The real state of the Union

Growing government, stoking class warfare puts us at tipping point

  • Follow Editorials

What really is the state of the Union?

In answering that question honestly, one must look past self-serving political rhetoric – even beyond the economic numbers, which continue to be dismal.

In assessing the state of the country, much like the condition of a house, it’s best to look first at the foundation.

It is cracked and fissured.

This much is incontrovertible: The nation has taken on more debt, and the government more power, leaving Americans fewer freedoms and less opportunity.

Much of what the government does today is constitutionally questionable, at best. What it does do, it often does horribly: Trying to manipulate the nascent alternative energy industry, for instance, the Obama administration lost half a billion dollars on Solyndra, a failed solar panel maker the president once touted as a success story. In this case, as in others, it has been friends of the administration who benefited from the taxpayers’ forced largesse.

In other countries, they call that corruption.

Meanwhile, over half the states are suing the government over its health-care law, while the Obama administration sues a growing number of states for attempting to uphold the rule of law in immigration and the integrity of the voting process.

Then there’s the current president, who has now made a career out of using class warfare and envy to divide a nation that’s still licking its racial wounds. Although the top 5 percent of earners pay nearly 60 percent of the taxes, and half the country pays no income taxes whatsoever, the other half isn’t paying its fair share, he keeps on saying.

He jokes that it’s not about class warfare, but about math. He’s half right: It’s about the math that tells him there are an awful lot of voters who love the idea of soaking those who have more money.

But as for notions of fairness, it’s not even about math: He admitted in a debate that he’d raise the capital gains tax on investments even if that resulted in less money. And when he talks of fairness, he seems to mean equality of outcome, not opportunity. That’s not an American ideal whatsoever. It’s more akin to the failed policies of socialism and communism.

Moreover, government-refereed outcomes that seek to level the playing field through forced and artificial redistribution of wealth aren’t fair.

Former Sen. Fred Thompson, R-Tenn., summed up the state of the nation as well as anyone in a recent video – noting what a different track the country is on than the one he grew up in.

“Instead of freedom and
opportunity,” he said, “it’s one of debt, dependence, division and decline.”

Thompson recalled a 2001 report in which he had concluded the government back then was “bloated, wasteful, subject to massive fraud and basically out of control.

“A decade later, it’s worse.”

We are at a tipping point, he said – “one from which we may not return.”

That about sums up the state of the Union – unless and until our foundation is fixed.

Comments (42) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Riverman1
83802
Points
Riverman1 01/29/12 - 01:22 am
0
0
Gov. Jan Brewer of Arizona

Gov. Jan Brewer of Arizona represented our frustration with President Obama well in a finger waving confrontation with him. He doesn't get the class division his policies promote. You have to shout at him, but what does he do? He walks away in midsentence in denial.

convertibleguy
0
Points
convertibleguy 01/29/12 - 05:35 am
0
0
I pray the people in this

I pray the people in this country really see Obama for what he is - a thin-skinned, mean, condescending, egotistical, socialist that cares more for himself than this country. He has alienated our friends and emboldened our enemies, we are much weaker now than three years ago. Just look at what is happening in Iraq since we pulled out. The media covers him every way they can. NBC, ABC, CBS, CNN, MSNBC, etc. should have a sign on the front of their building that simply reads, "National reelection headquarters of Barry Obama".

Techfan
6461
Points
Techfan 01/29/12 - 07:46 am
0
0
"Former Sen. Fred Thompson,

"Former Sen. Fred Thompson, R-Tenn., summed up the state of the nation". Nothing like getting advice from over the hill actors who hawk reverse mortgages on tv.

southernguy08
499
Points
southernguy08 01/29/12 - 08:01 am
0
0
RIVERMAN, you're right...old
Unpublished

RIVERMAN, you're right...old whammy Obammy doesn't get the class warfare divisions his policies promote. He pretty much doesn't get anything, including how to grow an economy, create jobs, instill pride in our military, promote patriotism. He can however, apologize to the world for American "arrogance." The only good thing I can say is that polls show we'll have more "change" in November. It can't come soon enough.

Rhetor
1007
Points
Rhetor 01/29/12 - 08:18 am
0
0
There is no limit to the

There is no limit to the super-rich's willingness to engage in name-calling to avoid paying their own fair share of taxes to support the country that has been so good to them.

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 08:31 am
0
0
Rhetor,are you adding an

Rhetor,are you adding an extra 25% of your income in your tax bill to "help the country that has been so good to you"?

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 08:55 am
0
0
Techfan,you worship a person

Techfan,you worship a person that you know NOTHING about before he became a senator. You bring up 20-30 years of republican's history yet,ignore the cover-up of hussein's past. That just does not make sense. Please explain the logic

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 09:05 am
0
0
Techfan,what would be your

Techfan,what would be your reaction to mitt or newt sealing their records?

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 01/29/12 - 09:30 am
0
0
Birthers and their Bizarro

Birthers and their Bizarro Birtherverse where up is down and Newton’s Laws are just an opinion.

madgerman
236
Points
madgerman 01/29/12 - 09:43 am
0
0
Could it be that the top 5%
Unpublished

Could it be that the top 5% pay 60% because they have 60% of the wealth of the country? I find it amazing that the country is controlled by 5% of the population. I mean after all "money is power".

charlesaiken
16
Points
charlesaiken 01/29/12 - 10:05 am
0
0
'Techfan,you worship a person

'Techfan,you worship a person that you know NOTHING about before he became a senator.'
copperhead, Maybe Techfan tell us about Frank Marshall Davis who was Hussein mentor from 12 until 18 yrs old. He was Hussein connection to Chicago. Maybe Techfan will tell us about the communist church called the 'Little Red Church on the Hill' that his grandparents took his mother. By the way Techfan Hussein mother was not a Christian, most people described her as an atheist. Hussein lied about her so what else is he lying about?
"On Easter or Christmas Day my mother might drag me to church, just as she dragged me to the Buddhist temple, the Chinese New Year celebration, the Shinto shrine, and ancient Hawaiian burial sites," Obama remembered. "But I was made to understand that such religious samplings required no sustained commitment on my part — no introspective exertion or self-flagellation."

"In our household the Bible, the Koran, and the Bhagavad Gita sat on the shelf alongside books of Greek and Norse and African mythology."

IsAnyoneAlwaysRight
40
Points
IsAnyoneAlwaysRight 01/29/12 - 10:08 am
0
0
Funny how ACE staff talks

Funny how ACE staff talks about taking on debt.....Those in glass houses shouldn't throw stones!

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 10:28 am
0
0
bjphysics,what would be your

bjphysics,what would be your reaction to mitt or newt sealing their past?

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 01/29/12 - 10:32 am
0
0
Complex Question: “Are you

Complex Question: “Are you still beating your wife?”

Your question presupposes Obama sealed his pre-Presidential records, he did not, this is a myth promulgated by birthers.

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 10:36 am
0
0
Well bjphysics,give us a link

Well bjphysics,give us a link to find info on hussein's records,please.

Riverman1
83802
Points
Riverman1 01/29/12 - 10:43 am
0
0
I know about Hussein's past.

I know about Hussein's past. He took vacations to Pakistan. He can even pronounce it like they do. "Pokistan."

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 10:47 am
0
0
bjphysics,you still did not

bjphysics,you still did not answer my question. What would be your reaction to the appearance of mitt or newt sealing their past records? Please,just answer this without denying the question.

faithson
5157
Points
faithson 01/29/12 - 10:49 am
0
0
Yes, this election will be

Yes, this election will be one of the most clear cut decisions the American voter has ever made in this country's long history. Two diametrically opposed ways forward will be decided. You would think that both parties would bring their 'A' game to the court of public opinion. NOT. With Romney and 'the newt' eviscerating each other, the way forward will be directed by their protagonist for at least the next four years. For all those who 'buy' into the faux/AM radio babble about the end of times, you'd best focus on what went so abhorrently wrong in this cycle. Self reflection on failure is so much more effective than 'blaming' the opponent.

faithson
5157
Points
faithson 01/29/12 - 10:55 am
0
0
copper; do you realize how

copper; do you realize how smart these guys are to keep the minutiae of the past from the wondering eye's of Faux/AM radio blowhards ? You guys have made an art out of taking the mundane and blowing it out of all rational proportions. By the way, I remember well GW's records being sealed. Whats good for the goose is good for the gander, Oh yea, unless it's YOUR goose.

copperhead
1035
Points
copperhead 01/29/12 - 10:59 am
0
0
bjphysics,please supply links

bjphysics,please supply links to hussein's records. This would end ALL questions.

wondersnevercease
9218
Points
wondersnevercease 01/29/12 - 11:19 am
0
0
wondersnevercease
9218
Points
wondersnevercease 01/29/12 - 11:22 am
0
0
"Obama is clearly living the
Unpublished

"Obama is clearly living the Left-liberal dream, which still survives in small pockets of American life. He wants to import the democratic socialism that Europe embraced after the war, which was, for European cultural reasons, imbued with aristocratic paternalism and Marxist notions of bourgeois guilt. But neither of these things are part of the American historical experience. The Left-wing intellectuals, including Obama himself, who adopt this language are talking dangerously uninformed rubbish: if democratic socialism was ever a solution to Europe’s problems (and the present crisis is making that seem less and less likely), it is certainly not an answer to any question that Americans are likely to ask.
The United States is a country that was invented to allow people to be free of domination or persecution by the state. Its constitution and political institutions are specifically designed to prevent the federal government from oppressing the rights, or undermining the sense of responsibility, of the individual citizen. If it ceases to stand by that principle, then it will suffer a catastrophic loss of purpose and identity – as well as making a quite remarkably stupid and unnecessary mistake."
...C&P...the Telegraph

TNTHOMSON
2
Points
TNTHOMSON 01/29/12 - 11:27 am
0
0
Instead of Obama's "Race to

Instead of Obama's "Race to the Top" America is in a race to become the newest Third World country: a Balkanized, jobless, debt ridden, poorly educated, morally bankrupt Nation demanding more diversity, more inclusion and more political correctness.

In Nov. 2012 I fear we'll hear Obama proclaim "Mission Accomplished".

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 01/29/12 - 11:28 am
0
0
Obama’s pre-Presidential

Obama’s pre-Presidential records are not public documents and are sealed: 1) by institutional policy, or 2) by privacy laws or confidentially laws. Obama DID NOT seal his pre-Presidential records, others did and they didn’t do it JUST FOR HIM, they do it for EVERYBODY.

Regarding records held on file:

Your records are sealed, my records are sealed, everybody’s records are sealed. You can’t look at my birth records and I can’t look at yours. You can’t look at my educational records and I can’t look at yours. I can’t get your medical file and you can’t get mine. We can both get COPIES (some certified, some not) of our records and show them to each other.

I can sign a waiver and you can sign a waiver to authorize release of your records to some select agencies such as: the military, law enforcement, and DISCO (Defense Industrial Security Clearance Office).

Obama can do the same but has only done so with his birth documentation, he did this twice and just like those two times, if he did that and those records (educational, etc.) were flattering or countered their claims, birthers and pseudo-birthers would claim the record copies are PDF forgeries.

Now give me a link to images of these people’s birth documents: Newt Gingrich, Mitt Romney, George W. Bush, John McCain, and Ron Paul.

wondersnevercease
9218
Points
wondersnevercease 01/29/12 - 11:31 am
0
0
LOL copper...again The
Unpublished

LOL copper...again The Silence of the Libs...............................

bjphysics
36
Points
bjphysics 01/29/12 - 11:37 am
0
0
After you’ve tried to do

After you’ve tried to do that, give me a link to posts you have made where, for every record you want Obama to produce, you have made the same request of every other presidential candidate during your political lifetime.

carcraft
25803
Points
carcraft 01/29/12 - 11:38 am
0
0
BJ Physics, Obama could get

BJ Physics, Obama could get copies and let them be open to the public like Al Gore, George Bush, Hillery Clinton (except for her thesis and Saul something or other ski) did except Obama won't.

carcraft
25803
Points
carcraft 01/29/12 - 11:41 am
0
0
madgerman, actually the

madgerman, actually the country is controlled by less than 1/10 of 1% of the population, President, vice president, Seantate (50 members) the house (400 + members) and the nine members of the Supreme Court. Amazing huh?

carcraft
25803
Points
carcraft 01/29/12 - 11:43 am
0
0
BJphysics, I can get George

BJphysics, I can get George Bush's college transcripts, Al Gore's college transcripts, Hillery Clinton's etc. Seems some ones' is missing...hmmmm

dichotomy
32901
Points
dichotomy 01/29/12 - 11:47 am
0
0
"Nothing like getting advice

"Nothing like getting advice from over the hill actors who hawk reverse mortgages on tv."

"Birthers and their Bizarro Birtherverse where up is down and Newton’s Laws are just an opinion."

Nothing like a little irrelevant name calling from a couple of rabid Obama supporters. It's all they've got left.

Here is a simple fact. There are ultra-rich people on both sides of the political spectrum. We all know that ultra-rich people can shelter their money from income taxes. The rich Democrats know that and the rich Republicans know that. We all also know that every time we go through this "tax the rich" temper tantrum, the only ones that end up actually paying more taxes is the middle class. You might think that the rich will pay more taxes but what really happens is that the middle class pay those taxes in higher prices for the products and services they use. This whole "tax the rich" argument is a red herring to divert attention from this administration's out of control spending, crazy energy policy, and the corruption of giving away taxpayer money as political payback to unions and "failed before they started" green energy companies. Take a look at what this administration has done to our deficit in only three years and if you still think that our only problem is that we are not taxing the rich enough then you can move on out to the commune and spend your evenings reading Karl Marx. I'm not worried about rich people paying their "fair share". I am worried about the "gimmee more" half that ain't paying anything. Before you wage a war about "fair share" you have to first make sure that everyone is paying "a" share.

Back to Top

Top headlines

Clemson halts mandatory student sex survey

CLEMSON, S.C. - Clemson says it has suspended a mandatory survey of students the school says was part of a review to prevent sexual discrimination, harassment and assault.
Search Augusta jobs