A new choice for mayor

With Blocker-Adams out, Hardie Davis emerges as best candidate

  • Follow Editorials

The suspension of Helen Blocker-Adams’ mayoral campaign punctuates a profound disappointment.

The candidate whom The Augusta Chronicle endorsed to be Augusta’s next mayor was the picture of contrition on a rainy afternoon Thursday. Reading a prepared statement, she took full responsibility for some $70,000 in debt and a history of dispossession and eviction notices.

Having financial difficulties isn’t a cardinal sin, but a repeated failure to address them in a forthright manner is. That’s doubly so when you’re seeking political office.

This page has an abiding fondness and respect for Helen Blocker-Adams. We admire her still for her can-do spirit, her relentless boosterism of our city and her willingness to help other people. But we urge her now to turn more of her energy and attention toward repairing the frailties of her finances as she continues her mission of repairing aspects of Augusta.

This obviously leads to a recasting of our mayoral endorsement.

To endorse no other candidate is tantamount to advising citizens to vote for no one, which is out of the question in an election of such importance.

In assessing the candidates, we harbored concerns about each of them. But in reassessing the now-smaller field, we feel comfortable and confident in recommending that voters elect Hardie Davis as Augusta’s next mayor May 20.

Davis has conveyed to us a renewed willingness to embrace openness at all levels of government. This cannot be understated. Openness to citizens; openness to – and from – the Augusta Commission; and especially openness to the press should be of paramount importance to the person leading this city.

His service as a Georgia state senator has honed his skills as a consensus-builder, and a uniter is absolutely the type of leader Augusta needs.

Davis grasps that the next mayor has to be an unflagging champion for Augusta. That includes being a standard-bearer in the fight to change the name of Georgia Regents University to a name that better reflects the school’s respected sense of place.

Davis brings an admirable level of sophistication and professionalism to all his endeavors. Put him in the mayor’s office, and we have no reason to expect any less.

Comments (25) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
younameit
203
Points
younameit 05/17/14 - 05:00 am
8
5
Go Jackets!

He should have been your first choice, hands down, and now you know it. As a Georgia Tech graduate, he's been trained to solve problems. That's what they do; and that's what our mayor should do - in the sunlight! He'll be a heckuva, heckuva, heckuva, heckuva, heckuva point man for this special city.

Riverman1
87143
Points
Riverman1 05/17/14 - 05:14 am
8
5
Welcome To Our World

“In assessing the candidates, we harbored concerns about each of them.”

Most of us do, but I believe Davis or Mason can unite the Commission as Augusta moves into a new phase of its history. There won’t be so much infighting now as the transition to a black controlled government is about complete. As far as Helen Blocker-Adams, her past of having legal action taken against her about every time the rent is due is indicative of inner problems far beyond her financial woes. I hope she gets serious help.

corgimom
34234
Points
corgimom 05/17/14 - 07:00 am
9
5
While I don't know HBA

While I don't know HBA personally, I do recognize a person that has serious problems, including an inability to be forthright and thinking that unpleasantness will just magically go away, and saying that 90% of Augustans have done what she has done.

I agree with Riverman, she needs help, and I hope that she receives it.

seenitB4
90981
Points
seenitB4 05/17/14 - 07:16 am
8
3
Pie in the sky attitude(HBA)

Not very logical imo.

story1
802
Points
story1 05/17/14 - 07:36 am
7
4
Sorry

Sorry AC but still voting for Mr. Mason and No to Splost VII.

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 09:57 am
9
3
You Went From A...

...candidate that was against the illegal SPLOST VII to now one that supports it.

I really do not see how you can go from one extreme to the other.

As for Hardie Davis as a politician, I have no respect for a state legislator that aided the passing of the abomination called TSPLOST.

Hardie Davis seeming has never met a tax he didn't like.

Conservative Man
5577
Points
Conservative Man 05/17/14 - 10:04 am
8
3
I've said it before...

….the ACES flip-flopping has rendered their opinion, and their "endorsements" irrelevant to me and many thousands of others.

I would suggest they better use the space on the editorial page for something that can actually make a deference..

As to the Hardie Davis endorsement I say…"In other news, water makes you wet, sugar makes you fat, and fat people sweat"..

triscuit
3157
Points
triscuit 05/17/14 - 10:28 am
8
3
Admit it Chronicle/Morris,

Admit it Chronicle/Morris, this was your plan all along. And more people than you know are aware of it.

Lori Davis
958
Points
Lori Davis 05/17/14 - 10:48 am
8
2
Well Planned

All of this was well planned by the AC. Hardie Davis has been their choice all along and is their PRO SPLOST CANDIDATE. Hardie is also Deke's choice. If we want more of the same in Augusta, we will vote for Hardie Davis and yes for SPLOST. If we want to stop the continued manipulation by the powers that be, we will vote for Alvin Mason and no to SPLOST! If nothing else, VOTE NO TO SPLOST!!!!

GnipGnop
12467
Points
GnipGnop 05/17/14 - 11:05 am
8
4
Yeah

Who didn't see this one coming...Billy, Paul and Hardie all eating at the taxpayer trough together.... Shocked? Not even a smidgen!

GnipGnop
12467
Points
GnipGnop 05/17/14 - 11:09 am
1
0
Double post

Double post

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 11:06 am
9
2
I Was Not A Supporter...

...of Helen Blocker Adams but I find it amazing that a newspaper didn't investigate her political, professional and personal dealings before endorsing her for mayor.

I find it difficult to believe her financial dealings are only now seeing the light of day considering how long she has been a fixture in the fabric of Augusta. Based on the timing of the disclosures I smell a political hatchet job that was orchestrated to sway the outcome of the upcoming election.

In the end remember, Augusta Georgia is a corrupt city where the status quo is fighting to maintain its hold.

historylover
11386
Points
historylover 05/17/14 - 11:13 am
5
7
Very well said

ACES your comments on Helen Blocker-Adams were very well stated. As a matter of fact the whole editorial is spot on. Thank you!

countyman
20630
Points
countyman 05/17/14 - 11:55 am
3
12
TSplost

The best candidate in the mayor's race is Hardie Davis... Why should the public vote for Mason over Davis?

Which candidate is more likely to debate the opposition instead of creating huge arguments that linger on in the media?

Which candidate is more than likely to get involved with the mentality of ''let's stick it to the other crowd since were in charge now''?

The major problem I have with Mr. Mason is when he suggested the citizens should vote for the TEE Center again.. The debate over the parking deck or contract with the Marriott was fine, but you can't get mad simply because you don't like the TEE Center..

Is he going to suggest the citizens vote for splost again if the package goes through?

The other problem is Mr. Mason continues to focus on South Augusta in every single interview. I have a feeling South Augusta and then downtown are going to become the main focus... The growth potential of South Augusta is tremendous and the empty tracts of land present incredible opportunities for growth.. The residents of Summerville or West Augusta shouldn't have to rely on private construction for improvements..

The majority of citizens in the metro area supported the TSplost package and not just Hardie Davis... The residents of South Augusta wanted to see construction begin on Windsor Spring and Mike Padgett.. The TSplost is responsible for the new construction in South Augusta and the extension of Riverwatch pkwy in Martinez/West Augusta... The voters of Richmond County will vote for Splost, because the alternative is much worse..

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 12:05 pm
6
3
TSPLOST...

...is and was a joke. It was rejected by an overwhelming majority of the state. It passed in Augusta mainly because most voters that voted for it thought it was for public transportation. Anyway TSPLOST money seems to be earmarked for the Berckmann Road project to benefited the Augusta National Golf Course.

As for the talk about the SPLOST not being a tax well the abbreviation SPLOST means SPecial Local Option Sales Tax.

SPLOST VII is just another tax added to the TSPLOST, SPLOST VI (still in effect for another two years), local taxes, state taxes and federal taxes.

story1
802
Points
story1 05/17/14 - 12:05 pm
3
2
countyman

Only need one reason to vote for Mason, he opposes Splost in current form. Too many outside agencies gathered at the handout line.

countyman
20630
Points
countyman 05/17/14 - 12:21 pm
3
7
TSplost

The amount of road construction taking place in metro Augusta will be much higher compared to the overwhelmingly majority of the state..

The people clearly knew TSplost was for infrastructure and not public transportation(TSplost includes millions for public transportation)..

TSplost will pay for the Berckman road improvements, but it's paying for many other improvements across the county(Windsor Spring, Mike Padgett, Wrightsboro, etc)..

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 12:26 pm
4
3
As For Hardie Davis For...

...mayor I find his I distinguished career representing the people in the Gold Dome not a résumé booster. His support of the TSPLOST as well as legislation that was and is beneficial of Georgia Power and not the people of Georgia reason enough to question his commitment to 'people'.

While generally thought of as a nice man, Augusta needs a leader that is willing to think outside of the box and not be boxed in by political debt and already responsible for the repayment of the political debt Augusta's power brokers.

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 12:42 pm
6
2
TSPLOST...

...I have seen the documentation that was altered to favor early construction of the Berckmann Road project mainly because collections being well off projections. So it is fair to say projects will not be funded but the Berckmann Road project will to the funded and completed.

As for truth in elections, many friends have received pro-SPLOST VII mail saying it is not a 'tax'. So everyone knows it is a sales tax but supporters are saying it is not. So unless a voter doesn't research the issues half truths and fabrications pass for fact. So please do not tell me the voters were not deceived on the TSPLOST.

Riverman1
87143
Points
Riverman1 05/17/14 - 01:04 pm
4
3
Hardie Davis' Voting Record

Just so everyone will know what the next mayor believes. He voted AGAINST the following:

Immigration Status Verification of Private Business Workers

Immigration Enforcement Act

Exempts Religious Employers from Insurance Requirements for Coverage of Contraception

Prohibits Abortions after 20 Weeks

Requires Drug Tests for Certain Welfare Recipients

gargoyle
18677
Points
gargoyle 05/17/14 - 02:50 pm
2
2
For the first time since the

For the first time since the early eighties I may not cast a vote for the mayors race. The fatal flaws of four of the candidates keep me from trusting them with a key to the public till. The one that's left while he probably do a good job doesn't represent my views on the role of government. Wish we had a None of the Above box to check and reset a new list of choices.

Gage Creed
17876
Points
Gage Creed 05/17/14 - 04:18 pm
5
2
SPLOST

As usual, those that feed at the public funding trough are squealing, squirming and jockeying for position.

badmoon426
1187
Points
badmoon426 05/17/14 - 06:15 pm
1
1
Hardie Davis...

...is a Democrat but his voting record is definitely all over the place. I wonder if the local Democrats would even claim him with a voting record like that.

Since his power broker friends are mainly Republicans maybe there will be change in party affiliation as well.

rebellious
21306
Points
rebellious 05/18/14 - 10:02 pm
2
0
Who Cares

what a candidate thinks about the SPLOST VII? That issue will be decided by the voters of Richmond County, not the Mayor. You would base a mayoral candidate selection on a single issue? And we all know Mason has strategically distanced himself from meetings and discussions until after the fact.

The position of Mayor is more valuable being a consensus builder behind the scenes. Having a vision for all of Augusta and then being able to share with the goal of convincing the commissioners of the value to all.

Hardie Davis is a statesman, and brings a calm, rational demeanor to the table. No need to point out the difference in personality types of the other candidates, just educate yourselves and look at the leadership style qualities.

And you guys were drinking Helen's Koolaid like a thirsty pack of wolves. Jeez Louise. And now we claim a conspiracy which would have been launched in another state some 20 years ago and involved HBA's co-operation in not paying her rent. Yea Right!

Little Lamb
47027
Points
Little Lamb 05/19/14 - 10:11 am
0
1
Mason

Another good reason to vote for Mason is that Mason (along with Bill Lockett) attempted to fire Fred Russell over a year before he actually was fired. They just could not overcome the downtown cabal power brokers. Still they got four votes to oust Fred.

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs