Sterling example of progress

Nation's united stance against one man's bigotry offers hope

  • Follow Editorials

Oddly enough, one man’s bigotry has the power to unite many others.

Los Angeles Clippers fans Tuesday night chanted “We are one!” and displayed the same unity on signs and T-shirts – just hours after the team’s owner was banned for life from team and league activities and ordered to sell the franchise for his racist views.

We hope that beautiful sentiment – that we are one – wafts throughout the nation.

Indeed, even in the midst of the ignorant, ugly, archaic, naked racism on the part of Clippers owner Donald Sterling – who bizarrely told a female friend not to bring blacks to his team’s games – all of us who hope and pray for continued racial progress and reconciliation should be buoyed by the aftermath of this hideous episode.

For one thing, we applaud National Basketball Association Commissioner Adam Silver for quick and decisive action – including a maximum $2.5 million fine levied against Sterling. As investigations go, this one was lightning quick. As punishments go, it fit the crime – though the full sentence, of course, won’t be carried out until Sterling sells the team, or is forced to by a three-quarter vote of other NBA owners.

But it’s also clear that a powerful swath of outrage has swept across the plains like a spring storm. Almost everyone agrees this was reprehensible and in no way acceptable.

We should take heart from that. We stood as one this day.

When, in recent memory, has a racially tinged episode ever been so rapidly, forcefully and broadly swatted down? Usually there are nuances to debate, high-profile holdouts hanging on to bygone bigotry. There are a few now, of course – but consider how quietly and sheepishly they’ve had to try to disagree.

The racists haven’t just lost. They’ve been thoroughly routed.

Part of it is that there’s no wiggle room in this incident. Nothing in Sterling’s hateful words was subject to subtlety or mitigation. Nothing could’ve been taken out of context or explained away. There’s no way he could’ve claimed to have misspoken.

Rarely has a national racial outrage been more black and white.

Still, issues of race will never be a no-brainer in America; not in our lifetimes. This is a milestone. And not, as it appeared at first, a bad one. We made it a good one – by deciding to be one.

That feels good.

Comments (152) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
ymnbde
11511
Points
ymnbde 05/02/14 - 04:53 am
10
3
rich villain, rich victim, the simplest of plots

oh, the media does love that
the man spoke to his "girlfriend" with the sole purpose
of influencing his "girlfriend's" behavior
if she was "consorting" with Hungarians, he would have said
"don't hang around with Hungarians"
because he would have been jealous of the Hungarian
private words meant to influence a mistress are chosen
for their immediate influential value and may or may not reflect what the man truly believes
men lie to women 77% of the time, anyway
perhaps future basketball games can start with the Horst Wessel Song
a lot of ado with very little substance
but it did fit the media's IQ perfectly

Riverman1
103348
Points
Riverman1 05/02/14 - 05:36 am
11
2
How Far Will We Go?

As, ymnbde said, it was a private conversation with his ex-lover. If she had been bringing midgets to the game he would have said don't bring those midgets to my games. Just stay away from my games. If private conversations are going to be recorded and the person punished if he says something wrong we are in a troubling big brother state.

owensjef3
5639
Points
owensjef3 05/02/14 - 06:05 am
0
0
What are they talking about,
Unpublished

What are they talking about, look at the guys history, the picture that set him off was Magic Johnson not Tyrone Knight.

Jon Lester
2480
Points
Jon Lester 05/02/14 - 06:52 am
7
4
I don't care about rich old white people, either,
Unpublished

but I would have expected you to have some concerns about a cartel's ability to ban someone from his own property and force him to sell his business. That's not exactly in line with free market principles.

Bizkit
39329
Points
Bizkit 05/02/14 - 07:33 am
5
2
I don't believe in "races"

I don't believe in "races" and never been a racist. But now out of the principal of freedom I have to side with racist-they have the freedom to be racist (no matter how personally disgusting I think it is). Just like someone could find any of our opinions offensive, we have to tolerate offensive speech. We see plenty of racism in the black community but no repercussions have fallen on Sharpton and people of his ilk. But there shouldn't be-we have a right to free speech and that speech can offend anyone and everyone. Seems if you tend to be conservative and discriminatory you are held to a different standard than discriminatory and progressive. You can be progressive and express contempt for jews, christians, blacks and wealth, but conservatives can't express contempt for muslims, blacks or homosexuals. Note racism is expressed by conservatives and progressives. Fact is freedom has nothing to do with a political party it is all our right. Although progressives want to usurp our constitution and working to change it as we speak with making electoral college obsolete, fairness doctrine, ignore the balance of power, etc. . They progressives must really really hate freedom for all-they believe in freedom for the select.

ymnbde
11511
Points
ymnbde 05/02/14 - 07:32 am
6
2
the true racists are in charge of our public education system

their victims are actually identifiable

Bizkit
39329
Points
Bizkit 05/02/14 - 08:00 am
5
2
Well I guess now the standard

Well I guess now the standard is say something racist towards any ethnicity and you are banned from life and all your possessions confiscated? So will this apply to any discrimination so a homosexual who bashes a christian and a christian who bashes a homosexual will both be found guilty of discrimination and banned from life and all their possessions confiscated? I mean if we are going this way it needs to be "fair". I think to be fair we need to retroactively punish Al Sharpton banning him from MSNBC and life, and fine him 2.5 million dollars. It would be discriminatory and hypocritical to do otherwise.

corgimom
43197
Points
corgimom 05/02/14 - 09:15 am
4
1
This was done so that the NBA

This was done so that the NBA players would keep playing. The truth is that nobody much cares what that old fool said to his girlfriend, who was only interested in him because he was rich and owned an NBA team.

Bizkit
39329
Points
Bizkit 05/02/14 - 09:29 am
5
3
So if it's OK for black

So if it's OK for black players to reject a white racist owner, why can't businesses reject a black patron, or businesses reject the ACA birth control mandate for religious reasons If we are going to discriminate lets do it right.

owensjef3
5639
Points
owensjef3 05/02/14 - 09:33 am
0
0
That's just ridiculous .
Unpublished

That's just ridiculous .

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 10:16 am
5
2
I think it would be
Unpublished

I think it would be interesting if Sterling were to take this case to court. The NBA's sole piece of evidence was illegally obtained, so how would they make their case?

seenitB4
108812
Points
seenitB4 05/02/14 - 10:26 am
6
2
ole fool with money

He would have been jealous of ANY color man with her....btw...what was it Jesse Jackson said in private about Obama's private parts?? Did he lose anything over that stupid statement?

KasparHauser
368
Points
KasparHauser 05/02/14 - 11:18 am
0
0
TalkingPointTrolls@AugustaChron.nut
Unpublished

Ahhhh, still spouting the Company Line.

I have little doubt, given past editorial stances in tacit agreement with voter suppression and the like, that if the SOCTUS dimbos hadn't used this very excuse for their recent wave of 'pay no attention to the klansman behind the curtain' rulings, this editorial would have been whining about how all these 'good' MEN were thrown out before getting a 'fair and balanced' trial. You're all REALLY that predictable. (BTW, too bad that knee jerk Mad-Libs editorial template has been rendered somewhat less useful than before).

The recent past shows that IN SPITE of the last 50 years, racism is alive and well, especially in the white trash corridors of power. And, I can personally vouch for it's continued existence elsewhere, as in a grad of a local Institute who asked what the big deal was with a person not wanting his adulterous bit on the side not being SEEN with blacks.

But, as the dimbos have tole usin's, racism is dead. Just don't poke the corpse or you're gonna haul back a stump.

The good news is that the bedrock of racists will probably be dead in a decade or so, or at least the racists who have tried to raise another generation of racists is gonna be; thereafter, time isn't on their side as their continual venom drip into the body politic will be less and less effective.

But, HOW MANY LIVES WILL BE TAINTED OR RUINED IN THE MEAN TIME?

Oh, and nice appeal to the people who think somehow prayer is gonna right the bigotry that still lives after centuries of prayers on the subject. Therapy for the prayers that makes them feel good is always preferable to actually changing the rules of the game for the folks on top of the food chain.

Also, interesting how Bundy was a Hero hereabouts, and his milita's testosterone fueled gun abuse cheered to the point of nothing being said about forming terrorist-style human shields of wives/women, but now Bundy is to be reviled because he held pretty much associated racist views. Poor research, and where was the research on those militia types protecting Bundy?

Of course, that would have required a real reporting capability, while the Chronicle is mostly just a group of editors sniffing the mimeograph distributions of the GOP and other hate organizations (mimeo was good enough for George Washington, so it's good enough for me!). That's 'mostly', not exclusively.

OJP
8401
Points
OJP 05/02/14 - 10:41 am
3
4
@Riverman1

A "big brother state" requires a state - a government. There was no government action here. The NBA is a business and they decided that a racist owner was bad for business, so he's gone. Are you suggesting that the government prevent business from making business decisions? THAT sounds more like a "big brother state" to me than what happened here.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 10:43 am
3
2
OJP...if the NBA decided that
Unpublished

OJP...if the NBA decided that a pro-gay team owner is bad for business and treated him the same way, would you render your support as well?

OJP
8401
Points
OJP 05/02/14 - 10:47 am
3
3
Great editorial. We should not and do not have to tolerate

racism. Same goes for gender discrimination and, yes, discrimination against LGBT individuals.

What we are seeing is collective values of America being expressed by Americans in the economic marketplace and the marketplace of ideas via their pocketbooks. We remain free to be racist, misogynist, homophobic, etc., and we also remain free to refuse to conduct business with racists, misogynists, homophobes, etc.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 10:49 am
5
2
We also remain free to refuse
Unpublished

We also remain free to refuse to conduct business with heterophobes. Right?

corgimom
43197
Points
corgimom 05/02/14 - 10:51 am
8
0
He was a jealous old man that

He was a jealous old man that was involved in a discussion with his young girlfriend. Period. And it should be taken in that context, and dismissed accordingly.

If any of us were judged by the things we said in the heat of the moment towards a spouse or love interest, we all would be in a lot of trouble.

Personally, I think he was set up by that no-good woman.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 10:53 am
5
3
It is sad when you an be
Unpublished

It is sad when you an be deprived of your property because of the intolerance of others, even when you have violated no laws.

Riverman1
103348
Points
Riverman1 05/02/14 - 10:55 am
6
0
OJP Asked...

OJP asked, "Are you suggesting that the government prevent business from making business decisions?"

Heh, they've been doing that a long time.

But my point was referring to the Big Brother mentality whether it is government or something like the NBA. It's ridiculous to use illegally taped personal conversations between ex-lovers to kick this man out of the NBA. We had just as well let the Red Guard parade him through the streets and let the people spit on him.

Rhetor
1140
Points
Rhetor 05/02/14 - 10:55 am
0
3
well, yes, but

I would like to agree. But look at some of the above posts! Yikes!

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 10:58 am
3
2
OJP...if the NBA decided that
Unpublished

OJP...if the NBA decided that a pro-gay team owner is bad for business and treated him the same way, would you render your support as well?

OJP
8401
Points
OJP 05/02/14 - 11:02 am
4
3
@Pond Life

As a supporter of equal rights, no, I would not support such an owner.

But that's not the point. If an NBA owner (or any business owner) stakes a claim on racism or homophobia, the business' customers get to judge that claim. If the response is strong enough in either direction, the owner will need to respond. Here, the NBA responded by banning this owner. Chick-fil-A responded by not changing its position. That's how the game is played.

So, yes, I support the system but as a player in that system, I personally prefer certain outcomes over others.

KasparHauser
368
Points
KasparHauser 05/02/14 - 11:04 am
0
1
What Don't You Understand about Laws....
Unpublished

"We remain free to be racist, misogynist, homophobic, etc., and we also remain free to refuse to conduct business with racists, misogynists, homophobes, etc."

How quaint, you forgot the important squares of the racist/non-racist x discriminate against/not discriminate against matrix. Tacitly, your credo endorses that it's OK for racists to discriminate with others; and, that's been the practical implementation of your outlook and the VERY REASON THERE ARE LAWS AGAINST IT.

Your just in favor of the status quo/SOB, but with a nicer Go Fast stripe painted on the side...

OJP
8401
Points
OJP 05/02/14 - 11:07 am
3
4
@Riverman1

So, yes? You support the government forcing the NBA to lift the ban?

And a "Big Brother" mentality by definition requires a state. You can't raise that as a scare phrase when the government isn't involved.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 11:07 am
4
3
I see...so as long as the
Unpublished

I see...so as long as the offensive behavior is deemed offensive by YOU then they have that right....but you don't support EVERYONE's right to do the same thing based on THEIR beliefs. Only those who are like minded. That makes sense. Freedom of speech as long as you don't offend me.

Personally, I defend people's freedom, even if I find them vile and disgusting. I will never try to take sanctions on someone for being free.

Chik fil a? Who's property did they take away?

Bizkit
39329
Points
Bizkit 05/02/14 - 11:11 am
6
1
Well yes we do have to

Well yes we do have to tolerate racism and all forms of discrimination as a matter of freedom of speech but we don't have to tolerate people acting on their opinions and restricting others of life, liberty, etc. So you can be racist like ole Gov Maddox and have strong opinions, but still had to serve everyone in his restaurant. Sterling has a right to be a racist by opinion, but he can't run his team with overt racism or discriminate. Which has he? If Sterling can't discriminate against a player (while the players can be racist too and hate Sterling by opinion) why should they be able to discriminate against him and restrict his life, liberty, etc. because of an opinion-and not an overt discriminatory action towards any player. Where does it say you have to like your employer or employees. Fighting discrimination with discrimination is really ineffective and inane. Now I don't have a problem with the commissioner did as punishment, but I firmly believe that Sterling (who is a lawyer) will fight this and he has a good chance to win. As I stated before, he may lose the battle of public opinion but win a legal court battle. Which is really going to stir up a hornets nest.

Pond Life
17682
Points
Pond Life 05/02/14 - 11:11 am
3
2
"So, yes? You support the
Unpublished

"So, yes? You support the government forcing the NBA to lift the ban?

And a "Big Brother" mentality by definition requires a state. You can't raise that as a scare phrase when the government isn't involved."

If he were banned because he was Pro-gay, would you want the government to force them to lift the ban? Or would you maintain that it is a right of the business?

seenitB4
108812
Points
seenitB4 05/02/14 - 11:15 am
3
2
Birds of a feather flock together

I predict the ole fool will get back with this woman....a challenge he can't resist...they deserve each other.

OJP
8401
Points
OJP 05/02/14 - 11:17 am
4
2
@Pond Life

"If he were banned because he was Pro-gay, would you want the government to force them to lift the ban?"

Nope

"Or would you maintain that it is a right of the business?"

Yep

Back to Top
loading...
Top headlines

Georgia may lower income tax

ATLANTA -- Georgia Republicans have introduced a bill that will lower the rate on income taxes for individuals and businesses that their economists estimate will result in 14,000 or so jobs.
Search Augusta jobs