A good-faith attempt to help

  • Follow Editorials

If he had suggested a miracle diet for Tiger Woods, no one would have thought anything of it.

Back | Next
When Brit Hume suggested that Tiger Woods turn to Jesus to deal with his sins, liberal pundits answered with flawed comparisons of Hume to a radical jihadist.  FOX
FOX
When Brit Hume suggested that Tiger Woods turn to Jesus to deal with his sins, liberal pundits answered with flawed comparisons of Hume to a radical jihadist.

Instead, Fox News commentator Brit Hume apparently committed a cardinal sin when he recently suggested that the troubled golfer look into the saving graces of Jesus Christ.

"Tiger, turn to the Christian faith, and you can make a total recovery and be a great example to the world," Hume said.

Seems like a sincere, innocuous attempt to throw a lifeline to someone in distress.

Nope. According to the wacko left, Hume's endorsement of Christianity had no business being aired in public.

For his good-faith effort, Hume has been viciously attacked by liberals. MSNBC's Keith Olbermann compared Hume to a Muslim "jihadist" -- notwithstanding the fact that jihadists try to convert folks at the end of a knife or a bomb fuse.

To get expert commentary on Hume's awful transgression, he called on sex columnist Dan Savage.

"Whenever we have a discussion in our country about jihadism and radical Muslims," Savage said, "you always hear, 'Where are the moderate voices? Where are the moderate Muslims?' ... Where are the moderate liberal progressive Christians when something like this happens? ... American Christianity's been hijacked by the lunatics (including) people like Brit Hume."

So we've established so far that Hume is a lunatic jihadist. Because he's Christian and suggests others consider it.

Wow.

The snarky insults continued with Washington Post TV writer Tom Shales, who said, "Whom did he sound more like -- Mary Poppins on the joys of a tidy room, or Ron Popeil on the glories of some amazing potato peeler?"

Then, turning end-of-the-world serious, Shales wrote, "If Hume's remark is going to turn out to be a mere starting point, where in the name of all that's holy (really holy, genuinely holy) is the finishing line going to find us? Or leave us?"

Yes, the world is ending because Brit Hume is selling Christianity. How awful!

Atlanta Journal-Constitution blogger Jay Bookman's headline sneered, "The Right Rev. Brit Hume points the way to Tiger's redemption."

Even if that's true, what the heck's wrong with that? If you felt you could share the secret to salvation -- a somewhat weightier matter than the keys to slimming down for swimsuit season -- what's wrong with sharing it?

Hume speaks from very real, very moving experience.

He's never held himself up as a "right reverend" as Bookman sarcastically scoffs. Instead, it was Hume's Christian faith that helped him cope with the death of his son in 1998.

"When my son died," Hume once said, "I came to Christ in a way that was very meaningful to me. If a person is a Christian and tries to face up to the implications of what you say you believe, it's a pretty big thing."

For that, Brit Hume is a lunatic jihadist?

How can there exist such a virulent anti-Christian venom in a majority Christian nation?

Comments (198) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 01/08/10 - 04:43 am
0
0
Brit Hume lost all

Brit Hume lost all credibility with me, and I suspect a few other folks, when he displayed his unforgivable arrogance by implying that Tiger Woods could only recover from his perceived "sins" by way of a total and unequivocal conversion to Christianity. Followers of many other religions may find Hume's words offensive as well. Brit was one of the very few on FOX that I had a great deal of respect for; I regret the disappointment today. GGpap

HughDonnet
0
Points
HughDonnet 01/08/10 - 04:50 am
0
0
Brit Hume was expressing his

Brit Hume was expressing his personal faith. He did not order anybody to do anything. He offered advice that has helped him and he obviously believes in. What is the problem with that? Are you scared that you have missed the boat by not believing? You'll find out soon enough....

1941
4
Points
1941 01/08/10 - 05:36 am
0
0
Brit Hume, should stay out of

Brit Hume, should stay out of others buisness, and do what he is paid to do!!! Who gives a damn what he think Tiger Woods should do , concerning his religion? He should speak on his own faith.Who is he , to think that Tiger, wants his advice, that was not asked for!! I am quite sure, if Tiger want's advice, he has someone he could go to and get it!!!

GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 01/08/10 - 05:47 am
0
0
Hugh (Howie?), I'm sorry for

Hugh (Howie?), I'm sorry for the delay. In answer to your question, "He offered advice--What is the problem with that?" Hume, by his advice, he implied that Christianity was the only "Tao," THAT is the problem, sir!

Riverman1
110658
Points
Riverman1 01/08/10 - 05:53 am
0
0
They get on Hume for that

They get on Hume for that while Kieth Olberman is allowed to spew hate nightly like a mad Moby Dick?

GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 01/08/10 - 06:05 am
0
0
Apples and Oranges,

Apples and Oranges, Riverman1, this is not about "hate." It IS about one's (Hume's, in this case) opinion of which religion is the "only" religion to follow. Arrogance, sir; not hatred! GGpap

GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 01/08/10 - 06:05 am
0
0
Apples and Oranges,

Apples and Oranges, Riverman1, this is not about "hate." It IS about one's (Hume's, in this case) opinion of which religion is the "only" religion to follow. Arrogance, sir; not hatred! GGpap

GGpap
528
Points
GGpap 01/08/10 - 06:34 am
0
0
Sorry about the duplication

Sorry about the duplication of my last post! AC won't let me delete. GGpap

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 01/08/10 - 07:00 am
0
0
The anti-Christian religious

The anti-Christian religious fanatics that feel any mention of Jesus or Christianity is the ultimate evil are just ridiculous. GGap epitomizes this perspective. The total fanaticism of the anti-Christian speaks volumes of the fear of honor and honesty that seems to be the foundation of their faith.

nofanofobama
7346
Points
nofanofobama 01/08/10 - 07:10 am
0
0
ggap-i marvel at the hatred

ggap-i marvel at the hatred of the left. they are the ones who claim tolerance to all views. you can believe in sex with animals and blow up airplanes in the name of the Muslim faith and thats ok in their confused perception of reality. but if you actually believe in the christian faith and live by its tenets you are dangerous. the segment Brit proclaimed his faith was in the opinion section of the show where people give their opinions. so whats the problem besides you wackos wanting censorship... like my grand dad told me years ago.. there is no one more intolerant than a self-proclaimed tolerant liberal..

HughDonnet
0
Points
HughDonnet 01/08/10 - 07:16 am
0
0
I'd be scared too if I

I'd be scared too if I thought "existence" ended at the point of no heartbeat in our mortal bodies.

ldsmith1
1
Points
ldsmith1 01/08/10 - 07:35 am
0
0
Anyone, of any faith who

Anyone, of any faith who would take issue with Brit, has either 1. Never suffered a great hardship or 2. Has never fully recovered from the ones they have suffered. Putting the challenges of this life into their proper perspective can only be done by the grace of God.

msgret92
121
Points
msgret92 01/08/10 - 07:43 am
0
0
It's obvious that the

It's obvious that the majority of the posters did not hear the statement by Britt Hume. He was referring to the difference in the Budist faith and the Christian faith.

HughDonnet
0
Points
HughDonnet 01/08/10 - 07:45 am
0
0
I listened to what he said. A

I listened to what he said. A man should not be castigated or degraded for sharing his personal faith as his opinion.

InChristLove
22486
Points
InChristLove 01/08/10 - 07:49 am
0
0
GGap and 1941, it's very

GGap and 1941, it's very plain where your heart lies. 1941 you say Brit should speak on his own faith...That's what he did. He suggested that Tiger come to know the Christian faith because of the saving grace of Jesus Christ, that sir is speaking on his faith. As for GGap you are upset because in your opinion you say that Brit implied that Christianity is the "Tao". Don't know what Tao is but I do know that there is only one way to spend eternity with our Lord and Savior and that is through Jesus Christ. You don't have to believe it, but arrogance, I don't think so....just Brit Hume's belief. He isn't forcing Tiger to convert, all he offered was advice based on his life experience and what he believes. Tiger can take the advice or leave it. What's the big deal.

InChristLove
22486
Points
InChristLove 01/08/10 - 07:51 am
0
0
HugeDonnet, your 6:45am post

HugeDonnet, your 6:45am post Hits the nail on the head!!

shivas
2
Points
shivas 01/08/10 - 08:00 am
0
0
I believe Tiger practices

I believe Tiger practices Buddhism. Therefore, Hume trying to convert someone through the media seems odd in and of itself. Perhaps all news personalities should announce their religious opinion on the air to address all issues and problems. I believe we have some Scientologists on air. Wonder what the AC would say if CNN suggested Gov. Sanford turn to L.Ron Hubbard for grace.

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:05 am
0
0
He stated that the Bhuddist

He stated that the Bhuddist faith did not offer a chance for forgivness and redemption. which is not true. In proclaiming his own faith he implied that tiger had no faith.

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:06 am
0
0
ACES left that part out of

ACES left that part out of the story.

HughDonnet
0
Points
HughDonnet 01/08/10 - 08:07 am
0
0
So what if he did? It was his

So what if he did? It was his personal opinion. Those who are scared of the truth continue to show their colors. Good luck in eternity.

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 01/08/10 - 08:10 am
0
0
Britt Hume stated a fact.

Britt Hume stated a fact. Perceived implications for you mind readers are merely anti-Christian opinion. Projecting your "beliefs" on Hume's comment is just that - projection.

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:11 am
0
0
good luck to you as well. we

good luck to you as well. we are all going to need it.

johnston.cliff
2
Points
johnston.cliff 01/08/10 - 08:11 am
0
0
How "left" of you.

How "left" of you.

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:12 am
0
0
what was the fact he stated.

what was the fact he stated. His name when he introduced himself

dougk
3
Points
dougk 01/08/10 - 08:12 am
0
0
I think InChrist's 6:49
Unpublished

I think InChrist's 6:49 pretty much sums it up for those of us who have at least a hint of critical thinking skills: "Don't know what Tao is but I do know that there is only one way to spend eternity with our Lord and Savior and that is through Jesus Christ. You don't have to believe it, but arrogance, I don't think so"

jboy
0
Points
jboy 01/08/10 - 08:16 am
0
0
who gives a s--t if Tiger is

who gives a s--t if Tiger is forgiven or what his faith is. Get a life

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:17 am
0
0
Is it "left" to not proclaim

Is it "left" to not proclaim all other faiths but your own as inferior?

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:20 am
0
0
you believe what you believe

you believe what you believe and i'LL believe what i believe.

noone
4
Points
noone 01/08/10 - 08:22 am
0
0
I'm still waiting for the

I'm still waiting for the FACT that HUME stated

HughDonnet
0
Points
HughDonnet 01/08/10 - 08:28 am
0
0
noone, you'll get your answer

noone, you'll get your answer when your heart beats for the last time.

Back to Top
loading...
Search Augusta jobs