Richmond County schools announce teacher of the year finalists

The Richmond County School System will celebrate its top teachers at a banquet on Nov. 2.


In a news release, the district announced its five finalists for Teacher of the Year:

—Tonya Fulton, Morgan Road Middle School

—Brigitte Holmes, Hephzibah High School

—Kia Mills, A.R. Johnson Health Science and Engineering Magnet School

—Sandra Owens, Freedom Park K-8 School

—Denise Pennywell, Glenn Hills Elementary School

The district will announce the winner at a banquet at the Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center. Teacher of the year candidates from each school will also be recognized at the event.

“These teachers have gone beyond the call of duty to ensure that success is the only option,” superintendent Angela Pringle said. “Their dedication, energy, and creativity are helping to prepare our students to become college and career ready.”

Anna Susan Trulock, of Lake Forest Hills Elementary, won the Teacher of the Year award in 2016.



Sat, 02/17/2018 - 22:44

At mid-session, Georgia lawmakers take on taxes, transit

ATLANTA — Activity at Georgia’s Capitol is in full swing as this past week marked the halfway point of 2018’s 40-day legislative session. Read more

Sat, 02/17/2018 - 22:45

City Ink: Usry says no to mayoral run