Beware of the dogma

More people are turning off liberal-leaning CNN because CNN is turning more people off

  • Follow Editorials

Plenty of blame will rightly be heaped on Piers Morgan for the fiery failure of his prime-time show on CNN, now canceled.

Back | Next
Anderson Cooper has ridiculed the Tea Party with obscenities on his CNN program.  FILE
FILE
Anderson Cooper has ridiculed the Tea Party with obscenities on his CNN program.

If you believe reports from insiders, the show’s karma likely ran over its dogma: Newsday reports that the British tabloid talker was a belligerent old soul, especially to the “little” people behind the cameras.

“The makeup girls suffered the worst – he was rude and belligerent,” the newspaper quoted one source. “The general feeling is Morgan didn’t show any respect to anyone working under him — the people who were trying to make him look good.”

Too, the combative Morgan had become maniacally obsessed with his adopted nation’s gun laws. Even the liberal New York Times compared the Brit’s incessant anti-gun rant to “King George III, peering down his nose at the unruly colonies and wondering how to bring the savages to heel.”

And it was, after all, the king who inspired our Second Amendment.

But that criticism is far too narrow, as regards both Morgan and CNN.

Morgan wasn’t just opposed to nearly all conservative causes, but was openly hostile to them.

And therein lies CNN’s problem. It doesn’t just have a liberal point of view 24/7. That’s not enough. It’s hostile to conservatives, most of whom refuse to be lectured to thusly, which is to say smugly and condescendingly.

For all appearances, it’s the network’s business model.

Anchorman Anderson Cooper once ridiculed Tea Party supporters by knowingly using an obscene pejorative about them. He and his ultra-raunchy pal, comedienne Kathy Griffin, may be best known, though, for her simulated sex act on him during their New Year’s Eve “coverage.”

Anchorwoman Carol Costello recently unilaterally declared the global warming debate over. King George, meet Queen Carol.

Then-CNN Reporter Jessica Yellin once suggested strategy to President Obama – where does a reporter get off coaching partisans anyway? – including that he should basically keep congressional leaders in a room until they agree to his demands. Even Obama had to remind her he’s not a dictator. When Republican Mitt Romney said he had binders full of female candidates for jobs in Massachusetts – as proof of his reaching out to women – Yellin actually criticized that, sniffing that Romney was acting “like working women are some mail-order product you can order out of colored binders.”

CNN’s Candy Crowley, while moderating a debate between Obama and Romney, actually stepped in to support Obama at one point – and was not only wrong in doing so, but was wrong about the facts.

Then-anchorwoman Soledad O’Brien used to appear as if she had a personal stake in Democratic arguments – and critics claim she once was caught holding onto talking points from a left-wing website while debating a Republican on camera.

From O’Brien to Jeffrey Toobin to disgraced Democrat Eliot Spitzer – whom CNN tried, and failed, to rehabilitate into a national show host – the bias, and even a contempt for conservative Americans, is open and unrelenting.

What do they expect to happen as a result?

Whatever your take on politics or CNN, it’s unquestionable that CNN has turned off conservatives, and vice versa.

Why? Do network officials not see it? Surely they must. Do they not care that the network is tanking in the
ratings? Surely they must. Or is it simply more important to ply the liberal ideology?

As a Georgia-based network, we’d love to cheer CNN on. But the network seems intent on sneering at conservatives and propping up Democrats. And the former “worldwide leader in news” has little stomach for the many scandals engulfing the Obama administration, from Fast and Furious to Benghazi to domestic spying to IRS targeting of conservatives and more.

There’s a waiting audience out there of fair-minded liberals, moderates and conservatives. There are ratings and revenues to be had. Fox News has proved that, with ratings that are sometimes double that of all its cable news competitors – combined. Attracting those viewers will require more balance and reason on the part of CNN, and less shrill shilling for the Democratic Party.

Liberals have tried to sell the notion that Fox News is the fringe network. The numbers – and the spectacular ratings flameouts like Piers Morgan’s at CNN – say otherwise.

Comments (38) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
stuaby
4919
Points
stuaby 03/02/14 - 06:57 pm
2
1
@t3bledsoe

"I am a moderate liberal, and I see myself as a fair-minded person."

Noted.

KSL
144812
Points
KSL 03/02/14 - 08:44 pm
1
2
Owen's, he has been gone.

Owen's, he has been gone.

dwb619
104883
Points
dwb619 03/02/14 - 09:14 pm
0
5
similarity

I have noticed a similarity between the style in the post of "Humble Angela" and "Pond Life".
Even the choice of avatars are similar.
Could be just a coincidence.

Darby
29532
Points
Darby 03/02/14 - 10:12 pm
5
2
"I don't think anyone can really think Fox

is any more "fair and balanced" then CNN."

.
Then your judgment is fatally flawed. When you have so-called journalist on Fox placing liberals and human excrement in the same sentence or making remarks about the need to eliminate or kill said liberals, then get back to us.

CNN daily reflects the pejorative positions and attitudes of it's founders.

Bizkit
35764
Points
Bizkit 03/02/14 - 10:38 pm
3
1
Funny I thought Pond Life

Funny I thought Pond Life might be Humble too. You can't really hide certain traits.

dwb619
104883
Points
dwb619 03/02/14 - 11:04 pm
0
2
certain traits

Back in the days before the Aiken newspaper went to Facebook requirement the comments section did get rather rowdy.
I confess to contributing more than one energetic rebuttal.
There was one poster who was "thrown off" the board at least 8 times.
He would show back up within a week under a new screen name, but the same style of prose, always making personal attacks on the same people.
Always called immediate attention to himself and would get "tossed" again.
It was entertaining, but the atmosphere on these boards are much more civil.On edit: I am not suggesting in any way that the poster had been banned.

bubbasauce
24315
Points
bubbasauce 03/02/14 - 11:41 pm
1
1
T3bledsoe, humble angela was

T3bledsoe, humble angela was spanked by Sean for telling the truth to many low information liberals that comment on here. Come back HA, we do indeed miss you and your outspoken truths!

myfather15
57307
Points
myfather15 03/03/14 - 06:51 am
2
1
Yes, the cream will always

Yes, the cream will always rise to the top; which will make liberals HATE THEM, all the more!!

Fox News (or Faux News as liberals love to call it) are the Greatest Cable news network, ever!! Which is exactly what puts the liberals in ATTACK MODE!! They hate them to their very core!!! Which tells me they are doing something right!!

Liberals cheat, lie and steal to get their way; often using federal judges to legislate their will upon the people!! The majority of people are NOT left wing radicals and do not like the policies!! But when they win more and more battles, it gives the perception that their policies are becoming more acceptable!! But when radical leftists like Morgan, fail in their shows, it should tell people something.

Junior Dawg
309
Points
Junior Dawg 03/04/14 - 07:47 pm
0
0
T3bledsoe...

It's good to here that a moderate liberal beliefs that our government is debilitating. To bad you are the ONLY liberal to have that view point.

Darby
29532
Points
Darby 03/05/14 - 03:37 pm
1
0
"It's good to here (sic) that a moderate liberal

beliefs (sic) that our government is debilitating."

.
Dawg, I'm not so certain that T3 knows exactly what his political ideology is.

jaymai
414
Points
jaymai 03/06/14 - 09:15 am
1
0
So high ratings prove Fox is

So high ratings prove Fox is right? Please. All that proves is that they're more popular and more entertaining than the rest of the "news" networks. At least to those who have nothing better to do with their time when they get off work than sit and watch hours of propaganda. And why is Fox REALLY so "popular"? Who knows for sure? For some males, it could simply be because the Fox babes are all hotter (of course their competition, i.e. Candy Crowley and Rachael Maddow, leave much to be desired in the looks department, but I digress). I personally don't like the way all the cable "news" networks present a few minutes of dumbed down, watered down, selectively spliced snipets of the "news," followed by hours upon hours of "experts" who's job it is to validate the views and opinions of their loyal viewers. As a result, high ratings because viewers keep coming back because they know where they can go to get a "see I told ya I knew what I was talking about" fix, instead of actually wanting to know facts and drawing their own conclusions from them, or (heaven forbid!) having their own views challenged for a change. No, we all want to think that we're experts in, i.e., foreign policy and economics, just because Sean Hannity says something we happen to agree with. I mean, how many of you loyal Fox followers would chose a doctor who only told you stuff you agreed with? Me, I guess I'm old fashioned. I READ and search multiple sources for news (not implying some of you don't). But in the end, I don't look to the news as "entertainment." I just want someone to report the news; not tell me what I'm supposed to think about it.

Young Fred
21146
Points
Young Fred 03/08/14 - 04:25 am
0
1
Fox CNN

Fox or CNN, it matters not. Either one, you're getting a product. It kills me. People tell me the listen/watch both so therefore, by definition, they actually believe they're "informed".

Young Fred
21146
Points
Young Fred 03/08/14 - 04:41 am
0
1
jaymai

makes many excellent points. Too bad he/she doesn't apply the "same" across the board, and to all sources. "twood make his rant against fox much more believable. Yes he is accurate. Yes CNN, CBS, ABC, and public radio is guilty of the same.

One would think, after reading jaymai's rant, that merely not listening/watching FOX would make you a super doper all around trooper. Capable, nay, Justified, to spout platitudes around all the "right" peeps, .

Please! It never ceases to amaze me that those that have "it" all figured out, are those that have the least figured.

Back to Top
loading...
Top headlines

City Ink: New board means more work for me

First Mayor-elect Hardie Davis will be sworn in, and the very next day the work will begin. Commissioners will meet and the gavel will fall. It will be a brand new day at City Hall.
Search Augusta jobs