When will new thinking arrive?

As CNN chief jumps ship to save it, others seem happy to go down with it

  • Follow Editorials

CNN President Jim Walton announced his resignation last week, saying the network that is tanking in the ratings “needs new thinking.”

But viewers got a sour taste of the old (and still current) thinking Sunday, when the network used audio from a song called Stupid Girls to introduce a segment on Sarah Palin.

The lyric “stupid girls” is heard a full three times before anchor Randi Kaye starts talking about Sarah Palin. In fact, the camera has to pan from Kaye’s far right all the way across the studio to her far left before the producer is satisfied that “stupid girls” has been heard enough. That’s an awful long way to go to “establish a shot.”

And “shot” is the appropriate word.

Just another in a long line of liberal insults hurled at conservatives in the liberal media. Last fall, the Jimmy Fallon show introduced conservative presidential candidate Michele Bachmann with a vulgar song called Lyin’ A-- B----, for which the operative lyric is “You’re nothing but a little lyin’ a-- b-----.”

This is how conservative women at the highest levels of our national politics are treated in this country.

The network claimed to be sorry and pretended that the musical insult to Gov. Palin was an accident.

“The music selection was a poor choice and was not intended to be linked to any news story,” CNN said in a statement. “We regret any perception that they were planned together.”

Right. It’s just a “perception.”

What a bald-faced lie. From the “most trusted name in news.”

We’re particularly sorry that CNN, which invented cable news, has stooped this low. But it’s not the first insult.

Fact is, if CNN cared to know why it is plummeting in the ratings – now in third place in cable news and plunging like an Acme anvil – it could just ask any conservative.

The anchors, reporters, commentators and guests on CNN don’t just espouse chronically liberal views. They constantly belittle and toss verbal grenades at anyone who’s not left of center.

Believe what you want. Espouse what you like. But when you consistently choose, and often go out of your way, to deride the heartfelt views of a large plurality of Americans, your business model is going to suffer. Twice as many Americans identify themselves as conservative than liberal.

The educated folks at CNN know this. And they not only still choose to disparage that large audience, but as the Palin incident shows, they also go out of their way to insult people that that audience looks up to.

They like to pretend it’s all just a perception or an accident. And then they join their far-left friends at the water cooler and giggle about what a great joke it was that they played on Sarah Palin, et al. There are hardly ever any suspensions, firings or other repercussions.

Except maybe in the ratings and president’s office.

Indeed, ratings out this week show that CNN was down 20 percent in viewers last month from a year ago.

Jim Walton’s resignation doesn’t take effect until the end of the year. Will that be soon enough for some “new thinking”?

Comments (14) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
fedex227
11179
Points
fedex227 08/04/12 - 12:33 am
5
9
Too Bad for CNN, I harken to the days of anchors like ...
Unpublished

Chuck Roberts
Bernard Shaw
Paula Zahn

The explosion of journalistic outlets on TV/print media/ and the internet have set the stage for an unrelenting competition for advertising revenue and key demographic viewership. In other words no matter who you watch, what we are left with today are Al and/or Peg Bundy delivering the news. Whether or not Peg decided to dye her hair blonde or brunette may influence which news program you watch (but that's beside the point). The Augusta Chronical is no exception. They chose to go with the Rupert Murdoch-Rush Limbaugh formula (fear mongering journalism). Hey, more power to 'em, they identified their audience and played to those opinions and fears. I have no problem with that. (as long as you, as a reader/viewer recognize it for what it is.)

Other than the weather and the obituary colmumn, please realize that every story you read has a slant/has been manipulated/has been published to sway your opinion or make you think a certain way on a given issue. The more people that agree with what the source publishes/broadcasts, the more subscribers/viewers. Hence, more money. And money is the bottom line.

Investigative journalism was given a backseat to opinionated journalism a long time ago. Brunettes with a brain have been given a backseat to sexy blondes with half a brain. Intellectuals like Willam F. Buckley have been replaced by Geraldo and Huckabee.

Want to know why CNN ratings are 'plumueting'? CNN is just the latest victim of low viewership because they tried to 'keep up' instead of focusing on the core objective of any news organization- delivering the NEWS.

debbiep38
421
Points
debbiep38 08/04/12 - 12:35 am
0
0
Keep up? Funny stuff, Fed.
Unpublished

Keep up? Funny stuff, Fed.

ultrarnr
901
Points
ultrarnr 08/04/12 - 01:14 am
2
8
Well Said
Unpublished

Great comment fedex227. Thank you.

allhans
23531
Points
allhans 08/04/12 - 03:05 am
8
1
Good editorial. Keep up the

Good editorial.
Keep up the good work.

myfather15
54363
Points
myfather15 08/04/12 - 03:24 am
7
2
Bernard Shaw??? Seriously?

Bernard Shaw quote; "You must all know half a dozen people at least who are no use in this world, who are more trouble than they are worth. Just put them there and say Sir, or Madam, now will you be kind enough to justify your existence? If you can't justify your existence, if you're not pulling your weight in the social boat, if you're not producing as much as you consume or perhaps a little more, then, clearly, we cannot use the organizations of our society for the purpose of keeping you alive, because your life does not benefit us and it can't be of very much use to yourself."

So, who gets to determine exactly what justifies someones existence? Bernard himself? You? Me? Who decides what standards one must meet before their existence is justified? Bernard Shaw was a MAD MAN!!! But of course, he wouldn't be to the far left who believe as he did. I do believe it was the Weather Underground who said in their new system, 25 million people would neccessarily have to be "done away with." Who are these 25 million??

This is the biggest problem with the left. They believe themselves to be superior human beings. They are smarter, higher educated and more intellectual than any other who may disagree with them. The HARD leftists would gladly do away with those who aren't quaility human beings. But it is THEM in their way that determines who is a quality human being. I'm sure to them, MY own existence couldn't be justified. Why? Because I'm a hard corps conservative and don't believe the way they do. I know, many people will think "Ooooh, this is much-to-do about nothing." Or "That's just conspiracy non-sense." Well, it has happen in the history of human beings many times. Such as Mao, Hitler, Mousilini, Che Guevara and many other communist world leaders. It's astonishing to me to see so many celebrities wearing t-shirts with Che Guevara's face on them. Many African-american celebrities and rappers have worn the shirts. Do they realize that Che thought blacks were nothing more than apes, that should be killed and he did kill many. The destroying of human lives thought to be lesser beings has happen many times. It can happen again, if people don't wake up and see what is going on.

Now, back to the point. Most news networks are failing because of biased reporting. Including Fox News. I find myself watching them less and less every day because they are becoming CNN lite. The TRUTH is out there, there is just a famine for it (Amos 8:11). You must really search it out and it takes some investigating, if you're willing to take the time away from your busy lives.

Jon Lester
2285
Points
Jon Lester 08/04/12 - 04:52 am
2
1
I have my own reasons for not watching CNN

since March of 2010, and it's because they hired Erick Erickson as a resident pundit. I really haven't missed it.

Riverman1
82249
Points
Riverman1 08/04/12 - 05:28 am
8
2
I remember when CNN was in

I remember when CNN was in the big white house on the hill off I-20 when they were getting started with Terrible Ted at the helm. Too bad they fell on hard times, but their attempts to be lukewarm MSNBC are the reason.

seenitB4
85384
Points
seenitB4 08/04/12 - 05:50 am
3
2
Fluffy News

We get fluff now instead of the real news.....I don't really care what the anchors THINK...just read the dang news....
Some tv so called stars think they are more important than the actual news ...
I miss Larry King a bunch....sure he has some age on him...so what....he was fair--honest & he listened......Morgan can't shut his mouth...

Riverman1
82249
Points
Riverman1 08/04/12 - 07:09 am
5
2
Heard about a poll yesterday

I can't find the link to this, but I heard it on the radio last night. Over 60% of Americans said they favored no TV coverage of politics. Besides violating First Amendment rights, I find it not surprising that many people would rather know nothing.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 08/04/12 - 07:15 am
2
10
CNN has taken a turn towards the right

CNN has taken a turn towards the right and tried to be Faux News Lite. That's the main cause of their loss of viewers. "their attempts to be lukewarm MSNBC are the reason" is not even close. They used to be straight news, were sold and took a slight turn to the left, and now have taken a hard turn to the right. The far right already has its network, Faux, and they aren't going to change channels. Faux will end up being less right wing or suffer the same loss of ratings due to its aging and almost exclusively white demographic.

Riverman1
82249
Points
Riverman1 08/04/12 - 07:23 am
8
2
Techfan, speaking of white

Techfan, speaking of white demographics, whites prefer Romney over Obama by a 20% margin. Maybe that explains Fox's ratings?

seenitB4
85384
Points
seenitB4 08/04/12 - 07:24 am
4
2
Bring Ted back..

Should they bring Ted backkk....yeh he is older...not as fast as he once was....but he loved the news....& was daring & smart....he made cnn famous......
We see him once in a while at Teds Montana Grill near the Mall of Ga....the last time we did...GOB said that is a cute granddaughter he has with him....I said GOB that is NOT his granddaughter that is his girlfriend,,,hahha...I was RIGHT!!

Riverman1
82249
Points
Riverman1 08/04/12 - 08:07 am
5
3
I remember Bernard Shaw when the Gulf War began

He, John Holliman and Peter Arnett broadcasting from the Al-Rashid Hotel in Baghdad. He said he was under a desk and cruise missiles were flying past his window. Heh, heh, heh.

avidreader
3104
Points
avidreader 08/04/12 - 09:34 am
7
1
Disgusting Journalism!

I am neither a Democrat, nor a Republican. I am a fiscal conservative independent. I no longer tune in to CNN. The last time I did, I wanted to jump into the TV and scream at the woman behind the desk. These trashy people are an affront to all viewers who have a developed brain.

I have yet to find a "fair and balanced" network. Everyone has an agenda to brainwash its viewers. Fedex misses Zahn and Shaw; I miss Cronkite. But by far, CNN is the worst.

palmetto1008
9782
Points
palmetto1008 08/04/12 - 10:28 am
5
0
Amen, avidreader. And your
Unpublished

Amen, avidreader. And your screen name says it all..people should turn off the idiot box and inform themselves by reading...and beyond just the local newspaper and special interest websites.

Conservative Man
5430
Points
Conservative Man 08/04/12 - 10:57 am
5
2
What constitutes bias?

I gave up seriously watching news channels years ago. What I do is watch each channel just a little bit the form my own opinion...My opinion?
CNN, MSNBC etc. are losing viewership because of their OBVIOUS bias against anything even remotely mainstream. They've fooled themselves into believing their leftist claptrap is what most Americans think. In reality with the overreaching attitude of "Our Dear Ruler" the country is decidedly turning more conservative as a reaction to this President's obvious disdain for the concept of "American exceptionalism" and their ratings reflect that.
Before anyone accuses me of being a "mind-numbed robot" programmed by Roger Ailes or "Faux" news...let me tell you a story.
A good liberal friend of mine once asked me "What made you a conservative?". I replied, "Liberals".
As far as the slide taken by CNN, MSNBC etc. It's supply and demand. There is less demand for this garbage so there will be less of a supply of it.....
When will new thinking arrive? It has. And their ratings reflect it...

grouse
1635
Points
grouse 08/04/12 - 12:35 pm
3
3
Still waiting on the
Unpublished

Still waiting on the editorial bashing Fox for mislabeling the party affiliations of senators and representatives and their creative editing of "sound bites."

allhans
23531
Points
allhans 08/04/12 - 12:38 pm
4
2
But come on now, don't you

But come on now, don't you love the fake British accents used by so many on CNN. It's worth watching to see them ( ...especially the females) forget now and then and revert back.

swcohen
580
Points
swcohen 08/04/12 - 01:12 pm
5
0
People still rely on

People still rely on television to bring them the news? How quaint.

I use mine as a baseball game delivery system, and little else.

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs