3 to get Jimmie Dyess award Thursday

Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014 5:36 PM
Last updated 7:41 PM
  • Follow Latest News

Three people will be honored Thursday afternoon with the Jimmie Dyess award at a symposium at the Augusta Museum of History.

The annual award ceremony was created to recognize Dyess’ courage as a citizen and Marine officer and to identify others who have shown similar valor or made civic contributions above the call of duty. Dyess, a North Augusta native, received the Carnegie Medal and, posthumously, the Medal of Honor.

Winners of this year’s Jimmie Dyess Distinguished American Award are Spc. Alfred Rascon, Ann Boardman and T. Richard “Dick” Daniel.

The symposium, which is free and open to the public, will be at 5 p.m. in the museum rotunda. Perry Smith, who serves as secretary of the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation, will provide remarks at the ceremony. Smith is a retired Air Force major general and a military analyst for NBC.

For more information on the event, contact the museum at (706) 722-8454.

Comments (1) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
corgimom 01/09/14 - 08:04 am
Lt. Col (Ret) Alfred V.

Lt. Col (Ret) Alfred V. Rascon should be referred to as such, not as a Spc. That is disrespectful.

Back to Top
Search Augusta jobs