Klan misuses Confederate flag horribly

  • Follow Letters

I need to ask letter writer Allen Smith ("Where are Confederate flag's defenders?" Nov. 3) a question: Would you have been at the Augusta State University protest if Confederate supporters came? No -- because it is much easier to remain in the comforts of home, while lambasting those for not doing what you are not willing to do yourself.

I watched the news and I observed a Christian flag being flown by the Ku Klux Klan. Why did you not decry the local churches for the Klan using the Christian flag as you did the Sons of Confederate Veterans and the United Daughters of the Confederacy? The official flag of the Klan is the U.S. flag. Why do you not decry the Veterans of Foreign Wars for the misuse of the U.S. flag?

Augusta Chronicle Staff Writer Adam Folk interviewed me the morning before the protest. His article was published on the front page of the Oct. 23 Metro section, titled "Confederate group will not protest at Augusta State." I told Adam that we will not join the protest because of concerns of being mistaken for supporting the Klan instead of protesting them.

The media have and will manipulate their pictures and video to make it look like we are there in support of the Klan. I told Adam: "Our intention was to counter protest the Klan for their use of the Confederate flag and the hateful way they use it. They've basically hijacked a flag of honor and are using it for their hateful purposes and that is wrong."

Hear me loud and clear again: Even though the Klan has a First Amendment right to use whichever flag they choose, I demand that they stop using and abusing the Confederate flag in any way, shape or form! The Confederate flag does not belong to them! It belongs to the Confederate veterans themselves.

Lee Herron

North Augusta, S.C.

(The writer is commander of Brig. Gen. E. Porter Alexander Post 158 of the Sons of Confederate Veterans.)

Comments (19) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 11/05/10 - 02:18 am
0
0
Mr. Herron, while I agree

Mr. Herron, while I agree with you for the most part...and I absolutely detest the existence of the Klan...the Klan has as much, if not more right to claim the Confederate Flag, than do the current day Sons of Confederate Veterans.

For the enlightenment of the readers I would point out the following: The first Klan was founded in 1865 in Pulaski, Tennessee by veterans of the Confederate Army. Former slave trader and Confederate General Nathan Bedford Forrest was at one time the Grand Wizard, the Klan's national leader. Who else, what other group, would have a “first right claim” to the flag?

However, since the original Klan became defunct, there were 2 other active Klan organizations (one in the 1920‘s, and the other in the 1960‘s), and their claim to the flag may be more appropriately challenged. However, their right to the flag may still be as valid as yours.

Having written the above…and while I repeat my detestation of the Klan…I’ll still fly my Confederate flag in honor of the Geographical South.

GGpap 11/5/10

MajorPaul
0
Points
MajorPaul 11/05/10 - 05:57 am
0
0
I repudiate the Klan, ad all

I repudiate the Klan, ad all the racist organizations like it. Included in that is the NAACP. They are every bit as racist as the Klan is, they just show it another way.
If the NAACP wants to remove the Cross of St. Andrew from public locations, they also need to push to have a few other things removed from the public, or else they prove they are just racists, and that bullying people over that flag is the way they promote their own racism.
They say we Southerners need to put our flag away since the Klan uses it. If they truly believed that, they would remove all the crosses from their churches first. The Klan never burned a Cross of St. Andrew in anyone's yard. And they need to get rid of the good old stars and stripes because the Klan uses that too, and it is also the flag that had them in slavery for so long.
But the NAACP only cares about its own agenda, and has no idea about the symbols they moan and groan so loudly about.
Speaking of which, since they did not raise a hue and cry about racism concerning the movie, For Colored Girls, I guess colored must be PC again.

Soap Crates
0
Points
Soap Crates 11/05/10 - 10:47 am
0
0
Yeah! And since they're all

Yeah! And since they're all dead we're going to put it in the back corner of the museum where it and all other relics of bygone days belong. Yeah!

confederatelady319
0
Points
confederatelady319 11/05/10 - 11:56 am
0
0
Soap Crates-I'll just advise

Soap Crates-I'll just advise you now,as long there is a South our flag will always fly and never be put in a corner.Don't like the South you are free to leave at anytime.

paulbaughman28
215
Points
paulbaughman28 11/05/10 - 12:02 pm
0
0
Dear Klan, Please stop

Dear Klan,
Please stop tainting my heritage with stupidity. Find your own symbols that do not represent a majority of people that do not believe in your "causes." Yes, I understand that it is your right to do so, however, you make the rest of us look crazy. Also, I like it better when you voice your opinions reasonably instead of yelling racial slurs all the time. If you have changed your views, as some klaverns say you have, please, for the love of all that is holy, furl up the banner and name of the KKK and reorginize as a different group. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Everybody that's not in the Klan

Little Lamb
47263
Points
Little Lamb 11/05/10 - 12:15 pm
0
0
Paul Baughman wrote: Find you

Paul Baughman wrote:

Find you own symbols . . . .

That got me to thinking. Do you remember when the truant officers' cars in Richmond County used to have RCBOE Police on them? Well, under leadership of new head truant officer Richard Roundtree, the patrol cars now have new lettering on them. They now say R.C.S.S. Police. Don't you think it is unwise of Roundtree to use Nazi stormtrooper symbolism on his patrol cars?

ameliaf
0
Points
ameliaf 11/05/10 - 01:03 pm
0
0
"The Confederate flag does

"The Confederate flag does not belong to them! It belongs to the Confederate veterans themselves."

Well, very true. And they are all dead, including my great-grandfather.

And since they are all dead, no one has the "right" to fly that flag. Let it die.

SylviasDaddy
0
Points
SylviasDaddy 11/05/10 - 02:10 pm
0
0
@GGpap and ameliaf: The flag

@GGpap and ameliaf:

The flag that we know as the Confederate Battle Flag was used by many (but by no means all) Confederate military units during the War for Southern Independence (1861-1865). It was their flag, and they alone had the right to interpret its meaning.

When the War was over, the Confederate soldiers became Confederate veterans. They formed an organization known as the United Confederate Veterans. The Confederate Battle Flag was still their Flag, and they alone had the right to interpret its meaning.

In 1896, since many of the Confederate veterans were aged, infirm, and dying off, the Sons of Confederate Veterans was formed as the successor organization to the United Confederate Veterans. The legacy and authority of the United Confederate Veterans was transferred to them over the next ten years. This transfer of power culminated in a speech given 25 April 1906 at New Orleans, Louisiana by Stephen Dill Lee, Confederate lieutenant-general, and commander-in-chief of the United Confederate Veterans:

"To you, Sons of Confederate Veterans, we will commit the vindication of the cause for which we fought. To your strength will be given the defense of the Confederate soldier's good name, the guardianship of his history, the emulation of his virtues, the perpetuation of those principles which he loved and which you love also, and those ideals which made him glorious and which you also cherish. Are you also ready to die for your country? Is your life worthy to be remembered along with theirs? Do you choose for yourself this greatness of soul?
Not in the clamor of the crowded street,
Not in the shouts and plaudits of the throng,
But in ourselves are triumph and defeat."

Since 25 April 1906, therefore, the Confederate Battle Flag has been the flag of the Sons of Confederate Veterans. They alone have the right to interpret its meaning. They have interpreted its meaning, and explained (repeatedly!) that meaning – and it is not hatred, nor is it bigotry.

The Confederate Battle Flag is not the flag of the Kluxers and other malcontents of their ilk.

cparker
83
Points
cparker 11/05/10 - 02:53 pm
0
0
I do feel the Confederate

I do feel the Confederate flag gets a bad wrap because there are so many historical benefits. The problem is simple.... Racism matters to many and they associate the Confederate flag to their hatred of blacks. I wish there was a way to remove the KKK from using the Confederate flag. I have friends I served with in the military from Tennessee and Arkansas that were country rednecks and never in the KKK. I do want to say that the NAACP is not a racist organization. There are many whites that commit to the NAACP because it has defended minority and women's rights for years. This has always been their mission.

Dixie Cross Defender
0
Points
Dixie Cross Defender 11/05/10 - 03:27 pm
0
0
GGpad The problem with your

GGpad
The problem with your statement is that the first Klan created by former Confederates in Tennessee in 1866 NEVER USED THE CONFEDERATE FLAG after the war or for any of their actions while they were active.
In fact the first misuses of the battle flag by the KKK appeared in the late 1950s...prior to that, the first and only flag of the KKK was the flag of the United States of America.
They have no more right to one flag than they do to the other!

Cnfdcwby
0
Points
Cnfdcwby 11/05/10 - 03:47 pm
0
0
To GGap and others who stated

To GGap and others who stated the Klan has as much right to use the Confederate Battle Flag as anyone else, let me acquaint you with a little history.
No one doubts that the Battle Flag was the property of Confederate Veterans who fought under it. Indeed, the original Klan was composed mostly of Confederate Veterans, opposing the Carpetbag reconstruction government, even to the point of violence, if necessary.
By 1896 many of these veterans were deceased or elderly and they proposed a new organization to represent them and their deeds. The United Confederate Veterans created the Sons of Confederate Veterans to carry on their task of presenting the true history of the South. In 1906, the transition was complete and the torch was passed on to the Sons of Confederate Veterans who were given the duty to protect the names, reputations and symbols of these rapidly declining veterans.
Among their cherished symbols was the Battle Flag. It was given to the SCV by the very veterans who fought under it so no one but the SCV has to right to define its meaning or purpose.
By the modern Klan's usage it has mistakenly become identified with racism, and many are unable to recognize when it is being used in it's correct context.
The SCV is the only group who has the right to define its meaning and to object to any inappropriate usage.

Bud
Proud member of the SCV

JamesWking
0
Points
JamesWking 11/05/10 - 03:55 pm
0
0
Individuals, groups, and

Individuals, groups, and organizations who denounce the Confederate States of America, the Confederate flag, and the celebration of Confederate Memorial Day appear very ignorant, biased, and hypocritical. I assume most totally support the United States of America, the U.S.flag and U.S. Memorial day and they should.

In claiming that the Confederate flag represents slavery and racism they make no comparison to the U.S. flag (Stars & Stripes) and to the history of the United States of America. Slavery began in the North in Massachusetts. Soon after the Pilgrims landed they began enslaving the Pequot Indians. In 1641 Massachusetts was the first colony to legalize slavery by statute. The five states that imported slaves in the colonial era were Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, and New York. The slave trade was still in operation at the beginning of the War Between the States and the slave ship "Nightingale" was captured by Capt. John Julius Guthrie, who soon became a Confederate naval officer, on April 21, 1861. It was registered to the city of Boston, Massachusetts. Thus the slave trade in America was carried on under the U.S. flag and the flags of the Northern colonies and states with U.S. money. The U.S. flag flew over slavery for 90 years as compared to 4 for the Confederate flag. New York City had the second highest slave population in the U.S.

The U.S. flag flew over the genocide of the American Indians. Their land was taken without fair compensation and they died by the thousands from starvation and disease as they were herded onto reservations. It was the U.S. government that broke every treaty ever made with the Indians. The U.S. flag flew over the Trail Of Tears endured by the Cherokee.
The same Yankee psychopaths (Sherman, Sheridan, Custer, Hunter and others) that murdered, raped, stole, burned, and plundered the Confederate States of America under the U.S. flag did the same to American Indians after the "War of Yankee Aggression" against the South ended in 1865. Sherman is quoted as saying "The more Indians we can kill this year, the less will have to be killed next year, for the more I see of these Indians, the more convinced I am that they all have to be killed or be maintained as a species of paupers."
-- Union General William T. Sherman

The official flag of the KKK is the U.S. flag, not the Confederate flag. Indiana and Ohio in the 1920 era were the largest Klan states and all photographs of that era show them flying the U.S. flag. The U.S. flag flew over the concentration camp incarceration of loyal Japanese U.S. Citizens during World War II while some of their fathers and sons fought and died for the U.S. as American soldiers. The U.S. participated in the allied bombing of Dresden,Germany in World War II which was a population center and not involved in the war effort. Thousands of innocent children were burned alive. Finally the U.S. flag flies over a nation that has murdered an estimated 50 million babies by abortion.

Given these facts, which flag has flown over more human rights violations, the U.S. flag or the Confederate flag? Which flag is more associated with slavery ? Which flag has had more racist acts committed under it ? Clearly the answer is the U.S. flag. Both the United States of America and the Confederate States of America should be respected and honored for positive reasons and so should the flags of both nations.
It is blatant hypocrisy (either knowingly or through ignorance) to condemn the Confederate flag and at the same time support the U.S. flag-the "Stars and Stripes". Both have been abused and misused but the "Positive" far outweighs the "negative".
James W. King
Commander
Sons of Confederate Veterans Camp 141
Lt. Col. Thomas M. Nelson
Albany Georgia
jkingantiquearms@bellsouth.net

JamesWking
0
Points
JamesWking 11/05/10 - 04:05 pm
0
0
The Confederate flag

The Confederate flag represents Limited Constitutional Federal Government, States Rights, Resistance to Tyranny, and Christian Values and Principles. Thus it represents the same principles as the Betsy Ross U.S.flag--the principles America was founded upon. As America experiments with Globalism, Socialism, Secular Humanism, multiculturalism, and political correctness it is important for patriotic American's to fly the Confederate flag as a reminder of these basic principles. America has 2 choices--1.Reclaim our heritage or 2.we will eventually surrender our Constitution and Sovereignty to the New World Order--a Godless Socialist United Nations.
Many black Americans have been indoctrinated by Northern Liberal Marxist Socialists to view the Confederate flag as a symbol of racism and bigotry. They are being used and manipulated for political purposes to assist in the conversion of America to socialism and secular humanism. The infamous Communist Karl Marx said "A people separated from their heritage are easily persuaded". This is the real reason they want to destroy and ban Confederate heritage and symbols which are 180 degrees diametrically opposed to Socialism and Secular Humanism. The Communist Lenin coined the term "useful idiots". Many white liberals fit this category as well as Southern politicians who are helping destroy Confederate principles, heritage, and symbols.
White Southern Christians who fly the Confederate flag are not the enemy of responsible black Americans who are working to better themselves. It is true that KKK and other groups have misused, misrepresented, and abused the Confederate flag but this should not invalidate the true meaning of this honorable flag in the minds of educated knowledgeable Americans.
The Confederate flag represents the effort by the Southern states to preserve constitutional government. Lincoln was a dictator, tyrant, and despot who along with other Northern socialists broke the original constitution and bill of rights. These Northerners were the "Rebels" who changed America from a Constitutional Federal Republic to a Democracy with Socialist Leanings. The Confederate flag flies as the keystone, anchor, and guardian of the values and principles of Americas founding fathers.

JamesWking
0
Points
JamesWking 11/05/10 - 04:13 pm
0
0
The 10 Causes of the War

The 10 Causes of the War Between the States
or The One Cause of the Civil War-Northern Aggression

By James W. King

Historians have long debated the causes of the Civil War and the Southern perspective differs greatly from the Northern perspective. Based upon the study of original documents of the War Between The States (Civil War) era and facts and information published by Confederate Veterans, Confederate Chaplains, Southern writers and Southern Historians before, during, and after the war, I present the facts, opinions, and conclusions stated in the following article.

Technically the 10 causes listed are reasons for Southern secession. The only cause of the war was that the South was invaded and responded to Northern aggression.

I respectfully disagree with those who claim that the War Between the States was fought over slavery or that the abolition of slavery in the Revolutionary Era or early Federal period would have prevented war. It is my opinion that war was inevitable between the North and South due to complex political and cultural differences. The famous Englishman Winston Churchill stated that the war between the North and South was one of the most unpreventable wars in history. The Cause that the Confederate States of America fought for (1861-1865) was Southern Independence from the United States of America. Many parallels exist between the War for American Independence (1775-1783) and the War for Southern Independence (1861-1865).

There were 10 political causes of the war (causes of Southern Secession) ---one of which was slavery--- which was a scapegoat for all the differences that existed between the North and South. The Northern industrialists had wanted a war since about 1830 to get the South's resources (land-cotton-coal-timber-minerals) for pennies on the dollar. All wars are economic and are always between centralists and decentralists. The North would have found an excuse to invade the South even if slavery had never existed.

A war almost occurred during 1828-1832 over the tariff when South Carolina passed nullification laws. The U.S. congress had increased the tariff rate on imported products to 40% (known as the tariff of abominations in Southern States). This crisis had nothing to do with slavery. If slavery had never existed --period--or had been eliminated at the time the Declaration of Independence was written in 1776 or anytime prior to 1860 it is my opinion that there would still have been a war sooner or later.

On a human level there were 5 causes of the war--New England Greed-New England Radicals--New England Fanatics--New England Zealots--and New England Hypocrites. During "So Called Reconstruction" ( 1865-1877 ) the New England Industrialists got what they had really wanted for 40 years--THE SOUTH'S RESOURCES FOR PENNIES ON THE DOLLAR.
It was a political coalition between the New England economic interests and the New England fanatics and zealots that caused Southern secession to be necessary for economic survival and safety of the population.

1. TARIFF

Prior to the war about 75% of the money to operate the Federal Government was derived from the Southern States via an unfair sectional tariff on imported goods and 50% of the total 75% was from just 4 Southern states--Virginia-North Carolina--South Carolina and Georgia. Only 10%--20% of this tax money was being returned to the South. The Southern states were being treated as an agricultural colony of the North and bled dry. John Randolph of Virginia's remarks in opposition to the tariff of 1820 demonstrates that fact. The North claimed that they fought the war to preserve the Union but the New England Industrialists who were in control of the North were actually supporting preservation of the Union to maintain and increase revenue from the tariff. The industrialists wanted the South to pay for the industrialization of America at no expense to them. Revenue bills introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives prior to the War Between the States were biased, unfair and inflammatory to the South. Abraham Lincoln had promised the Northern industrialists that he would increase the tariff rate if he was elected president of the United States. Lincoln increased the rate to a level that exceeded even the "Tariff of Abominations" 40% rate that had so infuriated the South during the 1828-1832 eras (between 50 and 51% on iron goods). The election of a president that was Anti-Southern on all issues and politically associated with the New England industrialists, fanatics, and zealots brought about the Southern secession movement.

2. CENTRALIZATION VERSUS STATES RIGHTS

The United States of America was founded as a Constitutional Federal Republic in 1789 composed of a Limited Federal Government and Sovereign States. The North wanted to and did alter the form of Government this nation was founded upon. The Confederate States of America fought to preserve Constitutional Limited Federal Government as established by America's founding fathers who were primarily Southern Gentlemen from Virginia. Thus Confederate soldiers were fighting for rights that had been paid for in blood by their forefathers upon the battlefields of the American Revolution. Abraham Lincoln had a blatant disregard for The Constitution of the United States of America. His War of aggression Against the South changed America from a Constitutional Federal Republic to a Democracy ( with Socialist leanings ) and broke the original Constitution. The infamous Socialist Karl Marx sent Lincoln a letter of congratulations after his reelection in 1864. A considerable number of European Socialists came to America and fought for the Union (North).

3. CHRISTIANITY VERSUS SECULAR HUMANISM

The South believed in basic Christianity as presented in the Holy Bible. The North had many Secular Humanists (atheists, transcendentalists and non-Christians). Southerners were afraid of what kind of country America might become if the North had its way. Secular Humanism is the belief that there is no God and that man, science and government can solve all problems. This philosophy advocates human rather than religious values. Reference: Frank Conner's book "The South under Siege 1830-2000."

4. CULTURAL DIFFERENCES

Southerners and Northerners were of different Genetic Lineage's. Southerners were primarily of Western English (original Britons), Scottish, and Irish lineage (Celtic) whereas Northerners tended to be of Anglo-Saxon and Danish (Viking) extraction. The two cultures had been at war and at odds for over 1000 years before they arrived in America. Our ancient ancestors in Western England under King Arthur humbled the Saxon princes at the battle of Baden Hill (circa 497 AD --516 AD). The cultural differences that contributed to the War Between the States (1861-1865) had existed for 1500 years or more.

5. CONTROL OF WESTERN TERRITORIES

The North wanted to control Western States and Territories such as Kansas and Nebraska. New England formed Immigrant Aid Societies and sent settlers to these areas that were politically attached to the North. They passed laws against slavery that Southerners considered punitive. These political actions told Southerners they were not welcome in the new states and territories. It was all about control--slavery was a scapegoat.

6. NORTHERN INDUSTRIALISTS WANTED THE SOUTH'S RESOURCES

The Northern Industrialists wanted a war to use as an excuse to get the South's resources for pennies on the dollar. They began a campaign about 1830 that would influence the common people of the North and create enmity that would allow them to go to war against the South. These Northern Industrialists brought up a morality claim against the South alleging the evils of slavery. The Northern Hypocrites conveniently neglected to publicize the fact that 5 New England States (Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and New York ) were primarily responsible for the importation of most of the slaves from Africa to America. These states had both private and state owned fleets of ships.

7. SLANDER OF THE SOUTH BY NORTHERN NEWSPAPERS

This political cause ties in to the above listed efforts by New England Industrialists. Beginning about 1830 the Northern Newspapers began to slander the South. The Industrialists used this tool to indoctrinate the common people of the North. They used slavery as a scapegoat and brought the morality claim up to a feverish pitch. Southerners became tired of reading in the Northern Newspapers about what bad and evil people they were just because their neighbor down the road had a few slaves. This propaganda campaign created hostility between the ordinary citizens of the two regions and created the animosity necessary for war. The Northern Industrialists worked poor whites in the factories of the North under terrible conditions for 18 hours a day (including children). When the workers became old and infirm they were fired. It is a historical fact that during this era there were thousands of old people living homeless on the streets in the cities of the North. In the South a slave was cared for from birth to death. Also the diet and living conditions of Southern slaves was superior to that of most white Northern factory workers. Southerners deeply resented this New England hypocrisy and slander.

8. NEW ENGLANDERS ATTEMPTED TO INSTIGATE MASSIVE SLAVE REBELLIONS IN THE SOUTH

Abolitionists were a small but vocal and militant group in New England who demanded instant abolition of slavery in the South. These fanatics and zealots were calling for massive slave uprisings that would result in the murder of Southern men, women and children. Southerners were aware that such an uprising had occurred in Santa Domingo in the 1790 era and that the French (white) population had been massacred. The abolitionists published a terrorist manifesto and tried to smuggle 100,000 copies into the South showing slaves how to murder their masters at night. Then when John Brown raided Harpers Ferry, Virginia in 1859 the political situation became inflammatory. Prior to this event there had been more abolition societies in the South than in the North. Lincoln and most of the Republican Party (68 members of congress) had adopted a political platform in support of terrorist acts against the South. Some (allegedly including Lincoln) had contributed monetarily as supporters of John Brown's terrorist activities. Again slavery was used as a scapegoat for all differences that existed between the North and South.

9. SLAVERY

Indirectly slavery was a cause of the war. Most Southerners did not own slaves and would not have fought for the protection of slavery. However they believed that the North had no Constitutional right to free slaves held by citizens of Sovereign Southern States. Prior to the war there were five times as many abolition societies in the South as in the North. Virtually all educated Southerners were in favor of gradual emancipation of slaves. Gradual emancipation would have allowed the economy and labor system of the South to gradually adjust to a free paid labor system without economic collapse. Furthermore, since the New England States were responsible for the development of slavery in America, Southerners saw the morality claims by the North as blatant hypocrisy. The first state to legalize slavery had been Massachusetts in 1641 and this law was directed primarily at Indians. In colonial times the economic infrastructure of the port cities of the North was dependent upon the slave trade. The first slave ship in America, "THE DESIRE", was fitted out in Marblehead, Massachusetts. Further proof that Southerners were not fighting to preserve slavery is found in the diary of an officer in the Confederate Army of Northern Virginia. He stated that "he had never met a man in the Army of Northern Virginia that claimed he was fighting to preserve slavery". If the war had been over slavery, the composition of the politicians, officers, enlisted men, and even African Americans would have been different. Confederate General Robert E. Lee had freed his slaves (Custis Washington estate) prior to 1863 whereas Union General Grant's wife Julia did not free her slaves until after the war when forced to do so by the 13th amendment to the constitution. Grant even stated that if the abolitionists claimed he was fighting to free slaves that he would offer his services to the South. Mildred Lewis Rutherford (1852-1928) was for many years the historian for the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC). In her book Truths of History she stated that there were more slaveholders in the Union Army (315,000) than the Confederate Army (200,000). Statistics and estimates also show that about 300,000 blacks supported the Confederacy versus about 200,000 for the Union. Clearly the war would have been fought along different lines if it had been fought over slavery.
The famous English author Charles Dickens stated "the Northern onslaught upon Southern slavery is a specious piece of humbug designed to mask their desire for the economic control of the Southern states."

10. NORTHERN AGGRESSION AGAINST SOUTHERN STATES

Proof that Abraham Lincoln wanted war may be found in the manner he handled the Fort Sumter incident. Original correspondence between Lincoln and Naval Captain G.V.Fox shows proof that Lincoln acted with deceit and willfully provoked South Carolina into firing on the fort (A TARIFF COLLECTION FACILITY). It was politically important that the South be provoked into firing the first shot so that Lincoln could claim the Confederacy started the war. Additional proof that Lincoln wanted war is the fact that Lincoln refused to meet with a Confederate peace delegation. They remained in Washington for 30 days and returned to Richmond only after it became apparent that Lincoln wanted war and refused to meet and discuss a peace agreement. After setting up the Fort Sumter incident for the purpose of starting a war, Lincoln called for 75,000 troops to put down what he called a rebellion. He intended to march Union troops across Virginia and North Carolina to attack South Carolina. Virginia and North Carolina were not going to allow such an unconstitutional and criminal act of aggression against a sovereign sister Southern State. Lincoln's act of aggression caused the secession of the upper Southern States.

On April 17th 1861, Governor Letcher of Virginia sent this message to Washington DC: "I have only to say that the militia of Virginia will not be furnished to the powers of Washington for any such use or purpose as they have in view. Your object is to subjugate the Southern states and the requisition made upon me for such a object-an object in my judgement not within the purview of the constitution or the act of 1795, will not be complied with. You have chosen to inaugurate civil war; having done so we will meet you in a spirit as determined as the administration has exhibited toward the South."

The WAR BETWEEN THE STATES 1861-1865 occurred due to many complex causes and factors as enumerated above. Those who make claims that "the war was over slavery" or that if slavery had been abolished in 1776 when the Declaration of Independence was signed or in 1789 when The Constitution of the United States of America was signed, that war would not have occurred between North and South are being very simplistic in their views and opinions.

The following conversation between English ship Captain Hillyar and Capt. Raphael Semmes-Confederate Ship CSS Sumter (and after 1862 CSS Alabama) occurred during the war on August 5th, 1861. It is a summary from a well-educated Southerner who is stating his reasons for fighting. Captain Hillyar expressed surprised at Captain Semme's contention that the people of the South were "defending ourselves against robbers with knives at our throats", and asked for further clarification as to how this was so, the exchange below occurred. I especially was impressed with Semmes' assessment of Yankee motives - the creation of "Empire"!

Semmes: "Simply that the machinery of the Federal Government, under which we have lived, and which was designed for the common benefit, has been made the means of despoiling the South, to enrich the North", and I explained to him the workings of the iniquitous tariffs, under the operation of which the South had, in effect, been reduced to a dependent colonial condition, almost as abject as that of the Roman provinces, under their proconsuls; the only difference being, that smooth-faced hypocrisy had been added to robbery, inasmuch as we had been plundered under the forms of law"

Captain Hillyar: "All this is new to me", replied the captain. "I thought that your war had arisen out of the slavery question".

Semmes: "That is the common mistake of foreigners. The enemy has taken pains to impress foreign nations with this false view of the case. With the exception of a few honest zealots, the canting hypocritical Yankee cares as little for our slaves as he does for our draught animals. The war which he has been making upon slavery for the last 40 years is only an interlude, or by-play, to help on the main action of the drama, which is Empire; and it is a curious coincidence that it was commenced about the time the North began to rob the South by means of its tariffs. When a burglar designs to enter a dwelling for the purpose of robbery, he provides himself with the necessary implements. The slavery question was one of the implements employed to help on the robbery of the South. It strengthened the Northern party, and enabled them to get their tariffs through Congress; and when at length, the South, driven to the wall, turned, as even the crushed worm will turn, it was cunningly perceived by the Northern men that 'No slavery' would be a popular war-cry, and hence, they used it”.
“It is true that we are defending our slave property, but we are defending it no more than any other species of our property - it is all endangered, under a general system of robbery. We are in fact, fighting for independence”.

The Union victory in 1865 destroyed the right of secession in America, which had been so cherished by America's founding fathers as the principle of their revolution. British historian and political philosopher Lord Acton, one of the most intellectual figures in Victorian England, understood the deeper meaning of Southern defeat. In a letter to former Confederate General Robert E. Lee dated November 4, 1866, Lord Acton wrote "I saw in States Rights the only available check upon the absolutism of the sovereign will, and secession filled me with hope, not as the destruction but as the redemption of Democracy. I deemed you were fighting the battles of our liberty, our progress, and our civilization and I mourn for that which was lost at Richmond more deeply than I rejoice over that which was saved at Waterloo (defeat of Napoleon).

As Illinois Governor Richard Yates stated in a message to his state assembly on January 2, 1865, the war had "tended, more than any other event in the history of the country, to militate against the Jeffersonian Ideal ( Thomas Jefferson ) that the best government is that which governs least.

Years after the war former Confederate president Jefferson Davis stated "I Am saddened to Hear Southerners Apologize For Fighting To Preserve Our Inheritance". Some years later former U.S. president Theodore Roosevelt stated "Those Who Will Not Fight For The Graves Of Their Ancestors Are Beyond Redemption".

James W. King
Commander Camp 141
Lt. Col. Thomas M. Nelson
Sons of Confederate Veterans
Albany, Georgia
jkingantiquearms@bellsouth.net

chascush
0
Points
chascush 11/05/10 - 07:05 pm
0
0
cparker, ‘I do want to say

cparker, ‘I do want to say that the NAACP is not a racist organization.’
I agree with what you said except the NAACP is a VERY racist organization.

BuckeyeInGA
114
Points
BuckeyeInGA 11/05/10 - 11:31 pm
0
0
No cutting and pasting please

No cutting and pasting please !!!

paulbaughman28
215
Points
paulbaughman28 11/06/10 - 04:57 am
0
0
Lamb, I don't think it's

Lamb,
I don't think it's wrong at all to use S.S. in anything at all. Those two letters could mean anything. When I was in the Marines, I served as an infantry radio operator. I trained with and was good friends with many snipers. The full term for their section was Special Target Acquisition (STA) Platoon. This was later changed to Scout/Sniper Platoon. They used the S.S. symbol when they did their brands. If you have a problem with the use of those two letters combined, then you would also have a problem with every Navy ship in the fleet, as they are always names "SS" somethingorother.

Dixie Cross Defender
0
Points
Dixie Cross Defender 11/06/10 - 02:17 pm
0
0
I think the results of the

I think the results of the comments on here are more a positive sign that any credibility that groups like the KKK and their Neo-Nazi allies have with our beloved Southern Cross battle flag is coming to an end.
Since the United States enjoys freedom of speech, we can no more stop them from misusing the flag of our Southern Identity and Cultural Heritage than we could prevent their misuses of the Christian Cross under their false-prophet ideology or their dishonoring of the flag of the United States of America.
However, so long as good and honorable Southern men and women are willing to stand up to and speak out against those who misuse it or condemn it, these agents of white supremacist hatred will never have full credibility when they tarnish our flag!

Little Lamb
47263
Points
Little Lamb 11/06/10 - 09:11 pm
0
0
It would be nice if the Klan

It would be nice if the Klan would go back to using the United States flag as their banner instead of the battle flag of the Army of Northern Virginia.

Back to Top

Top headlines

Search of alleged dealer's home found drugs, firearms

An Augusta man who alleged sheriff's officers have used illegal steroids, some for years, came to the attention of a Richmond County Sheriff's narcotics officer twice, according to an ...
Search Augusta jobs