Combative Carney exits

Press secretary's tenure marked by sneering relationship with media

  • Follow Editorials

The Obama administration is unraveling, and the president’s chief media shield, Jay Carney, is heading for greener pastures.

Can you blame him? We sure can’t.

We have no doubt Carney – who resigned Friday, the same day as disgraced Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki – was well-paid as far as White House press secretaries go. But we can’t imagine any amount of compensation worth the emotional toll of having to cover for a chief executive as opaque and scandal-ridden as President Obama.

This is not to say Carney will be deeply missed. His relationship with the press, as Obama-friendly as they are, often was off-putting and sometimes downright adversarial.

Yes, a little professional friction comes with the territory when part of your job is to deny the obvious, minimize the negative and avert the embarrassing. More highly regarded press secretaries, such as Marlin Fitzwater, Dee Dee Myers and Tony Snow, often would joust with the Washington press corps.

But Carney took it to another level. He jabbed.

He was snarky. He was dismissive. And he was not above openly mocking reporters as being partisan for asking tough – though perfectly legitimate – questions.

Should we have expected more objectivity, or at least more professional courtesy, from a former Time magazine correspondent and the first press secretary in four decades to have actual reporting experience?

Probably. But considering what he had to work with, we should be thankful he showed up for work with an occasional smile.

When it comes to this administration, it isn’t easy accentuating the positive.

Comments (44) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Truth Matters
8097
Points
Truth Matters 06/03/14 - 12:49 am
3
19
"Should we have expected more

"Should we have expected more objectivity, or at least more professional courtesy, from a former Time magazine correspondent and the first press secretary in four decades to have actual reporting experience?"

The ACES complaining about a lack of objectivity---pot meet kettle.

carcraft
28588
Points
carcraft 06/03/14 - 04:26 am
10
2
Carney was as big a lier as

Carney was as big a lier as his boss! Now if only his boss would resign!

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 06/03/14 - 05:17 am
7
4
TM......care to back up your
Unpublished

TM......care to back up your snide remark with evidence? Show us where the ACES has not been objective. Not opinion, but objective evidence. I doubt it. Seems more likely the liberals will just defend this liar and his proven lying, criminal boss as they have for the last 6 years. Defend and deflect....the greatest tools of the liberals against truth...their greatest enemy.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 07:16 am
7
1
People need to separate news

People need to separate news reporting from opinion. The recent Pew study highlighted that CNN was most balanced with 55% news 45% opinion, followed by Fox which was 55% opinion, and then MSNBC which was 85% opinion. CNN and Fox at least make an attempt at being Fair and Balanced is a fact -unlike MSNBC which is the lowest rated likely because it is such poo poo and most people have an intellect that finds it offensive. The AC makes no qualms about being conservative on it's opinion pieces but it fair in reporting news and it does allow numerous other views to be heard. Many of which posters lament how did such opinions get posted because they are unusual. It isn't perfect but I've seen and read a lot worse.

ymnbde
10752
Points
ymnbde 06/03/14 - 07:44 am
5
1
truth matters, your comparison was incorrect

aces does not make snide remarks after your snide remarks
they do not block your snide remarks
they do not blame you for any failures
but Carney did that to reporters he disagreed with
but if you represent someone incompatible with truth...

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 07:55 am
5
0
Carney I think deserves an

Carney I think deserves an award from beating out any Bush press secretary in having to deal with the most scandals. Dems did their best and even made up stuff about Bush but it pales in comparison with the facts surrounding Obama's opaque regime. Bush was so much more transparent, which Obama picked up was a weakness and changed or he probably lied the first time as he was the ACA. I predict a Statute of Obama will be made with a long Pinocchio nose and a Guinness Book of Telling the most lies so he will be standing next to a Cherry tree. See Bush mislead people because Saddam had WMD and most people including all Dems but Obama believed he had them, but he cherry picked intel-just like Obama did with Benghazi-so no big deal a phony scandal. But the ACA was a blatant lie-there was no misleading-just a lie he repeated over and over again-nothing to mitigate like with the WMD's which the final report did technically find old WMDs. Bush and Obama both mislead by cherry picking over the Iraq War and Benghazi respectively. But the ACA was a blatant lie. Funny though the Dems investigated Bush over "misleading" in Iraq and they hypocritical now state that Obama misleading over Benghazi was a phony scandal-which means both were phony scandals just Dems are vindictive.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 06/03/14 - 07:57 am
4
1
But remember....even with all
Unpublished

But remember....even with all the proof, and even recently ADMITTING breaking the law, that the scandals are all phony. Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

jimmymac
48001
Points
jimmymac 06/03/14 - 07:59 am
1
0
CARNEY
Unpublished

Carney won't be missed anymore than Obama will be missed. Bad press secretary worse president.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 08:11 am
4
2
The Rep-tards are too stupid

The Rep-tards are too stupid to come up with 35 articles like Kucinich to impeach Bush-hey he's a Fox guy now perhaps he can help the GOP draw up some articles against the Obama. Oh the irony.

dichotomy
37614
Points
dichotomy 06/03/14 - 08:50 am
5
1
Carney was not a press

Carney was not a press secretary. He was just another lying Obama ideologue. A "spinner" for the cause.

Darby
29473
Points
Darby 06/03/14 - 09:07 am
4
2
"The ACES complaining about a lack of objectivity

---pot meet kettle."

.
Objectivity, as beauty, is in the mind of the beholder.

I've never met an objective "progressive". They invariably draw a conclusion, then begin to round up "facts" to support that end.

I.E., Global warming is "settled science", maintaining our national borders is a way of "splitting up families", the Second Amendment is "flawed", free enterprise (in lieu of socialism) is damaging to the middle-class. Solar energy is the way to to produce cheap power and should be mandated.

And the liberal beat goes on, and on, and on........

Darby
29473
Points
Darby 06/03/14 - 09:10 am
4
1
Rep-tards ???

How charming. AND SO ORIGINAL.

See my previous post.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 09:52 am
5
1
Well it is

Well it is Dem-o-lack-o-logic-o Party. DOJ says we can't have a patch work of state laws regulating immigration, and but then he supports a patch work of state laws regarding pot. Does the man have a functioning brain? Well no that's obvious-nothing he does makes any logical sense. Then they have the gaul to even breathe the word "fair"-I just about stroke.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 10:25 am
5
0
My bet Carney will be a new

My bet Carney will be a new talking head on MSNBC. He has to be to continue to support the Obama lies even after leaving as press secretary by being a supportive news press. Same job just different title.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 06/03/14 - 10:50 am
4
2
At least at MSNBC, we don't
Unpublished

At least at MSNBC, we don't have to pay him!

prov227
3468
Points
prov227 06/03/14 - 11:02 am
3
0
Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 06/03/14 - 11:04 am
4
2
prov.....the press sec has
Unpublished

prov.....the press sec has ALWAYS been a shill for the President, but I have never seen one have so many lies, crimes, and scandals that he had to spin.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 12:22 pm
4
0
Bergdahl will end up a

Bergdahl will end up a decorated war hero-run for office like McCain as a prisoner of war. He will be another muslim Congressman-any takers on this bet? All the people who would testify that he was a deserter will mysteriously end up in Gitmo. I wouldn't put it past Obama.

harley_52
26074
Points
harley_52 06/03/14 - 12:33 pm
4
0
"Bergdahl will end up a decorated war hero...."

There is a strong possibility this will become THE MOST historic examples of treachery and treason in the history of the United States.

And I'm not just talking about Bergdahl either.

Bizkit
35740
Points
Bizkit 06/03/14 - 12:40 pm
4
0
I completely agree Harley on

I completely agree Harley on that one. Five of the most baddest-er bad guys in Gitmo and they traded for one soldier. Statistically it is just a matter of a year to two when they will kill Americans in grand scale. Dang if only they would have tried as hard to save their friend Ambassador Stevens, then I would give some credit to "we don't leave our men behind". Please kiss my behind.

KSL
144554
Points
KSL 06/03/14 - 12:58 pm
5
1
Just wondering how Obama's

Just wondering how Obama's supporters are going to square this up.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 06/03/14 - 01:13 pm
5
1
KSL..they will bring up
Unpublished

KSL..they will bring up something that someone else did wrong in an attempt to rationalize.....or just blame it on Bush.

KSL
144554
Points
KSL 06/03/14 - 01:24 pm
4
1
I also wonder what obama was

I also wonder what obama was wanting to accomplish.

t3bledsoe
14291
Points
t3bledsoe 06/03/14 - 02:00 pm
4
2
press sec.

There is no way that I believe that he is leaving due to family concerns! I want to give him the benefit of being sick and tired of trying to spin a good thing out of an obvious lie!

harley_52
26074
Points
harley_52 06/03/14 - 02:06 pm
4
0
"Statistically it is just a matter of a year to two....

....when they will kill Americans in grand scale. "

We have a KNOWN, CONFESSED deserter who (apparently voluntarily) spent five years working with the enemy to finally arrange for the release of the five most senior, most cunning, most vicious prisoners held captive by the U.S.. The deal was negotiated between the Executive Branch, in secret, and against the laws of the U.S..

To top it all off, the President held a special ceremony in the Rose Garden to announce the deal and gave the deserter/traitor's father (sporting a taliban beard) the opportunity to show his support for what the deserter/traitor had done.

Why the ceremony? What was the message? We KNEW what he had done, but still awarded him special praise and recognition.

Stay tuned folks...this is just beginning.

harley_52
26074
Points
harley_52 06/03/14 - 02:13 pm
4
0
The Taliban...

....is not a nation-state. They have zero legal standing. They are terrorists. They have no rights under the Geneva Conventions. It has ALWAYS been our policy NOT to negotiate with terrorists

Why now? Why for this KNOWN deserter/traitor? Why such a lopsided deal? One buck Sergeant for five General Officer level Talibanis? We let the Taliban select the five they most wanted.

There is MUCH more to this story.

None of it is good.

t3bledsoe
14291
Points
t3bledsoe 06/03/14 - 02:21 pm
3
1
President Obama

I wonder how many thousands of voters REGRET voting for Obama?? It is very difficult to have voted for a man who has turned a 180 from his political promises! Some of what Obama has said and done were for good reasons, BUT unfortunately the bad amount of "stuff" is much greater than the good!

Back to Top
loading...
Top headlines

Stormwater fee to fund Columbia County repairs

Columbia County is set to invest an additional $600,000 in its aging stormwater system next year, with the hope that more money and manpower will result in half as many repair orders and fewer ...
Search Augusta jobs