Aiken city council race to be decided in Tuesday’s General Election

Aiken voters have a City Council race to decide in Tuesday’s General Election.


Political newcomer Ed Wolz, who defeated incumbent Philip Merry in the District 6 Aiken City Council Republican primary, will face Democrat JoAnn Tillman Hooper.

Three other seats will be on the ballot, but with only one candidate each. Those candidates could still face opposition from write-ins.

Andrea Neira Gregory is one of them. She bested Andy Hallen and Jeffrey S. Jordan in the GOP primary for District 5, and has no announced opposition. District 5 incumbent Steve Homoki did not seek re-election.

City Council District 4 incumbent Reggie Ebner also decided not to seek re-election and Republican Ed Girardeau was the only candidate to file to seek that seat.

Democratic incumbent Lessie Price was the only candidate to file for her District 2 seat.


These precincts in Aiken will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday:

Precinct 5: Smith Memorial Building, 125 Park Ave. SE

Precincts 6 and 47: H.O. Weeks Center, 1700 Whiskey Road S

Precincts 13 and 53: Mercy Church, 2700 Whiskey Road S

Precincts 52, 72 and 83: Kennedy Middle School, 274 E. Pine Log Road

Precincts 70 and 79: Knights of Columbus, 1003 Spaulding Drive



Mon, 02/19/2018 - 19:13

Rants and raves