
0
0
Poor Tunk, must've been one
Unpublished

Poor Tunk, must've been one of Strom Thurmond's whipping boys.

debbiep38
378
Points
debbiep38 04/25/12 - 02:46 am
0
0
Specsta, beware of those
Unpublished

Specsta, beware of those "racists with guns" 'cause you know they wreak so much havoc in the CSRA. After all we see their pictures in the AC everyday.

GaStang22
910
Points
GaStang22 04/25/12 - 02:51 am
0
0
No, that is your opinion, not
Unpublished

No, that is your opinion, not fact. The shooting aside, You have no idea if he was innocent or had done absolutely nothing wrong. He may have absolutely been doing something wrong. Not deserve death for it, but none the less...you don't know what he did!! And look at the maps and call times. He had way more than enough time to go home, why didn't he? Attitude going to confront the old dude following him? If he did in fact double back and ambush...he DID do something wrong.

The only real fact is, none of us, including you, know all the true and accurate details of what happened. Just as I suspect he doubled back but can't say it is a fact, you "suspect" he did nothing wrong and was completely innocent, but can't say it is fact.

desertcat6
1140
Points
desertcat6 04/25/12 - 03:18 am
9
2
Specta, your 1st fact has not

Specta, your 1st fact has not been established in a court of law. Therefor, it is your opinion. 2d fact is also an opinion right now. 3d fact is inaccurate and filled with words that inflame emotions. Yes, a young man died and he was killed with a gun. Beyond that, you have your opinion based on what you read or seen in the media.

Just My Opinion
5259
Points
Just My Opinion 04/25/12 - 04:52 am
6
3
I love the way the folks on

I love the way the folks on here are posting verifiable and valid facts in Zimmerman's defense and other folks are posting opinions and innuendoes in Martin's defense! Opinions and innuendoes do NOT win court cases. If Mr. Zimmerman isn't cleared, it will only be because of political pressure. Bottom line, a young man is dead and that's a sad thing...sadder still that politics and those with an agenda had to become involved.

carcraft
24041
Points
carcraft 04/25/12 - 05:45 am
4
2
Here is another strange stand

Here is another strange stand your ground case with similarities to the Martin shooting. Note that a black man used the stand your ground defense and prevailed. http://www.ksdk.com/news/world/article/311679/28/Widow-says-Floridas-Sta... Now I am not sure of the race of he persn that was shot. So please get the notion that stand your ground has only been used by white people. Lets just look at what is known and if you draw conclusions call them that and not "facts" such as if so and so were this color or that!

carcraft
24041
Points
carcraft 04/25/12 - 05:50 am
4
1
I looked it up, the victim of

I looked it up, the victim of the shooting was white. If the shooter hadn't had a gun, would he have left his house to confront James? Why did the shooter leave his house? Did it make any sense to leave his house and shoot James? Was the shooter racially motivated? Need I go on? Because I really don't know! So yes a blackman can shoot a white person and use the stand your ground law as a defense and prevail all you race baiters!!!!!!!

peace4784
111
Points
peace4784 04/25/12 - 06:01 am
0
0
Fact - The shooter is a punk.
Unpublished

Fact - The shooter is a punk. If that happened to my child the shooter would have given up the ghost. The victim's father is a coward. A normal parent would have at least tried to avenge his childs murder. Parents who allow their children to be molested, raped, and murdered without at least attempting to deal with the molester, rapist, or murderer are plain cowards. Had Trayvon's father done what a father is supposed to do all this BS would not be occuring.

desertcat6
1140
Points
desertcat6 04/25/12 - 06:30 am
3
1
carcraft, read it and agree.

carcraft, read it and agree. Very similar cases. The article doesn't say if the shooter was arrested and what he was charged with to get to court. Not sure what the procedure is, but do you have to prove "stand your ground" in court or do the police/prosecuter decide?

carcraft
24041
Points
carcraft 04/25/12 - 06:55 am
5
2
desertcat- I don't know, and

desertcat- I don't know, and I am really not going to speculate. This garbage has gotten out of hand. I think ACES should have not published this letter, it is factually inaccurate and has racial overtones.

Bizkit
29123
Points
Bizkit 04/25/12 - 07:05 am
5
2
The real crime is how the

The real crime is how the media has manipulated this to such political and emotional heights. You really have to wonder with all the violent crimes in this country -why this? The media has tainted this case, and as I said from the get go Zimmerman will walk because of this interference. But I believe that is exactly what MSNBC wants to do is instigate race riots.

Bizkit
29123
Points
Bizkit 04/25/12 - 07:25 am
5
1
It seems you will be labeled

It seems you will be labeled a racist if you support Zimmerman or Martin. Fits well. Let the system do its job rather than armchair analysis with questionable information. Cart before the horse. NO protest should have ocurred till the system had processed this case-it often takes months for arrest, then longer for trials.

Bizkit
29123
Points
Bizkit 04/25/12 - 07:33 am
6
2
The real racism is the

The real racism is the instant conviction of the "white" Zimmerman (he is as white as our president) because the victim was black. African-americans statistically because of socioeconomic and education factors display a disproportionate amount of racism as a population. I remember hearing a young black man state he couldn't be racist because he is black. Say what?????

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs