Courts, lawmakers thumb noses at us

  • Follow Letters

This is to express more frustration, anger and sorrow over our courts, government and some politicians.

A high-school girl musician who wanted to play Ave Maria on her saxophone at a school function in Everett, Wash., was denied that by school authorities and the courts because of the separation of church and state. The lower-court ruling upholding this denial is not serious enough for the U.S. Supreme Court to consider the case.

Two high-school lesbians demand the right to attend their high-school prom as a couple, one in a tuxedo and the other in a dress. The school said "no;" the courts said "yes."

A U.S. congressman, Bart Stupak, who professes to be against the killing of unborn babies (abortion) agreed to vote "yes" on a congressional law that would require all citizens to contribute to the payment for abortions. He then voted in favor of the bill when President Obama told him he, the president, would let the provision stay but would issue an executive order that federal funds would not be used for abortions. If that was the president's wish, he would have had it removed from the proposed bill.

The congressman is not stupid, nor does he have the religious beliefs he professed -- he's just a no-good politician.

Comments (31) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
TheFederalist
1
Points
TheFederalist 03/29/10 - 02:25 am
0
0
Well said, Mr. Hagler. Just

Well said, Mr. Hagler. Just more examples of how the radicals have infiltrated all levels of our society, and now are continuing to trash everything that this nation has embraced for the last 200 years. Sadly, I see no end in sight, and as our society continues to unravel, it now becomes apparent that the ultimate goal is the eventual death of everything what was once considered, "normal".

ReformedRepub
0
Points
ReformedRepub 03/29/10 - 04:31 am
0
0
Only those who desire to kill

Only those who desire to kill their children will pay a separate payment to have insurance that pays for abortions. That is NOT taxpayer funded abortion. Wish you wingnuts would get your story straight

ReformedRepub
0
Points
ReformedRepub 03/29/10 - 04:33 am
0
0
Yes, Federalist, it is the

Yes, Federalist, it is the purpose of our Constitution to guarantee that this country will move in the direction that the citizens desire, whether you like it or not.

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 03/29/10 - 05:29 am
0
0
Reformed, I hate to say this

Reformed, I hate to say this and you should know better than to say "it is the purpose of our Constitution to guarantee that this country will move in the direction that the citizens desire" The constitution restricts both what the government can do and what the governed can do and defines our rights etc. The government reguardless of the will of the people cannot force you to join a church, or pay for health care, or join a union etc..the governments powers are restricted..I have freedom of speach but I can not nor can the people pass a law that allows me to yell fire in a crowed movie theater..The government is limited by the 10th amendment and the constitution and our rights are tempered by our responsibilities..I have the right to own firearms..I have the responsiblity (as with health care) to provide them for myself and be safe in their use..

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 03/29/10 - 05:34 am
0
0
Great response

Great response Federalist..Reformed Repub a question Obama didn't know what was in the health care bill (he gave a stupid speech in which he either knew he was wrong and lied or was ignorant as to what was in the bill, yo make the call refromed Repub). This law modifies medicare, social security and many other laws and regulations, have you cross referanced all that? Give me a source that says that we do not subsidize abortion or pay for it in this bill, section and article please?

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 03/29/10 - 05:38 am
0
0
Refromed Repub- our

Refromed Repub- our constitution was (we no longer abide by it) designed to limit the tyranny of the majority...doesn't matter what the majority wants...and yes you can amend the constitution but why bother..In the words of great Democrate Alcee Hastings "We don't follow rules, we make them up as we go along"...

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 03/29/10 - 06:00 am
0
0
Our schools have been moving

Our schools have been moving to the left for decades and all complaints have been ignored by the voters. Our courts have been moving to the left, for the most part, and all complaints have been ignored by the voters. Our congress has been moving to the left for a long time and all complaints have been ignored by the voters ......until now. At last it's become so obvious what has been happening to this country that even the "independents and moderates" have noticed. The TEA party movement has the right idea. Replace sitting politicians with constitutionalists and stay aware of this shift to the left. Our schools have been heeling to the left for 65 years and will take a lot of attention to straighten out. Unless this correction is made, our leftward drift will continue until our country falls.

overburdened_taxpayer
117
Points
overburdened_taxpayer 03/29/10 - 06:04 am
0
0
An executive order can be

An executive order can be eliminated with a quick signature. Obama can change the abortion funding just as quickly as he promised to sign the order. Congress does not have to approve or disapprove of his choice now that he has what he really wants in the law. But look on the bright side, if the liberals want to pay for abortion then they are self defeating as all they are doing is killing off their future voter base.

wizzardx1
0
Points
wizzardx1 03/29/10 - 06:25 am
0
0
They are about to gain 30-45

They are about to gain 30-45 million voters with amnesty and citizenship for illegals

ReformedRepub
0
Points
ReformedRepub 03/29/10 - 06:44 am
0
0
wiz, there is one point upon

wiz, there is one point upon which we agree. I've been in construction/maintenance for all of my career, and have seen jobs eliminated for Americans by unscrupulous AMERICAN employers hiring illegals to keep from paying in benefits, and to maximize profits. The first item should be enforcement of our laws targeting employers first and hardest. Then, maybe, increase numbers allowed. NO AMNESTY FOR ILLEGALS! Boot them one and ALL and forbid re-entry permanently!

ReformedRepub
0
Points
ReformedRepub 03/29/10 - 07:31 am
0
0
Cliff, you mean

Cliff, you mean Constitutionalists that only see things your way, correct?

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 03/29/10 - 07:35 am
0
0
RR, constitutionalists. One

RR, constitutionalists. One definition.

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 03/29/10 - 07:49 am
0
0
Overburdened taxpayer, the

Overburdened taxpayer, the executive order doesn't supersede any existing law. In short, this order was for show only, cover for the Stupac vote, otherwise it is meaningless.

slippery 25
0
Points
slippery 25 03/29/10 - 08:03 am
0
0
Stupak has been granted to

Stupak has been granted to much respect. He supported a bill that he or the President did not read or totally understand. If anybody thinks that tax money will not be used for abortion they really do not understand what government control over your health care means.

Fiat_Lux
15137
Points
Fiat_Lux 03/29/10 - 08:47 am
0
0
Wiz, you might be in for a

Wiz, you might be in for a bit of a shocker when those illegals actually start voting. Most of them are Catholics with pretty conservative values, and strong family values. They may turn out to the the salvation of our country rather than contributing to the demise people like you and RR are celebrating so gleefully.

Lobosolo
5
Points
Lobosolo 03/29/10 - 09:08 am
0
0
Whoo, you folks are scary...

Whoo, you folks are scary... Mr. Hagler, for a person born with a silver spoon in his mouth and one so young, you sure seem to have a lot of opinions. I guess growing up never in want of anything makes you able to do this by garnering your facts from Drudge and Rush. Grow up, man, and go read some books... Your nightly rantings at various watering holes on the hill about things you don't have a clue about expose you as the smart-aleck blatherer that you can be...

Fiat_Lux
15137
Points
Fiat_Lux 03/29/10 - 09:25 am
0
0
Lobo, if you can't see the

Lobo, if you can't see the political correctness inequities, it says more about you than Mr. Hagler. His interpretation of recent events seems pretty clear in this LTE, and I've sure read some books.

(And since when does being young and blessed with material wealth disqualify someone from having a well thought out opinion? As for ranting, he may do it elsewhere but this letter sure doesn't come across as a rant.)

jack234
719
Points
jack234 03/29/10 - 09:36 am
0
0
We are so proud of what this

We are so proud of what this administration is doing for our America. We wish the administration well and they have Our support. Did somebody mentioned guns again. They are so disappointed that this administration is not bothering their guns. I'm sure they have plenty of talking points stored up that they haven't been able to use. They could ony find one item in the health care bill to sue about. I thought the Republicans were against frivirous law suits. We wish this lovely first family many years in the white house. I see he visited the troops and gave them our full support. Many acomplishments after only one year. The president is just amazing. Bush is doing the same thing now he did while in office. Well that's my wisdom for today. To everyone, Hello! Hello!

jack234
719
Points
jack234 03/29/10 - 09:56 am
0
0
I am so proud that as an

I am so proud that as an independent with strong family values I can still support this administration. Can Palin save McCain? She couldn't the last time. Hello! Hello! The last time I checked the constitution was written on paper not stone. The founding fathers knew that they were not perfect so they provided for an admending process. The 13th, 14th and 15th admendment bare out this fact. We are on a roll. Best wishes to our wonderful president and this lovely first family that believes very much in fanily values. (You don't see these girls out partying and embarassing our country at home and abroad). Good luck Charlie Christ. Hello! Hello!

overburdened_taxpayer
117
Points
overburdened_taxpayer 03/29/10 - 09:57 am
0
0
Jack#s, give us some

Jack#s, give us some specifics about Obama's "many accomplishments". I don't know what they are as I really haven't noticed any.

Jane18
12332
Points
Jane18 03/29/10 - 11:12 am
0
0
jack234-Are you Alan Colmes

jack234-Are you Alan Colmes in disguise?

TheFederalist
1
Points
TheFederalist 03/29/10 - 12:07 pm
0
0
Hey Jack234! Wait until

Hey Jack234! Wait until November sir! HELLO! HELLO!

Chillen
17
Points
Chillen 03/29/10 - 01:17 pm
0
0
Federalist. You got your

Federalist. You got your last post slightly wrong. In November it will actually be GOODBYE! GOODBYE! lol!

baronvonreich
0
Points
baronvonreich 03/29/10 - 04:22 pm
0
0
The courts are the only ones

The courts are the only ones doing their jobs by limiting the power grab that Christians are constantly attempting on public schools, public buildings, and public office. You, Mr. Hagler, are just another narrow-minded, oppressive, hateful, hypocritical, freedom denying, bigot just like Mr. Bernardi.

willie7
955
Points
willie7 03/29/10 - 05:17 pm
0
0
Obama's Accomplishments: 1.
Unpublished

Obama's Accomplishments:

1. Ordered all federal agencies to undertake a study and make recommendations for ways to cut spending
2. Ordered a review of all federal operations to identify and cut wasteful spending and practices
3. Instituted enforcement for equal pay for women
4. Beginning the withdrawal of US troops from Iraq
5. Families of fallen soldiers have expenses covered to be on hand when the body arrives at Dover AFB
6. Ended media blackout on war casualties; reporting full information
7. Ended media blackout on covering the return of fallen soldiers to Dover AFB; the media is now permitted to do so pending adherence to respectful rules and approval of fallen soldier's family
8. The White House and federal government are respecting the Freedom of Information Act
9. Instructed all federal agencies to promote openness and transparency as much as possible
10. Limits on lobbyist's access to the White House
11. Limits on White House aides working for lobbyists after their tenure in the administration
12. Ended the previous stop-loss policy that kept soldiers in Iraq/Afghanistan longer than their enlistment date
13. Phasing out the expensive F-22 war plane and other outdated weapons systems, which weren't even used or needed in Iraq/Afghanistan
14. Removed restrictions on embryonic stem-cell research
15. Federal support for stem-cell and new biomedical research
16. New federal funding for science and research labs
17. States are permitted to enact federal fuel efficiency standards above federal standards
18. Increased infrastructure spending (roads, bridges, power plants) after years of neglect
19. Funds for high-speed, broadband Internet access to K-12 schools
20. New funds for school construction
21. The prison at Guantanamo Bay is being phased out
22. US Auto industry rescue plan
23. Housing rescue plan
24. $789 billion economic stimulus plan
25. The public can meet with federal housing insurers to refinance (the new plan can be completed in one day) a mortgage if they are having trouble paying
26. US financial and banking rescue plan
27. The secret detention facilities in Eastern Europe and elsewhere are being closed
28. Ended the previous policy; the US now has a no torture policy and is in compliance with the Geneva Convention standards
29. Better body armor is now being provided to our troops
30. The missile defense program is being cut by $1.4 billion in 2010
31. Restarted the nuclear nonproliferation talks and building back up the nuclear inspection infrastructure/protocols
32. Reengaged in the treaties/agreements to protect the Antarctic
33. Reengaged in the agreements/talks on global warming and greenhouse gas emissions
34. Visited more countries and met with more world leaders than any president in his first six months in office
35. Successful release of US captain held by Somali pirates; authorized the SEALS to do their job
36. US Navy increasing patrols off Somali coast
37. Attractive tax write-offs for those who buy hybrid automobiles
38. Cash for clunkers program offers vouchers to trade in fuel inefficient, polluting old cars for new cars; stimulated auto sales
39. Announced plans to purchase fuel efficient American-made fleet for the federal government
40. Expanded the SCHIP program to cover health care for 4 million more children
41. Signed national service legislation; expanded national youth service program
42. Instituted a new policy on Cuba, allowing Cuban families to return home to visit loved ones
43. Ended the previous policy of not regulating and labeling carbon dioxide emissions
44. Expanding vaccination programs
45. Immediate and efficient response to the floods in North Dakota and other natural disasters
46. Closed offshore tax safe havens
47. Negotiated deal with Swiss banks to permit US government to gain access to records of tax evaders and criminals
48. Ended the previous policy of offering tax benefits to corporations who outsource American jobs; the new policy is to promote in-sourcing to bring jobs back
49.. Ended the previous practice of protecting credit card companies; in place of it are new consumer protections from credit card industry's predatory practices
50. Energy producing plants must begin preparing to produce 15% of their energy from renewable sources
51. Lower drug costs for seniors
52. Ended the previous practice of forbidding Medicare from negotiating with drug manufacturers for cheaper drugs; the federal government is now realizing hundreds of millions in savings
53. Increasing pay and benefits for military personnel
54. Improved housing for military personnel
55. Initiating a new policy to promote federal hiring of military spouses
56. Improved conditions at Walter Reed Military Hospital and other military hospitals
57. Increasing student loans
58. Increasing opportunities in AmeriCorps program
59. Sent envoys to Middle East and other parts of the world that had been neglected for years; reengaging in multilateral and bilateral talks and diplomacy
60. Established a new cyber security office
61. Beginning the process of reforming and restructuring the military 20 years after the Cold War to a more modern fighting force; this includes new procurement policies, increasing size of military, new technology and cyber units and operations, etc.
62. Ended previous policy of awarding no-bid defense contracts
63. Ordered a review of hurricane and natural disaster preparedness
64. Established a National Performance Officer charged with saving the federal government money and making federal operations more efficient
65. Students struggling to make college loan payments can have their loans refinanced
66. Improving benefits for veterans
67. Many more press conferences and town halls and much more media access than previous administration
68. Instituted a new focus on mortgage fraud
69. The FDA is now regulating tobacco
70. Ended previous policy of cutting the FDA and circumventing FDA rules
71. Ended previous practice of having White House aides rewrite scientific and environmental rules, regulations, and reports
72. Authorized discussions with North Korea and private mission by Pres. Bill Clinton to secure the release of two Americans held in prisons
73. Authorized discussions with Myanmar and mission by Sen. Jim Web to secure the release of an American held captive
74. Making more loans available to small businesses
75. Established independent commission to make recommendations on slowing the costs of Medicare
76. Appointment of first Latina to the Supreme Court
77. Authorized construction/opening of additional health centers to care for veterans
78. Limited salaries of senior White House aides; cut to $100,000
79. Renewed loan guarantees for Israel
80. Changed the failing/status quo military command in Afghanistan
81. Deployed additional troops to Afghanistan
82. New Afghan War policy that limits aerial bombing and prioritizes aid, development of infrastructure, diplomacy, and good government practices by Afghans
83. Announced the long-term development of a national energy grid with renewable sources and cleaner, efficient energy production
84. Returned money authorized for refurbishment of White House offices and private living quarters
85. Paid for redecoration of White House living quarters out of his own pocket
86. Held first Seder in White House
87. Attempting to reform the nation's healthcare system which is the most expensive in the world yet leaves almost 50 million without health insurance and millions more under insured
88. Has put the ball in play for comprehensive immigration reform
89. Has announced his intention to push for energy reform
90. Has announced his intention to push for education reform

Oh, and he

Ayetidiosi
2
Points
Ayetidiosi 03/29/10 - 05:24 pm
0
0
If you can't dazzle them with

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, bury them with bullschiezen.

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 03/29/10 - 05:44 pm
0
0
Well like I warned you

Well like I warned you yesterday, people don't really understand what is in this bill, and when the lawyers with the shades and sharp pens get throught it the health care bill will come out total differant than you expect..Just read an article that the Democrats are upset because insurance company lawyers pointed out that they don't have to cover kids with preexisiting illnesses until 2014..BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 03/29/10 - 05:45 pm
0
0
Now Obama is going after the

Now Obama is going after the coal companies, not only will your health insurance increase, energy costs will increase..LOL

Chillen
17
Points
Chillen 03/29/10 - 09:01 pm
0
0
willie7
955
Points
willie7 03/29/10 - 09:24 pm
0
0
Thanks Chillen!!!!!
Unpublished

Thanks Chillen!!!!!

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs