The year's a wash in D.C.

Obama has morphed from a president to a brand

  • Follow Editorials

Have you noticed this? Barack Obama seems to be redefining the presidency.




Other presidents have given lots of speeches. Other presidents have done lots of fund-raisers. Other presidents have come up with “presidential” reasons to fly Air Force One into election-year “swing” states at taxpayers’ expense – and all of a sudden a campaign fund-raiser sprouts up nearby.

But that seems to be the totality of this president’s view of the job.

We’ve got a Speaker’s Bureau instead of a White House. We don’t have a president; we’ve got a “brand.” And it’s being spit-polished every day.

How many commencement speeches has he given just this year alone?

Yet, how can you blame him? Commencement speeches are a two-fer: He gets to build the Obama brand while furthering the youth indoctrination his supporters have become famous for.

When might he find time to govern, to help find answers to the challenges the country faces?

Interestingly enough, some Democrats on Capitol Hill are wondering the same thing.

“He doesn’t call. He doesn’t write. He doesn’t drop by for a visit,” left-leaning Politico.com writes about Mr. Obama’s lack of interaction with top members of his own party.

“Senate Budget Committee Chairman Kent Conrad, D-N.D., is trying to cut a deal on the nation’s fiscal crisis, but he can’t recall the last time he talked to the president. Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa, is in charge of one of Obama’s top priorities — preventing a rate increase on student loans — but he hasn’t talked to the president in months. And Sen. Jeff Bingaman, D-N.M., is the go-to guy on high gas prices, but the chairman of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee hasn’t spoken to the president much since the previous Congress.”

Of course not! None of these fine gentlemen run colleges where he can be the commencement speaker!

Yet, get this: He’s got the gall to leave a “to do” list for others on the way out of town, and to pre-emptively scold Congress, “I know this is an election year but it’s not an excuse for inaction.”

The results of his lack of leadership speak for themselves: A recent budget resolution based on Mr. Obama’s proposed budget failed 99-0 in the U.S. Senate – marking the second year in a row that the Democrat-led Senate unanimously chucked this president’s financial blueprint for the nation.

More importantly, the economy is teetering on a ridge between recovery and recession, and on Wednesday the nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office warned the nation is headed for a “fiscal cliff” unless action is taken in Washington.

If speeches alone were the measure of a president, he’d be on Mount Rushmore.

Don’t be surprised if, when this year is nearing its end and our massive unsettled taxing and spending issues are still unfinished, he takes to the lectern to lambaste Congress for not getting anything done.

Congress is divided politically. But rather than show a bit of leadership and try to rise above that, while lifting others – which a president is uniquely situated to do – Barack Obama is doing nothing and going on tour to complain about the gridlock in order to leverage some political gain from the mess.

“Where’s the president’s plan to tackle our looming debt crisis?” asked Republican House Speaker John Boehner. “Where’s the president’s plan to stop the largest tax increase in American history from occurring on January the first? Where’s the president’s plan to replace these indiscriminate cuts to our military, which will devastate their ability to keep America secure?”

“Mr. Obama has been phoning in his governing responsibilities while focusing his time and attention on getting re-elected,” writes Emily Miller, senior editor for the Opinion pages at The Washington Times.

We’re not sure this president ever stopped campaigning, but it’s unlikely he will now with the election so close. This year is a wash in Washington, even as conditions deteriorate.

And we have a president who’s trying to wash his hands of all responsibility.

Comments (49) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/28/12 - 11:27 pm
9
9
Pure hypocrisy with a capitol

Pure hypocrisy with a capitol H.

Does the AACOS(Anonymous Augusta Chronicle Opinion Staff) really believe nobody ever read your columns back when there was a Republican in the White House?

Seemed to be a lot of defendin' George Bush for campaigning from Air Force one back in the day.

I repeat, pure bald faced hypocrisy!

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/28/12 - 11:29 pm
8
9
I will though give this

I will though give this Opinion Staff a pass. Heck I wouldn't want my name associated with this article/opinion either.

Why you must just be following orders.

ultrarnr
1424
Points
ultrarnr 05/29/12 - 12:23 am
3
9
Fair and balanced
Unpublished

Looks like another "fair and balanced" piece by the editorial staff. Way to keep presenting opposing views and having a real discussion on the issues.

JohnBrownAug
1962
Points
JohnBrownAug 05/29/12 - 04:51 am
10
6
"Pssstt, tell Vladimir this

"Pssstt, tell Vladimir this is my last election and I'll have more flexibilty after the election."

carcraft
37351
Points
carcraft 05/29/12 - 05:40 am
7
7
The problem is that the

The problem is that the "lame stream media" continually bashed Bush when he went to his ranch or played golf. The media never says a word about Obama and his leadership inactivity and campaign activity. The media rarely says a word about Obama's perevarications! We are headed toward the ending of the Bush tax cuts (OH my, they really weren't just for the "rich" like we were told for years), and we may well need another debt ceiling increase. Where is Obama, telling more lies perhaps, such as his one about his spending?

carcraft
37351
Points
carcraft 05/29/12 - 05:54 am
7
5
One of the problems Obama has

One of the problems Obama has is that the youth vote is not as enthusiastic as last time he ran. Obama is simply trying to gin up that enthusiasm among the youth. Unfortunatly for Obama he now has the record of being a politicial of the worst sort and the young people haven't seen the hope and change they were promised. More young people have to live in their parents homes longer than any time since WW II, most college grads are having trouble finding jobs or are under employed and the the job market has shrunk. Obama is hoping a ew graduation speaches will bump up his approval rating. I don't think so because these graduates are going to go out and look for jobs...to Obama's embrassment!

southernguy08
580
Points
southernguy08 05/29/12 - 06:34 am
0
0
OBAMA
Unpublished

Notice how Jimma Cahtuh is grinning big these days? Obama has surpassed him as the USA's worst president. Enjoy it, Jimma.

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/29/12 - 08:44 am
6
5
carcraft, don't read this.

carcraft, don't read this. It's by a black man and full of irrefutable facts. I certainly wouldn't want you to have a bad day. Same goes for you AACOS. This is what an opinion piece backed with facts from outside sources looks like.

Objective readers, enjoy:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/romneys-distortions-about-obama-d...

nofanofobama
8337
Points
nofanofobama 05/29/12 - 08:55 am
7
4
RA *i looked at your article

RA *i looked at your article ...didnt have to read to far to see he was as bias as ever...anyone who believes spending has slowed under obumler i want to talk to them.. you see if they believe this they may buy my bridge in brooklyn

MariettaDawg
9
Points
MariettaDawg 05/29/12 - 09:16 am
7
4
OBAMA - YES WE CAN!!!!

Yes we can vote OBAMA out, and it's time... The change he promised is not what the American people voted for!

nofanofobama
8337
Points
nofanofobama 05/29/12 - 09:24 am
5
3
ra several problems in your

ra several problems in your article***1-is they count 2009 against bush--while it is true he presented the budget for 2009 it was a democratic controlled congress that spends money..bush was not a conservative in fiscal matters but he was not and is not an obumler. and a lot of extra spending was added to the bill and if i remember right no budget was passed that year and they had to pass extra pork laden omnibills which obumler signed to run the govt that year 2-in presenting the budget as bush's for 2009 the article left out anothe important fact the extra spending passed by obumler and the dims calledk the 1 trillion pay back scratch your back bill and the mother of all pork bills the missed named stimulus bill..to claim this belongs to bush's budget is an out right lie and disqualfies the author.3- all this was added to baseline spending so in 2010 the increase were smaller..since 2009 was not counted against obumler..

dichotomy
48341
Points
dichotomy 05/29/12 - 09:25 am
6
2
Not hardly RA.

"even if you include SOME stimulus spending (in the 2009 fiscal year) that technically should be attributed to President George W. Bush."

Now there is a statement that is certainly not a fact RA. How about if we just say "if you include ALL stimulus spending (in the 2009 fiscal year) and the projected deficit from Obamacare passed in 2010 Obama doubled the 10 year deficit in 15 months. The only reason Obama can argue that his annual budget spending has been kept low is that not even his own party will vote for his whacked out budget so the normal spending that is covered by the budget has been carried forward at existing levels on continuing resolutions. The REALLY BAD spending side of Obamacare don't kick in until 2014. Between the stimulus, all of which belongs to Obama and the Democrats, and Obamacare, which also belongs to Obama and the Democrats, the Obama presidency is a fiscal disaster.

Your "irrefutable facts" are easily refutable by anyone who can see through smoke and mirrors.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 09:27 am
9
3
Confirmation

I'm glad to see that RA and his fellow liberals did not dispute the facts of the op-ed piece, just branded the ACES "hypocritical" because they supposedly refused to treat President Bush similarly.

When you can't argue with the truth of the fact that the current admin. is hypocritical and pretty useless, all you can do is try to say that, "Well, I think Bush was useless too, but you didn't complain then."

Either way, it's admission that the admin. of the past 4 years has been pretty useless in terms of leading the nation. Sometimes what is NOT said is even more powerful than what is said.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 09:30 am
8
4
Redefinition

As stated in the piece, "Have you noticed this? Barack Obama seems to be redefining the presidency."

Why not? He's in favor of redefining the way the word "marriage" has been defined for thousands of years. This is his standard m.o.

Just like Clinton trying to redefine the word, "is".

This is what liberals do. When they can't handle the truth, they try to redefine the terminology so the truth can be made irrelevant to their agenda.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 09:32 am
8
2
race, again?

Why bring race into this (again)? It does not matter what a person's skin color is. All that matters is the facts of matter, right? That is, unless the race card is the only card that you have to play.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 09:51 am
3
4
Wash. Post

I opened the referenced opinion from the Wash. Post and was going to read it until I saw the author: Eugene Robinson. That was all I needed to see.

Read his stuff in newspapers for several years until I got sick of his massaging the truth to fit his liberal world view. How can anyone call the integrity of the ACES into question, and then promote the garbage that Robinson writes as an example of true, unbiased journalism?

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/29/12 - 09:53 am
5
5
"obumler"? What the hell is

"obumler"? What the hell is an "obumler"? Childish name calling worthy of 2cnd graders. Come to think of it 2cnd graders could probably do better. I apologize to all 2cnd graders.

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/29/12 - 09:55 am
5
4
avidreader
4204
Points
avidreader 05/29/12 - 09:59 am
2
4
Obama, Go Away!

Mr. Obama, ride away into the sunset. Buy a penthouse on N. Michigan Ave. and enjoy the view of the Navy Pier. You are a powerful "brand" and you will make lots of money. Enjoy your retirement. You and Hillary and Nancy can be BFFs on FaceBook.

However, Mr. President, I have a sneaky feeling you will probably win the upcoming election. Sad, but plausible. There are many who will always vote for the pretty guy with the golden tongue.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 10:08 am
4
2
focus

Keep the focus on point, and keep driving home this point:

Are we, as a nation, better off after 4 years of an Obama Admin. than we were when they took power and promised us hope and change?

If you are better off, then vote for 4 more years of the status quo. But if you have not seen any "hope and change" for the better, then make a real CHANGE in November.

southernguy08
580
Points
southernguy08 05/29/12 - 10:29 am
0
0
FOX NEWS
Unpublished

Love the way liberals like RA love to dump on Fox News. Obama is the poster child for incompetence and arrogance, but somehow, its all Fox News' fault. Yeah, I'm laughing.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 10:31 am
3
2
lesser of evils?

So Nofan, you're saying that it is better to be seen as simply incompetent than purposefully destructive?

KSL
191517
Points
KSL 05/29/12 - 10:35 am
3
2
I would say that is correct,

I would say that is correct, howcan. Personally, I think it is completely intentional on his part.

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/29/12 - 10:36 am
2
1
soapy, Denver has some

soapy, Denver has some surprisingly good Mexican food.

KSL
191517
Points
KSL 05/29/12 - 10:43 am
4
2
Who are you, RA, to decide

Who are you, RA, to decide whose opinions are incorrect? Political opnions are based on world view, how we were brought up, our experinces, values, ethics, morality, and convictions. Of course they are going to be differnces. But to presume that one's own the correct ones and others are not is presumptive and not very liberal.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 10:42 am
4
1
Well, there's a huge Masonic

Well, there's a huge Masonic temple in Alexandria, just across the Potomac. I'd think he'd go there before flying all the way to Denver. But, I seldom see or do things the way Obama does.

Retired Army
17513
Points
Retired Army 05/29/12 - 10:47 am
3
2
KSL writes: "Who are you, RA,

KSL writes: "Who are you, RA, to decide whose opinions are incorrect?"

Uuum, an educated American citizen who looks at all sides and the facts before forming an opinion?

That's still allowed in America you know.

howcanweknow
2307
Points
howcanweknow 05/29/12 - 10:53 am
4
1
correct opinion?

Can an opinion be "correct" or "incorrect"? I would think that opinions are not, in fact, facts, but are how we tend to interpret such facts.

We can see the same facts, but interpret them differently. But, when something is proven correct or incorrect, then it moves from the realm of opinion to fact.

So, we can agree or disagree with an opinion, but I don't think we can label them as "correct" or "incorrect".

I'm through with philosophy and epistemology for the day now. Let's get back to something really important like Masonic conspiracy theories....

KSL
191517
Points
KSL 05/29/12 - 10:55 am
4
3
Of course it is, but you

Of course it is, but you approach things differently from some of us. Does not make you the correct one or the incorrect one. And from looking at some of the links to information you post, you are looking at some very biased and incorrect descriptions of the opposite side's opinion and goals.

KSL
191517
Points
KSL 05/29/12 - 10:57 am
3
3
Totally agree with you,

Totally agree with you, howcanweknow.

Back to Top
loading...
Top headlines

Water Park set for North Augusta

NORTH AUGUSTA -- Officials confirm that Scuttle's Island water park with 24 attractions is coming to North Augusta in spring 2016.
Search Augusta jobs