Unpasteurized bias

Even Jon Stewart is calling out ABC for pushing liberal agenda

  • Follow Editorials

Conservatives have been complaining about ABC News, like other “mainstream” media, for years. But now that even liberal comedian Jon Stewart is mocking the network for its incredible bias, “steps” are being taken to improve its reporting.

Will those steps include rooting out bias?

Don’t hold your breath.

It’s unpasteurized bias, after all, that led to the network’s cockamamie claim last Friday on Good Morning America that the Aurora theater shooter may be linked to the Tea Party.

Jon Stewart’s The Daily Show audience got a good laugh out of that, as did a clearly agitated Stewart – who called his segment on the incident “What Story Does a Guy Have to Blow to Get in Trouble at ABC?”

Noting that ABC’s “chief investigative reporter” Brian Ross had found a James Holmes on a Tea Party website, Stewart joked that Ross had “put the name James Holmes into (an Internet) search engine and hit the ‘I’m Feeling Lazy’ button.”

Ross ran with that info and put it on the air, having to retract it several hours later when it was learned the James Holmes affiliated with a Hispanic Tea Party group was not the same guy as the shooter.

Even in his initial report, Ross had to admit he didn’t know if it was the same guy. But he reported it anyway.

“I’m assuming,” Stewart said of ABC newsman George Stephanopoulos, “that he was under the impression that Brian Ross checks out the (expletive) he’s saying on air – before saying it – since Brian Ross is their chief investigative correspondent, and not, let’s say, the office gossip.”

Stewart, in a beautifully satirical way, also wondered why Ross failed to apologize for defaming the other James Holmes by casually (and negligently and recklessly) reporting that he might be a mass murderer. The innocent Mr. Holmes has said that he’s felt it necessary to disconnect his phone for safety since ABC’s erroneous report.

But an even larger defamation is Ross’ eagerness to believe, and to rush onto air, a link between the Aurora shooting and the Tea Party.

“‘When I was Googling his name,’” Stewart joked that Ross was thinking, “‘I saw the phrase The Tea Party, and I thought – that’s a pre-existing narrative! I should get that on the TV!’”

Slicing into Ross’ “logic,” Stewart summarized Ross’ thinking this way: “‘George! Tea Party? Low taxes? Madmen? You do the math!’”

“And this dude isn’t even grounded? Doesn’t get detention?” Stewart asked of Ross.

Welcome to the world of liberal bias, Mr. Stewart.

We’re not sure why Brian Ross would still be in television news at all, after all the questionable and erroneous reports he’s been behind, and the excuses ABC has made for him.

But this issue is bigger than him. It’s about a nagging, chronic anti-conservative culture in many media outlets that has convinced many “reporters,” viewers and readers that the Tea Party philosophy of efficient and reduced government is somehow dangerous or insidious.

And people such as Brian Ross are over-eager to prove it.

The president of ABC News, reports Politico.com, promised “the network was taking steps to ensure it did not happen again.”

Really? By reminding reporters not to be lazy or sloppy? That might help somewhat, but won’t tackle the real issue – which is, again, about deep-seated belief systems.

The broadcast or journalism experience of Good Morning America host and frequent news anchor George Stephanopoulous, it’s worthy of noting, is largely confined to sports broadcasting in college. Otherwise, his main qualification is that he was a longtime Democratic operative. That, not journalism expertise, is what counts at a place like ABC.

There are no easy “steps” than can be taken to ameliorate that kind of institutional decision-making.

Comments (46) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
shrimp for breakfast
5422
Points
shrimp for breakfast 07/26/12 - 01:35 am
3
21
shameful

ACES why are you politicizing a horrible tragedy?
This young man took 12 lives wounded 58. Can you imagine the hurt this man has caused to 70 different familys. And here you come along reporting what idiots like Jon Stewart and others are saying.
Can't you just leave the politics out of this horrendus act of violence and say something soothing instead of stirring the pot to sell newspapers?
This is not the time or place to bring politics into this horrible crime.
Shame on you!

carcraft
25257
Points
carcraft 07/26/12 - 04:30 am
13
0
There is a story told by a

There is a story told by a Rabbi. A young man got mad at the older Rabbi for being so entrenched. The Rabbi was lied about and slandered by the young man. The young man repented of his error and sin and went and told the Rabbi he was sorry, and ask what he could do to make amends. The Rabbi said "Young man take a feather pillow, tear off the end and cast the feathers to the wind." After you have done that wait a day then go and gather all the feathers". The young man said "that is impossible" The Rabi said "yes, you are correct,there is nothing you can do to restore my good name to what it was." Shame on Brian Ross for bring politics into this horrible crime. Shame on the media for lying about T Party members calling a civil rights hero the N word, shame on reporters for trying to connect the T party to the shooting of Gifford, go collect your feathers and come back and see us!

shrimp for breakfast
5422
Points
shrimp for breakfast 07/26/12 - 06:10 am
7
2
yes

Good one carcraft. You said it better than I could.

nofanofobama
6809
Points
nofanofobama 07/26/12 - 06:10 am
12
3
AMEN -carcraft...its the old

AMEN -carcraft...its the old throw mud at the wall srategy..see what sticks..same in the media ..keep throwing out lies to see what holds..the truth be darned....the left say the right does the same thing.....so please cite the evidence in the MAIN stream media...and dont say fox..if you do please be specfic.and do not cite opinion shows ..

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 06:41 am
6
7
Jon Stewart is really good at

Jon Stewart is really good at attacking the media- it's his favorite target. ACES should watch the Daily Show every time it's on.

southernguy08
499
Points
southernguy08 07/26/12 - 07:23 am
1
0
BRIAN ROSS and ABC...APOLOGIZE?
Unpublished

Sure, about the same time you see pigs flying. They aren't biased, that week of ABC "World News Tonight" broadcasting from the west wing of the Obama White House a few years ago was just "journalistic prudence." Yeah, I'm laughing too.

Gary Ross
3346
Points
Gary Ross 07/26/12 - 07:31 am
12
0
I don't know about the rest

I don't know about the rest of us Americans, but I'm really sick and tired of biased media. You can't get the real truth anymore without someone's personal opinion attached, which makes it impossible to form your own opinion based on the facts. America is losing it's moral values on every level.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 07/26/12 - 07:37 am
5
10
I'm sure glad the AC has

I'm sure glad the AC has never made a mistake and had to run a retraction.

burninater
9404
Points
burninater 07/26/12 - 08:26 am
5
6
A little slow on the uptake,

A little slow on the uptake, eh? Stewart has been pointing this kind of thing out on the Daily Show for 13 years now. The AC's success in developing strong online content must have finally given them the budget to get cable.

faithson
5145
Points
faithson 07/26/12 - 09:16 am
6
6
how about parity

Love me some Stewart on 'taking apart' the hypocrites among us. Now if the Editorial Board is so in love with Jon's satire on ABC, why would they not also be in love with Jon's satire on Fox, which by the way is awesome and frequent. Cherry picking by these so called 'journalists' on Broad Street is a joke, which in all honesty is exactly what the Augusta Chronicle is when it comes to Editorial policies.

Riverman1
82436
Points
Riverman1 07/26/12 - 10:22 am
8
5
It reminds me of the media

It reminds me of the media and Democrats trying to say the Tea Party protestors at the Capitol spit on the Democrats walking by.

Let known conservatives walk by an OWS group and you would see out and out violence....if that crowd even knows who the conservatives are, which I doubt.

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 10:10 am
6
0
Did anyone watch last nights

Did anyone watch last nights episode? You can watch them free online if you want, but last night was funny. Herman Cain on there is always a classic.

dichotomy
32136
Points
dichotomy 07/26/12 - 10:23 am
6
2
shrimp for

shrimp for breakfast.......The AC did not politicize this. Brian Ross politicized this by immidiately trying to tie the shooter to the TEA Party. Once he did that it is like the proverbial do-do in the punch bowl. It has to be addressed. The hypocrisy of the left wing media MUST be pointed out because they keep doing it. Spitting at blacks, Giffords, and now Holmes. The left wing media is salivating to tie some violent action to the TEA Party and it is obvious and intentional. And to my knowledge there has never been a violent action by a TEA Pary member at any event. And yet the left wing media keeps trying all the while it gives violent actions by OWS not only a free pass but they seem to adore them as freedom fighters or something. The AC did not politicize this. Brian Ross and the left wing ABC News weenies did the politicizing when they let their rabid determination to link Holmes to the TEA Party infect their brains. Thier hypocrisy and bias MUST be pointed out loud and long to show that they are not news people....they are left wing crusaders who have zero credibility. I think ABC is in a race with CBS to see who hits the bottom of the barrel first. Ross should just go ahead and hire on with CNN or MSNBC where he would fit right in.

southernguy08
499
Points
southernguy08 07/26/12 - 10:34 am
1
0
FAITHSON
Unpublished

Just so you know, you can choose to NOT read the AC and not watch FOX NEWS. Its called freedom, a privilege only a few nations in the world enjoy. And Dichotomy, great points.

allhans
23546
Points
allhans 07/26/12 - 10:38 am
4
0
What happens when you can't

What happens when you can't trust any of the "big 3 networks".
We turn to CNN and Fox and even then one has to read between the lines.

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 10:51 am
3
5
Brian Ross does not speak for

Brian Ross does not speak for the entire media conglomerates. Again, no one else reported on it, gave Ross's comments any thought, carried it, are gave it any credit. No one else!! How can there be some conspiracy when only person said something stupid?

This talk about hypocrisy about the left wing media because one person failed- while ignoring the other side of it (Fox News) screams hypocrisy too. You can't go a day without someone on Fox News lying, being hypocrites, and taking things out of context.

This ACES is so full of praise about what Stewart said, which I agree with- that a problem is that no one will be held accountable for their words and spreading of fear and false ideas. But shine that same light and thoughts onto the other side (Fox News again) and people will play the victim card.

Darby
25098
Points
Darby 07/26/12 - 12:16 pm
6
3
(Fox News) screams hypocrisy too

One example please... And try to stick to the NEWS department of Fox, not the opinion side.. Can't do it can you TParty???? Opinions abound at Fox, but they do a bang-up professional job of keeping opinion out of the news. Now if the MSM could only find a way to do that... Like I said, one example, PLEASE....

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 12:19 pm
4
5
Is Fox and Friends an opinion

Is Fox and Friends an opinion side? And if not- go ahead and leave an approved list of shows where I can find one for you.

Bizkit
30803
Points
Bizkit 07/26/12 - 12:34 pm
3
1
Now the anti-gun proponents

Now the anti-gun proponents will be coming out of the wood work too. Funny because box cutters and jet planes can be a weapon and I see no move to ban either. How about cars- more people die in car accident than by guns and I don't see a push to ban cars. Perhaps we should get at the root of the problem rather than address symptoms and outcomes. Govt is so ineffective at dealing with issues.
Well I don't see any cable news outlet as anything than propaganda. There is the Rep station-Fox and then all the rest are sold out to Obama. I like NPR although it has a slight liberal stance (but some I agree anyways). Always the blame game-blame progressives or tea party or guns or anything but mental illness.

harley_52
23004
Points
harley_52 07/26/12 - 12:38 pm
4
3
"Herman Cain on there is

"Herman Cain on there is always a classic."

Classic what?

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 12:43 pm
2
3
Cain is memorable and funny.

Cain is memorable and funny. He is a classic- you can go always go back and re-watch his segments, and enjoy it. Timeless.

harley_52
23004
Points
harley_52 07/26/12 - 12:43 pm
7
2
"Always the blame game-blame

"Always the blame game-blame progressives or tea party or guns or anything but mental illness."

While I wholeheartedly agree with your general premise, I suggest there's a possibility that while "mental illness" might be the cause, so might be just plain "evil," or "antisocial." In other words, I don't think most criminals are crazy, I think they're just bad people and should be treated as such.

justthefacts
21402
Points
justthefacts 07/26/12 - 01:09 pm
5
2
Lawsuit

I'm hoping for a big ole lawsuit that maybe teaches ABC a lesson. As an aside, the other day one of their reporters was referring to President Obama as the "Comforter in Chief".

TParty
6003
Points
TParty 07/26/12 - 02:12 pm
9
1
JTF

Since this ACES brought up the Daily Show, I'll just continue the theme. The other day they had a segment where Nutella had to pay a fine of 3 million dollars for lying- saying their spread is a healthy way to start the day. It's not, so the lie cost them a large amount of money.

News and Political ads should be the same. Fine them big time for lying.

It always bothered me that congress can try to put a baseball player in jail for lying to them, but congress can lie to us all the time without fear of anything.

justthefacts
21402
Points
justthefacts 07/26/12 - 02:18 pm
3
1
Nope, TParty

We don't need gov't involvement. The damaged individual can sue the network in civil court. I hope. I know nothing of how these things work.

Bizkit
30803
Points
Bizkit 07/26/12 - 02:29 pm
7
0
I agree TParty. Govt needs to

I agree TParty. Govt needs to be transparent, open, and honest. The propaganda, rhetoric, and hype need to be tamed. Either they make it up or spit half-truths and misinformation. It's ridiculous.

Bizkit
30803
Points
Bizkit 07/26/12 - 02:32 pm
4
0
The Daily Show and Colbert

The Daily Show and Colbert are hilarious! Sometimes I don't know if art imitates life or the other way around. Wag the dog type stuff. We should claim DC as a foreign country cause they seem to be out of touch with the rest of America.

Bizkit
30803
Points
Bizkit 07/26/12 - 02:37 pm
6
0
What happened to the good ole

What happened to the good ole day of politickin'. Remember Lester Maddox with his ax handles and riding his bike backwards. What a showman-or an idiot. Makes you proud to be a Georgian-eh :(
Clinton with his sex-I mean sax. Obama's got them all beat as Kool goes. Mitt is so stiff-but I'd rather have a work-aholic stiff than an cool idiot as prez.

harley_52
23004
Points
harley_52 07/26/12 - 03:15 pm
5
1
"Obama's got them all beat as Kool goes."

To me, Obama is the antithesis of "kool."

He has a breathtakingly narcissistic personality who floods his speeches with the words "I" and "me," and a President who demonstrates a total and complete disrespect for not only the United States, but for the office of President as well.

None of that is "kool," in my honest opinion.

Darby
25098
Points
Darby 07/26/12 - 03:19 pm
4
1
Is Fox and Friends an opinion

TParty - If you have to ask, I'm worried about you. Maybe you don't watch Fox and Friends... OF COURSE IT'S OPINION. Do they discuss the news... yes, then they give their personal opinions... when they aren't out on the sidewalk hawking a new BBQ grill, Chinese acrobats, or some such nonsense. As for giving you a list, why is it that liberals always want someone else to do their work for them...??? I think you know what news is....

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs