More News | Local Forecast | DATABASE: Historic Weather Data

Governor extends emergency to 15 counties

Friday, Feb. 14, 2014 5:14 PM
Last updated 7:37 PM
  • Follow Government

Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has extended until Wednesday the state of emergency declaration for 15 counties, including several near Augusta, where severe storm damage requires ongoing response efforts.

According to a news release, the declaration includes: Burke, Columbia, Emanuel, Hancock, Jefferson, Johnson, Richmond, Screven, Taliaferro and Washington counties.

Local emergency management officials in Richmond County have reported to GEMA at least 200 homes that have suffered storm-related structural damage, primarily caused by falling trees. The governor has requested that FEMA conduct individual assessments in this region, beginning in the hardest hit areas. Federal officials could begin inspections as early as next week.

Top headlines

Parkway's extension to bring address changes

About 100 homes, 65 apartments, 25 businesses and six churches along Old Petersburg and Old Evans roads could be forced to take new addresses when the Georgia Department of Transportation ...
Search Augusta jobs