Government SPLOST 7 | | | Editor

Richmond, Columbia counties to receive federal aid after ice storm

Thursday, March 6, 2014 9:50 PM
Last updated Friday, March 7, 2014 12:10 AM
  • Follow Government

Gov. Nathan Deal’s request for federal aid after February ice storm was approved Thursday by President Obama.

Richmond and Columbia are two of 39 counties included in the disaster declaration, which allows the federal government to reimburse 75 percent of eligible expenditures and damage costs, according to a news release.

“This was expected, but it’s still incredible news,” said Mie Lucas, Richmond County’s director of emergency management. “Richmond County was one of the hardest-hit counties in the state, so this assistance will help tremendously.”

Other nearby counties that qualified for reimbursement are Burke, Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson, Jenkins, McDuffie, Screven, Warren, Washington and Wilkes. Those outside the area are Baldwin, Bulloch, Butts, Candler, Carroll, Coweta, Dade, Fayette, Fulton, Gilmer, Hancock, Haralson, Heard, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Pike, Spalding, Upson, Walker and Whitfield.

Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb, Forsyth, Paulding, Polk and White counties were included in Deal’s request but not granted assistance.

Comments (0) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
juantez 03/07/14 - 12:09 pm

We do not want any of Obama
Let's see the Repub's of the State turn that down..

Back to Top
Search Augusta jobs