Don't fall for the recall

Wisconsin can become Greece, but not on our dime

  • Follow Editorials

There’s an effort to recall the governor of Wisconsin for his decision to rein in public employee unions. Here’s why you should care, regardless of what state you live in.

For one thing, it’s a cautionary tale for every state and hamlet: Tighten up your recall laws!

It’s an absolutely horrid idea to overturn an election result simply because you disagree with a few decisions, however significant. Election campaigns already appear to be nonstop; if we go back to the polls every time a public official chaps our hides, we’ll live in constant political turmoil. A stable country and financial and business sectors need more predictability than that. It’s the kind of chaos you see in Third World nations or countries with 15 viable parties constantly jockeying for power.

Recall elections should be available only in the case of malfeasance or dereliction of duty. Just to be clear: Disagreeing with you is neither.

For another thing, it’s quite likely that states that don’t rein in their spending – and end up in dire straits – will come knocking in Washington for a bailout. In essence, those states that act responsibly could be asked to subsidize those that don’t.

It’s more than likely that Georgia and South Carolina would be among the “donor” states.

If you think such a scenario far-fetched, just look at Western Europe, where the more successful states have been working overtime to prop up the out-of-control spenders such as Greece. What makes anyone think it couldn’t happen here?

Indeed, even while watching the crisis in Greece on their televisions, leaders in Washington and some state capitals are blithely spending their constituents down the same road.

Public benefits and pensions, which far outpace those in the private sector that pays the tab, are responsible for much of the crisis in Europe, and they’ve exacerbated things in the U.S. as well. That’s what people such as Gov. Scott Walker have been trying to prevent in Wisconsin, Ohio and other states.

The public unions don’t like the loss of power and money, and are determined to keep us on the road to Greece.

We hope the people of Wisconsin don’t fall for it; any union triumph over common sense is likely to ripple far beyond Madison.

In any event, we would urge Congress to pass a law expressly forbidding any bailout of any state that has spent itself to ruin.

What Wisconsin does with its politicians is its business. But what the rest of the states do with their taxpayers’ money should be theirs.

Comments (40) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Riverman1
90609
Points
Riverman1 02/01/12 - 01:51 am
0
0
Those in the private sector

Those in the private sector who pay the tab elect responsible, bill paying officials. Those who don't pay the tab elect irresponsible, burn the trailer steps for firewood, union supported Democrats.

We are in the end game of our economy and government where anyone stopping the Ponzi scheme is being dealt with...eliminated by a recall. Later it will just be eliminated.

wtinney
0
Points
wtinney 02/01/12 - 02:29 am
0
0
Recalls are no more than

Recalls are no more than opportunities for sore losers to get a do over. Scott Walker in Wisconsin was and is doing exactly what he campaigned he was going to do (and was elected by a slim margin to do it). The opposition can always use these kinds of tactics to wear down those that are triumphant and make it to where they have difficulty in completing their work as public officials. Keep them in campaign mode and they'll never really be able to accomplish anything.

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 02/01/12 - 03:40 am
0
0
Elections and voting are

Elections and voting are about to be things of the past. The up-coming presidential election will be "postponed" until order can be restored which will not happen until hussein is in complete control.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 05:10 am
0
0
"It’s more than likely that

"It’s more than likely that Georgia and South Carolina would be among the “donor” states." Well that would certainly be a change:
http://www.taxfoundation.org/taxdata/show/266.html

agustinian
721
Points
agustinian 02/01/12 - 07:56 am
0
0
I think the AC staff may have

I think the AC staff may have over stated their case. This isn't just a disagreement on the price of dog licenses, this goes to the core of the beliefs in the Democratic party in Wisconsin. They collected over 1 million signatures (only 2 million voted in the last election) for recall.

I am a supporter of Governor Walker, but I think if you can get 50% of the voters to ask for a recall, maybe the system should respond to that, even though I don't agree with the recallers.

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 02/01/12 - 10:19 am
0
0
It’s the law in Wisconsin;

It’s the law in Wisconsin; next up an editorial extolling the virtues and importance of states’ rights.

To echo an earlier (un-posted) comment: where’s the link to ACES criticizing the recall effort of California Governor Gray Davis (D)?

Goose, meet Gander

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 10:23 am
0
0
agustinian said "I am a

agustinian said "I am a supporter of Governor Walker, but I think if you can get 50% of the voters to ask for a recall, maybe the system should respond to that, even though I don't agree with the recallers"

I don't see the Editorial taking a position contrary to yours. Read the last sentence. They're not objecting to the recall process, just one of the potential results.

Personally, I agree completely with this Editorial. Voters have the right to be bankrupted by the public employee unions if they choose, but they shouldn't be allowed to drag taxpayers from other states down the drain with them.

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 10:32 am
0
0
bjphysics said "Goose, meet

bjphysics said "Goose, meet Gander"

I wasn't aware Gov. Davis was recalled for trying to save his state from financial disaster by opposing the ability of public employee unions to bankrupt his state.

Apple, meet orange.

Jon Lester
2438
Points
Jon Lester 02/01/12 - 10:37 am
0
0
I think you'll see for

I think you'll see for yourself that Walker has clearly lost the consent of the governed.

draksig
167
Points
draksig 02/01/12 - 10:38 am
0
0
It is real easy to get one

It is real easy to get one million signatures when the people responsible for verifing those signatures publically state that they will accept ANY signature as long as they put down a wisconson address. They will accept Mickey Mouse, Adolf Hitler, Donald Duck and duplicate signatures and have to plans to verify if the signatures are Legit. This is now the norm for Wisconson for the forceable future, Liberal special interest groups will initiate recall elections every year to get rid of people they don't agree with, all paid for by the taxpayers of the state.

And by the way, have you read the reports that the actions put in place have had thier effects, the state is saving money and on course to eliminate their budget deficit. Of course, that is beside the point to the unions who's answer when the state can't afford the union wages and benifits is "raise taxes!"

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 02/01/12 - 12:15 pm
0
0
harley_52: “I wasn't aware

harley_52: “I wasn't aware Gov. Davis was recalled for trying to save his state from financial disaster by opposing the ability of public employee unions to bankrupt his state.”

And yet, nowhere in the applicable statutes (California or Wisconsin) is there a provision placing a motivational limitation on the recall petitioners, i.e., the petitioners are not required to articulate a reason subject to legal review. They only need to meet validated signature numerical requirements.

“9.10  Recall.
9.10(1)(1)  Right to recall; petition signatures.
9.10(1)(a)(a) The qualified electors of the state, of any county, city, village, or town, of any congressional, legislative, judicial, town sanitary, or school district, or of any prosecutorial unit may petition for the recall of any incumbent elective official by filing a petition with the same official or agency with whom nomination papers or declarations of candidacy for the office are filed demanding the recall of the officeholder.”

“(3) State, county, congressional, legislative and judicial offices.
9.10(3)(bm) (bm) Within 7 days after an official makes a final determination of sufficiency or insufficiency of a recall petition under par. (b), the petitioner or the officer against whom the recall petition is filed may file a petition for a writ of mandamus or prohibition with the circuit court for the county where the recall petition is offered for filing. Upon filing of such a petition, THE ONLY MATTER BEFORE THE COURT SHALL BE WHETHER THE RECALL PETITION IS SUFFICIENT. The court may stay the effect of the official's order while the petition is under advisement and may order the official to revise the election schedule contained in the order if a revised schedule is necessitated by judicial review. Whenever the recall petitioner files a petition under this paragraph, the officer against whom the recall petition is filed shall be a party to the proceeding. The court shall give the matter precedence over other matters not accorded similar precedence by law.”

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/9/10

Goose, meet Gander

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 12:30 pm
0
0
bjphysics said "And yet,

bjphysics said "And yet, nowhere in the applicable statutes (California or Wisconsin) is there a provision placing a motivational limitation on the recall petitioners, i.e., the petitioners are not required to articulate a reason subject to legal review. They only need to meet validated signature numerical requirements."

So what? Both are free to have their recalls. I don't see a recommendation that the recall be cancelled, do you? I see a recommendation for caution and a suggestion that the motivation for recalls be more specific someday, but no call for this recall to be cancelled just as there was probably no call for the California recall to be cancelled.

There is no logical connection between the California recall and the Wisconsin recall that I can see except, I suppose, that both Governors have two legs and two arms. In the one case the Governor was recalled for being a big spender and the other for trying to get spending under control which, of course, presents two totally different sets of circumstances.

Apple, meet orange.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 02:16 pm
0
0
Gray Davis was recalled

Gray Davis was recalled because Darrell Issa (R) wanted to be Governor. Issa started the recall and even spent around $2 million of his own money for the effort. He broke down in tears when Arnold bumped him out of his dream. So which is cheesier, the populace dissatisfied with the policies of the Governor and initiate a recall (Walker) or someone seeking power and trying to buy elected office(Issa)? The AC suggested Davis should resign in the face of the recall. Why not the same for Walker?

yakirz
9
Points
yakirz 02/01/12 - 02:23 pm
0
0
Recall Walker! Workers have
Unpublished

Recall Walker! Workers have every right to demand decent salaries and working conditions, regardless of where they work.

Consent of the governed? When has a conservative ever cared about that? Especially these teabaggers?

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 03:01 pm
0
0
I have to hand it to you

I have to hand it to you Techfan, sometimes your version of history is really amusing.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 03:05 pm
0
0
Facts can be amazing. Look it

Facts can be amazing. Look it up.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 03:26 pm
0
0
http://ballotpedia.org/wiki/i

http://ballotpedia.org/wiki/index.php/Gray_Davis_recall_(2003)

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 03:27 pm
0
0
So what? So you can find a

So what? So you can find a bunch of leftwing stories by California people who hate Republicans. That's hardly a surprise. Here's the claim I'd like for you to support....."Gray Davis was recalled because Darrell Issa (R) wanted to be Governor."

That's historically inaccurate and clearly an invention of your own mind.

Isn't it?

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 03:28 pm
0
0
Sufficient sources?

Sufficient sources?

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 03:35 pm
0
0
That's exactly why Issa spent

That's exactly why Issa spent the big bucks. Evidently every source known to man is left wing according to you. Read on your own, if possible.

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 03:48 pm
0
0
Whether Issa wanted the job

Whether Issa wanted the job is irrelevant, isn't it? Are you telling me California will hold a recall election whenever some rich guy wants to be Governor?

You made it up because it suits your agenda, right?

I checked Wikipedia and it says it was because of the "electricity crisis" and the "budget crisis." I double checked and it didn't say he was recalled because "Issa wanted to be Governor" as you claimed.

As I said, your version of history is often amusing. Take it as a compliment.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 04:03 pm
0
0
When some rich guy initiates

When some rich guy initiates the recall, ponies up a couple of million dollars, pays people to gather signatures, announces he's running for Governor, forms a campaign committee, and breaks down in tears after Arnold enters the race and has to drop out, I would say it's a given that he was pushing himself for the position.

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 02/01/12 - 04:11 pm
0
0
Davis was unpopular because

Davis was unpopular because of the energy crisis (thank you Enron and Cheney) which was a large contributer to the budget crisis. Davis was reelected Aug 2002 and the recall was started in May 2003. Thanks to Issa's $$$, it was succesful.

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 02/01/12 - 04:42 pm
0
0
Techfan, The claim "Gray

Techfan,

The claim "Gray Davis was recalled because Darrell Issa (R) wanted to be Governor” is a speculative statement of motivation. You can claim (and maybe substantiate) the claim that the recall effort was spearheaded and funded by Darrel Issa (+ others). You might also be able to provide evidence to support the assertion that Issa’s efforts were partisan and strongly motivated by his personal political ambitions.

However, as in Wisconsin, the legal basis for the Davis recall election is:

1) It’s allowed by state law
2) They gathered a sufficient number of valid signatures

bjphysics

harley_52
25117
Points
harley_52 02/01/12 - 05:00 pm
0
0
Let's test your theory,

Let's test your theory, Techfan. Contact George Soros and see if he can get elected to any state Governorship. You are on a first name basis with him, aren't you?

Davis was recalled because he was perceived as a weak, ineffective governor. He was thrown out of office by the citizens of California, not Congressman Issa.

If Governor Walker is thrown out of office it will be because he did what he promised he'd do if elected and the labor unions were successful at mounting a campaign to remove him because of it.

Back to Top

Search Augusta jobs