Former commissioner Todd to challenge Sias for District 4 seat

Former Commissioner Moses Todd speaks during a rally to repeal Augusta’s stormwater utility fee on April 21, 2016. File/Staff

Just making a one-year residency requirement, former Augusta Commission member Moses Todd said he is moving to District 4 to challenge Sammie Sias for his commission seat next year.


“I’m going to establish residence in District 4 before the 22nd,” said Todd, who’s been living in District 5. “I’m very unhappy about the way the government is going, and I’m making the move so that I will be in the right location.”

Todd served on the Richmond County Commission from 1993 to 1995, then was elected a commissioner of the newly consolidated Augusta-Richmond County. He resigned the seat in 1998 to run for mayor.

After placing fourth in the six-way race, Todd relocated to New Jersey, then Nebraska and other states building power plants and oil refineries. He returned to Augusta in 2011 for a stint at Savannah River Site, then left again for work before returning permanently in 2014.

Since coming back, Todd has campaigned vigorously against the city’s new stormwater utility fee, collecting petitions and speaking out against it at public forums.

Todd, 66, is the president of the 13-county Augusta Central Labor Council and was an area coordinator for Hillary Clinton’s campaign.

Sias, who did not return a call seeking comment, is among the stormwater fee’s champions, and he served as spokesman for it at public forums held around the city.

Todd said Sias “is strong on giving PowerPoints” but “I can’t see where he has contributed a lot to the county, city and the taxpayers.”

He said some on the commission “don’t have a big-picture sensibility,” and “when it comes to managing and setting policy, it seems they are lost.”

Todd said he supports Mayor Hardie Davis as “a decent caretaker for the first three years” despite some initial missteps.

The mayor’s office and five commission seats – District 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 – are up for election May 22, 2018. District 8 Commissioner Wayne Guilfoyle and District 10 Commissioner Grady Smith are subject to term limits and can’t seek third consecutive terms.

Qualifying for the local nonpartisan races will be March 5 to March 9.

Reach Susan McCord at (706) 823-3215 or



Wed, 02/21/2018 - 21:34

Rants and raves