Throwing around the ‘F’ word

Leftists risk doing far more damage to America than Mr. Trump

Even retired Berkeley and Columbia University professor Robert Paxton is loath to throw around the “F” word that has become so fashionable on the far left.

“I’m very, very reluctant to use the word fascism loosely,” he told far-left Slate.com, “because it’s almost the most powerful epithet you can use. I guess child molester might be a little more powerful, but not much.”

Meanwhile, you want an overbearing government? Try a bill reportedly introduced by Connecticut state Sen. Ted Kennedy Jr. that would mandate organ donation unless you opt out. In essence, the state would own your body after your death. How is that not totalitarian?

Instead, leftists decry President Trump – after less than two months in office, and seeking only national security and American revival – as a fascist.

So much so that one woman recently turned her smartphone on Trump spokesman Sean Spicer while he was shopping in an Apple store – hounding and harassing him with insults as he tried to go about his day as a citizen of these United States.

The woman, identified as Shree Chauhan, proudly posted her badgering of Spicer on social media, in which she insinuated he was a “criminal” who worked for a “fascist,” and asked him what it was like to be “destroying our country.” She asked Spicer if he had “committed treason too, just like the president.”

After the past eight years, it’s fair to question whether a president can destroy America. Conservatives feel like the former president came close.

What’s more certain is that people such as this woman may, indeed, be capable of destroying America – by keeping the country in a constant state of political and social upheaval. By accusing fellow Americans of being fascists – which, you’ll remember, is to the historian Paxton right up there with “child molester.” By harassing fellow citizens in stores who have done nothing more than answer the call to public service.

Who’s the fascist again? Who’s the threat?

Dee STAFFORD 4 months ago
The idiots on the left don't even realize THEY are the fascists. The know not what the characteristics nor the actions of fascism are.  In reality, they are liberal fascists.

Shoot, I bet you can't even get the young to explain what a communist is.
Angie Hicks 4 months ago
It would be interesting if someone on the left who posts here could give an example of just one fascist thing that President Trump has done.  Just one.  Or to name one right that he has taken away from anyone..
Val White 4 months ago

Never will happen, I've stopped holding my breath waiting for one of them to provide proof of any of the false claims they hear on the MSM and then repeat.  They never have any proof, just liberal talking points. 


The MSM tells the democrat voters conservatives are facists and they believe it.  You're right, probably not a one of them actually knows what Facism is or realizes that BHO was leading America in exactly that direction. 

Tom Golden 4 months ago
It would be more interesting to have the actual historian of fascism give you multiple examples of fascist things Trump has done, even though the ACES has manipulated you into thinking the historian didn't do so. Here's the interview. In it there are examples. Every day we have the choice of whether or not we wish to be lapdogs to dishonest,  propaganda like the above editorial.


http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/interrogation/2016/02/is_donald_trump_a_fascist_an_expert_on_fascism_weighs_in.html
Angie Hicks 3 months ago
"“Making the country great again” sounds exactly like the fascist movements."

"Trump is using that full-blast, quite illegitimately, because the country isn’t in serious decline, but he’s able to persuade them that it is."

"He even looks like Mussolini in the way he sticks his lower jaw out"



When you start out with things that are simply your opinion, and then follow with an idiotic statement about how he looks like Mussolini, so he must be a fascist, then your credibility as a "historian" really comes into question.


Tom Golden 3 months ago
So here's the entire paragraph, instead of just your cherry-picked elements.

"The use of ethnic stereotypes and exploitation of fear of foreigners is directly out of a fascist’s recipe book. “Making the country great again” sounds exactly like the fascist movements. Concern about national decline, that was one of the most prominent emotional states evoked in fascist discourse, and Trump is using that full-blast, quite illegitimately, because the country isn’t in serious decline, but he’s able to persuade them that it is. That is a fascist stroke. An aggressive foreign policy to arrest the supposed decline. That’s another one. Then, there’s a second level, which is a level of style and technique. He even looks like Mussolini in the way he sticks his lower jaw out, and also the bluster, the skill at sensing the mood of the crowd, the skillful use of media."

When you remove key parts of a person's argument to make a point, then your credibility as "honest" really comes into question.
Angie Hicks 3 months ago
Sorry that I didn't post ALL of the things that were strictly his opinion, and not based on facts.
Val White 3 months ago

"...fear of foreigners..." - since when is making sure terrorists who are trying to kill us are not sneaking into our county facism?  According to the Constitution, keeping the U.S.A. safe is the number one priority of the president. 


Since when is ensuring we have a military that will be able to defend us against nations we actually see developing and testing nuclear weapons and chanting "death to America" being a facist?


And anyone who didn't realize our country was in decline had their head in the sand - jobs disappearing, businesses moving overseas, our dollar devalued, our credit rating lowered, our education system rating at 26th in the world, our debt uncontrollable and enormous, 47% of our population on the government dole, our healthcare system ruined - and we were supposed to ignore it because otherwise we'd be branded as facists?


Add to that, this man injected his opinionated OPINION into his analysis.  When an historian (or any expert) has to add a negative opinion, it means their facts don't pass the test.  He did not even provide any actual cases, only generalizations.  That does not lend credence to a charge of facism.



chas cushman 3 months ago
The sheeple on the left are desperate. They have to depend on the left-wing media for their talking points. Just think how bad it is going to be for them after 8 yr of Trump? hee, hee
At least the lying, America hating, racist trash is out the WH.
Roland SASSER 4 months ago
Per Webster's, Fascism: a totalitarian governmental system led by a dictator and emphasizing an aggressive nationalism, militarism, and often racism. Trump is not dictator or a racist period! If pushing for a stronger military in a dangerous world for defensive capabilities, controlling who enters our country, better trade deals, better schools, less national debt, supporting law enforcement, reducing stifling regulations just to name a few is considered fascist to those on the left, then so be it!
Angie Hicks 4 months ago
Didn't you know.....anyone who thinks different from the left, or believes in smaller government and personal responsibility is a racist.
Tom Golden 4 months ago
I've seen examples of people called racist when they used those beliefs to justify broad racist statements (such as nauseatingly racist idiocy like "govt has made blacks dumb and lazy" for example), but I haven't seen people called racist simply for thinking different from the left, or believing in smaller government and personal responsibility. Do you have any examples of the latter?
Angie Hicks 3 months ago
I've seen it many times.  One would have to be obtuse not to have seen it. 

http://ilovemyfreedom.org/disagree-liberals-youre-racist/
Tom Golden 3 months ago
Clever. But here's the ACTUAL op-ed you claim to be an example with your link..

https://www.nytimes.com/2016/07/31/upshot/why-voters-dont-buy-it-when-economists-say-global-trade-is-good.html?_r=0

Those attittudes your link claims the Harvard professor used to describe people?

Those weren't the professors words. Those were the results of answers voters THEMSELVES gave on surveys.

What is obtuse? Taking some random blogger's word for something instead of taking the 30 seconds it takes to actually look at the original source, and see if that blogger was being dishonest. Which they were.


chas cushman 3 months ago
The "gov't has made many blacks dumb and lazy" along with a lot whites. It is how the dumocrats keep a strong base
William O. Darby 4 months ago
Hey, the  stupid woman who confronted Spicer got her Warhol "fifteen minutes". That's what it's all about with many of the loonies anyway.

Ask her to define fascist and watch the dumbfounded look that creeps across her face.
William O. Darby 4 months ago
Odd isn't it that the American (tax paying, live by the law) Right has become the unwanted recipient of the "We shall overcome" burden. 

Bet Doctor King never saw that one coming.
Tom Golden 4 months ago
Since we're throwing around the "F" word, why don't you try some F'ing honesty, ACES?

In that Paxton interview you reference, IMMEDIATELY after saying he is very, very reluctant to use the word fascism loosely, the historian of fascism goes on to describe multiple ways that Trump's ideas and behavior mirror fascist regimes of past. He also outlines ways that he thinks Trump differs from past fascists. 

Why take the quote out of context? Why not inform your readers that even though he thinks it is analogous to calling someone a child molester, the historian DID think it appropriate to describe some of Trump's methods as fascist? By taking the quote out of context, you make it seem as though the historian didn't say what he actually said. 

That's fundamentally dishonest. Strong editorial work doesn't require deceit to advance an argument.
Tom Golden 4 months ago
Oh, and just for you Darby --

The way that the ACES set it up as though they were going to argue a fascist expert's views of Trump, but then instead set up the non-expert Shree Chauhan as the focus of the argument?

Classic straw man.
Angie Hicks 3 months ago
Because an "expert" knows that if someone sticks their jaw out like Mussolini, then they must be a fascist.
Tom Golden 3 months ago
You already demonstrated that there was more to his argument than that single point, but you're just going to cherry-pick that one and roll with it, huh? The troll is strong with this one. Good day to you.
Angie Hicks 3 months ago
No...you demonstrated that there are more unsubstantiated OPINIONS to his argument.
 
And that one point shows just how idiotic his argument is.


But nice childish name calling again.  Some things never change.
Jerry Whitcomb 3 months ago
Spicer should have punched her out and shoved that iPhone up her behind. I'm tired of these brown shirt snowflakes. Get in my face and get a nose job and some dental work. 

More

Wed, 04/26/2017 - 00:16

School yourself on vaccines

Tue, 04/25/2017 - 23:54

Bottom line: We don’t get the joke

Tue, 04/25/2017 - 23:51

We can’t wait on the wall

Tue, 04/25/2017 - 23:51

Rick McKee Editorial Cartoon

Around the Web