Another clog in the pipeline

President obstinately refuses to acknowledge common sense of Keystone

  • Follow Editorials

With so much attention focused on President Obama’s self-inflicted crisis along the southern border, it’s easy to forget about another America-harming policy failure along the northern border – the Keystone XL pipeline.

After dithering on the Canada-to-U.S. oil pipeline for the entirety of his first term, the White House now says it is “highly unlikely” President Obama will sign off on the project before the November midterm elections.

The much-needed pipeline would carry Canadian tar sands oil to American Gulf Coast refineries. But the president’s convenient excuse – this time – for delay is an eminent domain case set to go before the Nebraska Supreme Court in early September. A decision wouldn’t be reached until October at the earliest.

But the fact of the matter is, Obama doesn’t have to wait for anything. He could grant the project’s construction permit at any time, allowing work to begin on sections of the 1,400-mile pipeline unaffected by the Nebraska ruling.

“This is particularly perplexing given President Obama’s use of unilateral executive power,” writes the Heritage Foundation’s Hannah Hebert. “The President’s track record demonstrates that, when he wants something, he doesn’t really care what the courts have to say.”

Sierra Club Executive Director Michael Brune recently told the Seattle Post-Intelligencer that he believes Obama will reject the project – but that the president will probably wait until next year to do it.

Recent surveys show that Brune and others in the far left are the only Americans who don’t overwhelmingly support Keystone. A Pew Research report last month showed 57 percent of those identifying themselves as “solid liberals” opposed the project, the only such demographic to do so. Even people identifying themselves as “hard-pressed skeptics” favored the project 60 percent.

A separate Washington Post/ABC News poll showed Americans support the pipeline by a nearly 3-to-1 margin.

And why shouldn’t they? It’s a privately financed venture, which taxpayers won’t have to support; it will create high-paying jobs – about 180,000 in the construction sector and hundreds more during operation; and it will deliver 830,000 barrels of crude daily from a nonhostile exporter to American refineries.

If there’s an upside to killing the project, no one has made that case – including the president.

Blocking Keystone won’t help the environment, if that’s the issue. Whether Obama and environmentalists like it or not, Canada will extract and ship its oil one way or another. It’s already transporting 180,000 barrels a day by truck and rail, methods that are less safe and less efficient than a pipeline.

Moreover, absent Keystone, the oil likely is headed to an economic and geopolitical rival with less concern for the environment: China.

Keystone’s original application was submitted in 2008. That’s too long a time to wait on something that’s actually good for America.

But this president is more interested in
appeasing a far-left environmental minority and, apparently, providing comfortable housing and taxpayer-subsidized legal services to thousands
of Central American immigrants whose illegal trek into the southwestern United States likely will be rewarded with amnesty and permanent residency.

With just two strokes of a pen in a single sitting, this president could bolster American energy security and create jobs along the northern border, and end the wholesale invasion by poor immigrants from violent and corrupt nations along its southern border.

But he chooses to do neither. Truly amazing.

Comments (18) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
fedex227
11187
Points
fedex227 07/25/14 - 08:31 am
4
11
ACES, are you asserting the President
Unpublished

should use executive privilege to approve the pipeline? And if you don't think the XL pipeline is a bad idea, don't ask me, just ask Fox News.

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2012/01/18/six-reasons-keystone-xl-was-ba...

deestafford
31943
Points
deestafford 07/24/14 - 11:20 pm
7
4
Ain't no need to worry about that pipeline...

Ain't no need to worry about that pipeline oil that Warren Buffet and George Soros' trains and trucks are transporting because Canada has already signed a deal with China to build a pipeline to their west coast and ship it to the Chinese.

Blocking the pipeline is just another block our ADHD president has checked off on his checklist of things to do to bring the United States "down to size".

It's comical when one considers we have already over 25,000 miles of pipeline currently operating in the US. Of course, Obama had no chance of stopping any of that.

Fedex, By the way the governors involved have all signed off okaying the pipeline running though their states.

fedex227
11187
Points
fedex227 07/25/14 - 08:29 am
4
11
deestafford ...
Unpublished

Nebraska courts have ruled that Gov. Heineman's approval of the pipeline route was invalid. In other words, even Governor's do not have unlimited power. Keep spinning it though.

carcraft
28487
Points
carcraft 07/25/14 - 05:16 am
7
3
Oh boy,!

Oh boy, fedex, global warming is a hoax and Canada has developed the resource so it would contribute to globull warming if globull warming existed reguardless of the pipeline. It is just so much safer to ship it by rail isn't it? Did you know they are redesigning rail cars and increasing rail regulations because of the number of accidents shipping this stuff? I could go on but why bother explaining the errors in this OPINION ARTICLE!

hoptoad
21454
Points
hoptoad 07/25/14 - 05:41 am
6
3
O is denying the XL pipeline

O is denying the XL pipeline for two reasons, my opinion.

First he's hoping he'll keep the environmentalists happy at least till after the November election. And the biggest reason is the pipeline will provide many jobs, some by privately owned businesses and private funds. This president has proven many times over that he is not in the business of creating jobs unless the government and the unions have total control of them

Bodhisattva
7212
Points
Bodhisattva 07/25/14 - 07:13 am
2
11
More yellow journalism from the Chronicle

Even TransCanada has admitted those crazy inflatted job numbers are bull. 180,000? That's a load of it. TransCanada chief executive Russ Girling, let it slip in an interview in 2011 that they use "job years" in their figuring of jobs (if one person has a job for 30 years, that's 30 jobs). TransCanada's intitial estimate was 20,000 jobs, but changed the number since a lot of the constructing has been completed and, per the Wahington Post, "Girling said Friday that the 13,000 figure was “one person, one year,” meaning that if the construction jobs lasted two years, the number of people employed in each of the two years would be 6,500. That brings the company’s number closer to the State Department’s; State says the project would create 5,000 to 6,000 construction jobs, a figure that was calculated by its contractor Cardno Entrix." What right wing PAC talking point memo did you copy the 180,000 number from? So gosh, that leaves a quandry. The head of the company that wants to build the darned thing says 6,500 jobs. The State Dept., its contractor Cardno Entrix, and a study by Cornell University say between 5,000 and 6,000 jobs, yet the Chronicle says 180,000 jobs. Someone is wrong. I wonder which one could it be? My money is on the one that doesn't run the company.

Bodhisattva
7212
Points
Bodhisattva 07/25/14 - 07:37 am
3
9
Even more yellow journalism from the Chronicle. Imagine that.

"Moreover, absent Keystone, the oil likely is headed to an economic and geopolitical rival with less concern for the environment: China"
OOOOO!!!!! Scary. The trick is, that's why they want to go to the Free Trade Zone in Port Arthur, Texas. So it can be refined and shipped duty free (That way the US is just a big conduit and doesn't get squat in export duties) and the oil can go to Eastern markets like CHINA and INDIA. That's where it's going now! They're the ones expanding they're manufacturing thanks to the nice US corporations that want dirt cheap labor and more profits so they won't build factories here. Now the oil is backlogged at refineries in the Midwest, driving prices down there, you know, at our farmbelt. If Keystone is completed, they expect around a 20¢ per gallon increase in gas and diesel prices in the Midwest (and probably the entire US, they're already keeping our prices artificially high) so we all can count on our food prices going up. Great deal for America!
http://www.zerohedge.com/contributed/2014-02-02/why-keystone-pipeline-wi...

ymnbde
10672
Points
ymnbde 07/25/14 - 07:49 am
4
0
the simplest and most plausible explanation

is use of the billions of dollars we send to the Saudi's
being used to "sway" the opinions and actions of politicians
good old fashioned bribery... they are, after all, the ones who will be hurt the most...

carcraft
28487
Points
carcraft 07/25/14 - 07:54 am
6
3
LOL Bod , the unions,

LOL Bod , the unions, environmental regulations( even if the don' make sense) have driven up production costs so it is cheaper over seas. Corporation have a duty to maximize profits for investors . The Keystone pipeline has been studied and found to be OK. Shipping by rail is environmentally worse than by pipeline. It is just stupid but then again stupid is as stupid does. About sums it up for Obama!

RMSHEFF
18749
Points
RMSHEFF 07/25/14 - 08:08 am
6
3
I enjoy watching democrats

I enjoy watching democrats run away from Obama's policies during election time. They avoid at all cost being photographed with Obama and if he should come to their state for a golf game or fund raiser they make sure they are no where around.

RMSHEFF
18749
Points
RMSHEFF 07/25/14 - 08:18 am
7
1
Bod

I am sure you are concerned about the high price of energy in America so we need to stop adding federal regulation on refineries such as going up on the Alcohol content in a gallon of gas. Would you not agree. This regulation has done harm both the economy and the environment.

Bizkit
35575
Points
Bizkit 07/25/14 - 08:49 am
5
0
Because climate scientist and

Because climate scientist and Obama measure carbon dioxide production " per capita" China can double or even triple their production- although they are the number one producer of greenhouse gases. The Obama policy to reduce ours by 30 percent will do little globally when he gives China carte Blanche to pollute. China just made a deal with Russia for gas and Venezuela for oil so china can do without our oil.

Bizkit
35575
Points
Bizkit 07/25/14 - 08:54 am
5
1
The Washington post articles

The Washington post articles states the pipeline will have no effect on the price of gas anywhere in the US. Forbes article said it " might" cause gas to rise some. So Bod quit cherry picking articles when I provide two to counter your posit. I'll informed as usual.

RMSHEFF
18749
Points
RMSHEFF 07/25/14 - 09:32 am
7
2
Bizkit

Yes, progressives have taken "cherry picking" to an art form. Just like Fedx's first post states that Fox News thinks the pipeline is a bad idea by using one opinion article from one of the most liberal fox news contributors.

RMSHEFF
18749
Points
RMSHEFF 07/25/14 - 09:40 am
7
2
FedX

No chief executive ( gov or pres) has the legal authority to take unilateral action to circumvent the legislature.......except Obama ! Right?

carcraft
28487
Points
carcraft 07/25/14 - 09:43 am
5
1
Well I cherry pick to, but it

Well I cherry pick to, but it is OK because my heart is pure...

jimmymac
47688
Points
jimmymac 07/25/14 - 10:05 am
0
0
XL
Unpublished

There's no defense of Obama's non action on the Keystone pipeline debacle. He's not supporting it due to huge cash donations from a California billionaire who's a global warming nut. Warren Buffett who has huge investments in train companies that move oil by box car and don't forget the far left of his own party that would like us all to live in caves again. Oh, except for them and Obama.

Bizkit
35575
Points
Bizkit 07/25/14 - 10:36 am
3
1
Well I've picked a few

Well I've picked a few cherries in my day,but good manners prevents me from elaborating on my escapades.

dichotomy
37494
Points
dichotomy 07/25/14 - 11:27 am
5
2
Bod...the Keystone would help

Bod...the Keystone would help stabilize the price of oil and gasoline in this country because of increased supply. Every time someone farts in the Middle East our gasoline prices jump $.40. The increased stability alone is enough reason to build the pipeline. And I don't care if it's 2,000 jobs or 20,000 it's more jobs than we have now.

But I can see why a liberal like you would want to keep Obama's buddies in the rail car transport business. Lots of political campaign money involved in this issue for the Democrats.

And you should NEVER accuse anyone else of yellow journalism. Would you be the pot or the kettle?

carcraft
28487
Points
carcraft 07/25/14 - 03:23 pm
2
1
Bizkit, did you have a pure

Bizkit, did you have a pure heart?

historylover
18379
Points
historylover 07/25/14 - 05:46 pm
1
1
Dichotomy

Since when did posters on here become journalists? "And you should NEVER accuse anyone else of yellow journalism. Would you be the pot or the kettle?"

I think that you are giving far to much credence to your own posts as well as others, unless of course you are a member of the ACES staff.

KSL
143913
Points
KSL 07/25/14 - 06:18 pm
1
2
Historylover, if bod is

Historylover, if bod is techfan, we know he is/was a nurse. And we know neither of the 2 are journalists. Bod continually criticizes the AC. My suggestion to him would be to go read a paper more to his liking.

KSL
143913
Points
KSL 07/25/14 - 06:27 pm
2
2
HL, you really did miss what

HL, you really did miss what D was saying or you are just not that familiar with bod's posts.

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs