How the commission works

Who's in charge?

The 10-member commission makes decisions and sets policy for the city through an administrator who reports directly to them. Non-elected department heads report to the administrator.

Six commission votes constitutes a majority to approve a typical measure, while eight votes are needed to change the city charter, also known as the Consolidation Act. The mayor presides over commission meetings and can vote to break a 5-5 tie.

The mayor presides over commission meetings and can vote to break a 5-5 tie.


Who's on the commission?

Since it was formed by the 1996 consolidation of Augusta and Richmond County, the Augusta Commission comprises 10 members. Eight commissioners are elected from individual districts of equal population, while two are elected from super districts made up of four individual districts.

The current elected members are:

District 1

Bill Fennoy
(706) 821-1831

District 2

Corey Johnson
(706) 993-0224

District 3

Mary Davis
(706) 910-2574

District 4

Alvin Mason
(706) 955-6130

District 5

Bill Lockett
(706) 825-1847

District 6

Joe Jackson
(706) 533-7839

District 7

Donnie Smith
(706) 910-2606

District 8

Wayne Guilfoyle
(706) 592-2385

Super District 9

Marion Williams
(706) 910-2582

Super District 10

Grady Smith
(706) 825-9473

How are commissioners elected?

Five commission seats are up for election each even-numbered year. The commissioners must reside in their district and are elected by registered voters who live in the district.


What’s the commission’s role in determining my taxes?

The Augusta Commission sets the millage rate for property taxes, except for that portion set by Richmond County Board of Education for school system operations. The Board of Assessors determines a property’s taxable value while the Tax Commissioner calculates the bill, sends it out and collects the taxes.  


Augusta Mayor Deke Copenhaver

(706) 821-1831

What is the mayor's role?

Under the consolidated government's charter, the mayor is the chief executive of the "commission-council," made up of the mayor and commission, and is expected to ensure laws, resolutions and ordinances are followed.

Elected citywide, the mayor presides over meetings of the commission-council and grants members the time to speak on each agenda item. The mayor also serves as official head of city government for the service of process, signing contracts and ceremonies. He has no veto but is allowed to vote when commission votes on a measure tie 5-5.


What is the administrator’s role?

The administrator oversees all city staff except those reporting directly to the commission or to elected officials. The administrator has authority to hire and fire, promote, discipline and reclassify beneath the department head level and award pay increases of up to 15 percent.

City Administrator Fred Russell

(706) 821-2400


What is the process for an idea to become an ordinance?

Anyone, including commissioners, seeking to make or change city laws can raise an issue by getting it on a committee or regular meeting agenda, either by having a commissioner or city official include it or filing a request with the clerk of commission – by 5 p.m. Wednesday prior to a Tuesday commission meeting or 5 p.m. Tuesday prior to a committee meeting.

If the idea has support, the commission can vote to have the city general counsel review the idea and draft an ordinance reflecting it. At least six votes are then required for the ordinance to become law.


How does an item get on the agenda?

A commissioner, the administrator or a department head can place an item on a committee agenda for discussion and possible action. If the item stalls in committee or is rejected, it may or may not be forwarded to the full commission for approval.


How could I get an item on the agenda?

Ask a commissioner to include the item, or request time from the city clerk to speak about the item. Agenda item request forms are available at


When does the commission meet?

The mayor and commission have regular meetings at 2 p.m. on the first and third Tuesdays of each month. The meetings are streamed live online at The body also has a standing called legal meeting at 12:30 p.m. prior to four-member commission committee meetings – public safety, finance, engineering services, administrative services and public services – which start at 12:45 p.m. on the second and last Mondays of each month.



How can I arrange to address the commission?

Mail, fax, e-mail or deliver a request to speak to the clerk of commission no later than 5 p.m. on the Wednesday prior to the commission meeting.

What should I expect if I come to a meeting prepared to speak?

There’s a five-minute limit for each speaker. Speakers are allowed more time at commission committee meetings.



What should I expect if I come to a meeting just to watch?

If there’s a big item up for discussion, arrive early to get a seat. Meeting agendas are posted online at or are available in the commission clerk’s office. Meetings are known to last three hours or more. Expect to pass through a metal detector on the way into the building.


What about term limits for commissioner, mayor? 

The city charter limits the mayor and commissioners to two consecutive terms.





Who’s affected in upcoming municipal elections?

In 2014, Augusta will elect a new mayor and commissioners in districts 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10.

Only District 8 Commissioner Wayne Guilfoyle and Super District 10 Commissioner Grady Smith aren’t term-limited from seeking a second term.

Johnson, Mason, Jackson, Lockett and Mayor Deke Copenhaver cannot run again for their current posts.


For detailed street-level district maps, visit the Augusta-Richmond County Commission page.

Describe the commission districts by race, population, etc ...

Commission districts are identical to Richmond County Board of Education districts and each regular district has approximately 25,000 residents. Each super district has approximately 100,000 people.

Redrawn by a federal judge in 2012 to reflect population shifts, the location and predominant race group in each commission district is:

  • District 1 is 38 square miles that include downtown, the Laney-Walker district and east Augusta. Its predominant racial group is black, at 68 percent.
  • District 2 is 11 square miles in south-central Augusta that includes areas around Kissingbower and Peach Orchard roads. Its dominant race group is black, at 70 percent.
  • District 3 is 17 square miles that include areas around Wrightsboro Road, Jimmie Dyess Parkway and Summerville. It has a white majority of 54 percent.
  • District 4 is 18 square miles in southwest Augusta that include part of Fort Gordon and areas around Tobacco and Deans Bridge roads. It is majority black, at 68 percent, and is the district with the largest Latino population, at almost 7 percent.
  • District 5 is 14 square miles in southwest-central Augusta including areas around Glenn Hills, Milledgeville Road and Meadowbrook Drive. It is majority black, at 73 percent.
  • District 6 is 25 square miles in southeast Augusta around Mike Padgett Highway, Peach Orchard and Brown roads. It has the city’s slimmest black majority, at 53 percent.
  • District 7 is 13 square miles in northwest Augusta around Washington Road and River Watch Parkway. It has a 66 percent majority white population.
  • District 8 is 193 largely rural square miles in south Richmond County, including most of Fort Gordon and the cities of Hephzibah and Blythe. It is almost 60 percent white.
  • Super District 9 is 70 percent black and spans districts 1, 2, 4 and 5.
  • Super District 10 is 60 percent white and spans districts 3, 6, 7 and 8.