An appeal to reason

Don't get caught up in misguided hysteria after Zimmerman verdict

  • Follow Editorials

Who’s hounding whom now?

The very people who bitterly complain that George Zimmerman stalked Trayvon Martin now seem intent on dogging Zimmerman, even after a jury acquitted him in what everyone concedes was a fair trial.

They say they want justice, but only if it leads to the outcome they expect. The justice system spoke for itself, and on Saturday found Zimmerman not guilty of second-degree murder and manslaughter.

As we warned in an editorial Saturday, those who tuned in to the former mainstream media were exposed to a perverted view of the case that presented the prosecution in an unrealistically favorable light – and were likely shocked by the outcome as a result.

The case was not only riddled with conflicting evidence and reasonable doubt, but also arguably some pretty compelling evidence that Zimmerman was being beaten before shooting Martin – which would buttress Zimmerman’s claim of self-defense. As other news outlets reported long ago, the physical evidence indicated wounds on Zimmerman’s face and head – and on Martin’s knuckles.

If there is any reasonable belief that Zimmerman was defending himself – and there is – then the jury was duty-bound to acquit him.

Even in the face of such facts, the former mainstream media just couldn’t resist selling the story line that this was a racial incident reminiscent of America’s inglorious past. Many in the left-wing media seem to want that past to be true today. They want to believe the worst in America. They’re not interested in the evidence. It gets in the way of a good, self-loathing story.

There was no evidence that Zimmerman had any racist tendencies whatsoever. In fact, there was evidence to the contrary, with one black witness calling Zimmerman a friendly neighbor. FBI reports say the police concluded Zimmerman was an “overzealous” neighborhood watchman who exhibited “a little hero complex, but not as a racist.”

Indeed, the only racist intonations in the trial came from Trayvon Martin himself, who used a racial slur in describing Zimmerman to a friend on the phone just before the fateful encounter.

These facts, and many more, not only point clearly to a verdict of not guilty, but also bring into question the pretext for the charges. As strongly as Mr. Martin’s supporters feel about the verdict, many folks believe just as strongly that this case was filed as much for political reasons as legal.

Yet, even after the verdict, some still want to hound Zimmerman, urging the U.S. Department of Justice to put him on trial again for violating Martin’s civil rights – again, in the face of absolutely no evidence of racial motivation.

This mob-like pound-of-flesh incitement on the part of some is causing a hysteria that leads to civil unrest and irrational statements such as one protester’s lament of “58 years, and nothing’s changed.” That’s just lunacy. And it’s a particularly perilous genre of fiction.

Leaders appealed for calm before and after the verdict, while not really achieving it. What we might want to appeal for is reason.

George Zimmerman is not a cop, and he should’ve left law enforcement to the law enforcers. He should never have followed anyone as he did. But our hounding him makes just as little sense. The jury has spoken.

Neither this case nor its conclusion have anything relevant or coherent to say about race relations in America.

Unfortunately, the reaction to it does.

Comments (91) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
itsanotherday1
42932
Points
itsanotherday1 07/16/13 - 03:38 pm
7
1
I agree.

"We Zimmerman got out that car to do what ever he planned to do and still pursued , that to me starts the event"

BUT, there is no law against what he did.

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 07/16/13 - 03:39 pm
6
2
Owens....you are saying that
Unpublished

Owens....you are saying that if someone gillie's you, you are justified to punch them?

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 07/16/13 - 03:40 pm
4
2
Follows, not gillies.
Unpublished

Follows, not gillies.

owensjef3
5639
Points
owensjef3 07/16/13 - 04:08 pm
2
3
I don't care about oj it
Unpublished

I don't care about oj it looks like he did but what's your point?

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 04:29 pm
4
3
I see where the racist AG
Unpublished

I see where the racist AG Holder is going to address the SPECIAL RIGHTS rights group NAACP this afternoon.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 04:37 pm
4
2
The one that starts a

The one that starts a physical altercation is running the risk that the person he attacks may use whatever means are at his disposal to protect himself from harm. This is called self defense. The only one that violated the law was the one who crossed the line and used physical violence. At this point the other person has a right to defend himself.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 04:41 pm
4
2
Holder is the "least" color

Holder is the "least" color blind Attorney General America has ever had. He sees the whole world in terms of race as evidenced by his refusal to prosecute the New Black Panthers in 2008 for voter intimidation.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 04:45 pm
2
2
CHASECUSHMAN

You mean NAALCP National Organization for the Advancement of LIBERAL Colored People. Many of my black friends want nothing to do with the NAALCP and are very conservative like myself.

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 04:54 pm
2
2
'You mean NAALCP National
Unpublished

'You mean NAALCP National Organization for the Advancement of LIBERAL Colored People.'
You are correct. It is obvious that Holder is a 1st class racist.

owensjef3
5639
Points
owensjef3 07/16/13 - 05:02 pm
4
3
Ha you don't know who threw
Unpublished

Ha you don't know who threw the first punch

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 05:14 pm
5
2
OWEN

You are exactly correct. No one knows who threw the first punch. In our legal system the state has the burden of Proof. If they cannot prove their case the person is not guilty.

KSL
129204
Points
KSL 07/16/13 - 05:16 pm
5
3
Neither do you, Owens.

Neither do you, Owens.

myfather15
55706
Points
myfather15 07/16/13 - 05:23 pm
4
2
"We Zimmerman got out that

"We Zimmerman got out that car to do what ever he planned to do and still pursued , that to me starts the event"

So, now neighbors are NOT suppose to look out for other neighbors and their property?? Well, there goes every neighborhood watch program in the Country!! Makes a lot of sense Owens!! Great job testifying for your side!!

Humble Angela
41338
Points
Humble Angela 07/16/13 - 05:26 pm
5
2
But owensjef, can you explain
Unpublished

But owensjef, can you explain how Martin had no injuries other than to his knuckles and the gunshot, if Zimmerman threw the first punch.....or ANY punch for that matter. Court is about evidence....something you seem OK doing without as long as you can defend the guy with the same color as you.

myfather15
55706
Points
myfather15 07/16/13 - 05:26 pm
4
2
HA and Itsanother

There is no purpose in arguing or debating with someone who is so set in their opinion, they will blatantly LIE to prove their false claims!! That is exactly what they are doing!! It's time to start ignoring them!! It's pathetic when someone sitting on the computer believes THEIR opinion and evidence is MUCH more important that what the JURY HEARD!!! Their bias (can't use the word I wanted to) is VERY clear and I'm not going to argue with someone like that!!

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 05:29 pm
3
3
"Ha you don't know who threw
Unpublished

"Ha you don't know who threw the first punch"
owens, neither do.
The jury heard the evidence and give a verdict. This case was not really about race but the race baiters made it about race.

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 05:33 pm
3
3
"There is no purpose in
Unpublished

"There is no purpose in arguing or debating with someone who is so set in their opinion, they will blatantly LIE to prove their false claims!!"
myfather, This is what happens when people have been brainwashed by the democrats, liberals and black leaders.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 06:01 pm
2
2
Chase

" A man convinced against his will..is of the same opinion still"

faithson
5157
Points
faithson 07/16/13 - 06:02 pm
1
6
all U racial zealots are showing your colors.....

sorry 15, but if I were black I wouldn't want YOU pullin' me over... and the rest of you... just the ones who seem so adamant that the 'black boy was in the wrong', get a life.... I believe in the Justice/jury system, so I believe that given the facts to a jury of my peers, the best decision was made.... period. BUT, it took a JURY of MY PEERS, to come to that decision. Personally, I think all this is a complete distraction perpetrated by the 24/7 media. The courts serve a purpose, all those who upsurp their progative by suggesting THIER 'take' has any validity only show the shallowness of their conclusions...... Car and Biz, did not mean to put u'all in this group.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 06:32 pm
3
1
Faithson

In the end justice was served however it was apparent early on, that the state did not have a winning case. This is why the the case was not brought by the local DA.
It only proceeded because of pressure from the Justice Department, national media and Civil right groups all for political reasons. This is not how our legal system should work.

faithson
5157
Points
faithson 07/16/13 - 06:36 pm
1
6
u'all gotta be lovin' Rush about now

yep, those of u who thrive on divisivness, including this editorial board are getting your way on this one... this all reeks of facism, a collective that would put it's foot on the neck of other citizens to have THIER way. a house divided cannot stand, and if you do not see yourselves as 'one' of the problems... IT WILL NOT STAND......

faithson
5157
Points
faithson 07/16/13 - 06:38 pm
3
5
RM

the man KILLED another man... period To be called before the halls of Justice was NOT a political move, It was JUSTICE.

itsanotherday1
42932
Points
itsanotherday1 07/16/13 - 06:44 pm
4
0
I don't care about oj it looks like he did but what's your point

I made my point. Twice. Sorry if you don't get it.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 06:45 pm
5
1
Division is the sole property

Division is the sole property of the Democrats. This country has not been this divided since the Civil War. We have a president that promised to be the post racial president and has failed. Democrats see everyone as being in a separate group and they win elections pitting one group against another usually by making inflammatory remarks like " all U racial zealots are showing your colors....."

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 06:55 pm
5
2
"all U racial zealots are
Unpublished

"all U racial zealots are showing your colors....."
faithtson, I agree 100%. This is results of people being brainwashed by the liberals, democrats and many black leaders.

itsanotherday1
42932
Points
itsanotherday1 07/16/13 - 06:58 pm
3
1
Odd that the poster injected

Odd that the poster injected race into into the discussion when most everyone else has argued passionately that race was not a factor beyond the deceased being of the same profile as the criminals plaguing the neighborhood.

itsanotherday1
42932
Points
itsanotherday1 07/16/13 - 06:58 pm
2
1
Odd that the poster injected

Odd that the poster injected race into into the discussion when most everyone else has argued passionately that race was not a factor beyond the deceased being of the same profile as the criminals plaguing the neighborhood.

chascushman
6653
Points
chascushman 07/16/13 - 07:00 pm
4
1
"this all reeks of facism, a
Unpublished

"this all reeks of facism, a collective that would put it's foot on the neck of other citizens to have THIER way. a house divided cannot stand, and if you do not see yourselves as 'one' of the problems... IT WILL NOT STAND......"
I agree 100% again. You should be addressing that question to the liberals, democrats and black leaders.

palmetto1008
9782
Points
palmetto1008 07/16/13 - 07:07 pm
2
3
I have full respect for the
Unpublished

I have full respect for the jury's verdict. In SOME cases, in SOME jurisdictions, I would not trust the local police and the local DA to make the determination. Just check the history books...and you don't have to go back that far.

RMSHEFF
16001
Points
RMSHEFF 07/16/13 - 07:32 pm
4
1
faithson

The Truth about the Zimmerman Case: http://www.nationalreview.com/article/353410/injudicious-criminal-justic...

You are totally incorrect. Murder is a state issue and not a Federal crime. The local law enforcement is charged with investigating all crimes and collecting all evidence. This evidence it brought to the local district attorney and together they determine if the evidence is sufficient to bring charges. If the evidence is borderline they can bring the evidence before a grand jury who will decide if the evidence is sufficient to bring charges. This grand jury process was "skipped" and the State stepped in with a special prosecutor who overcharged by bring second degree murder charges. As it turns out the local law enforcement team had it correct. This should never have gone to court because the evidence was not there.

Holder sent a DOJ team to Florida which is highly unusual because the DOJ has no authority or jurisdiction in this State case. They applied pressure on the Florida Governor to bring charges despite the lack of evidence. The FBI also investigated and found no racial intent on Zimmerman's part. All of this intervention by the State was done to satisfy the Media, DOJ , Al Sharpton and Jessie Jackson.

Back to Top

Top headlines

Former commissioner's case remains under review

While former Augusta commissioner Donnie Smith's statements to Georgia State Patrol investigators likely can't be used against him, the state Office of the Inspector General continues to conduct ...
Search Augusta jobs