Phi Kappa Phi


Matthew Motes, of Augusta, was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi. He is pursuing a degree in rehab/therapeutic services at Armstrong Atlantic State University.

Military training

Army Pfc. Armand J. Griffin has graduated from basic training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga. He is the son of Pamela Griffin and a 2009 graduate of Hephzibah High School.

Dean’s list

Daniel Jackson has been named to the dean’s list at the University of Dallas for the fall 2012 semester.

Yerby Award

Ted Dunagan was awarded the 2013 Yerby Award for Fiction at the Augusta Literary Festival March 1.

Ruth Watson won second place, and Hawk Mackinney won third place.

Foreign language honors

Steven Todd Cauthron, a French student at Hephzibah High School, was named the 2013 FLAIR Outstanding Student of the Year.

Ana Pereira, a Spanish teacher at Cross Creek High School, was awarded the 2013 FLAIR Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

The Foreign Language Alliance for International Rapport (FLAIR) is a local foreign language academic alliance that was begun in 1985.

Youth art winners

The Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art announced the following winners of the Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition:

Best of Show – Susanna Bondar, Lakeside High School

Division 1 (Grades K-2) – 1st: Iris Moore, C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School; 2nd: Kadi McLester, Byrd Elementary School; 3rd: Ana Winters, Westminster Schools of Augusta; Merit Award: Jacob Gamblin, Westminster Schools of Augusta

Division II (Grades 3-5) – 1st: Brianna Walker, South Columbia Elementary School; 2nd: Christopher Casneros, Byrd Elementary School; 3rd: Destiny Dorr, C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School; Merit Awards: McKenna Turner, C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School; Kate Lynch, Westminster Schools of Augusta; Colby Grace Speth, South Columbia Elementary School

Division III (Grades 6-8) – 1st: Yasabel Velez, Westminster Schools of Augusta; 2nd: Riley Keuroglian, Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School; 3rd: Elizabeth Baney, St. Mary’s on the Hill Catholic School; Merit Award: Caroline Campbell, Westminster Schools of Augusta

Division IV (Grades 9-12): 1st: Ellen Griffin, Lakeside High School; 2nd: Brea Jones, Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School; 3rd: Gabrielle Turner, Augusta Preparatory Day School; Merit Awards: Brook Stevens, Augusta Preparatory Day School; Nicole Rachels, Burke County High School; Charmaine Moore, Lakeside High School

NAACP honor

The Augusta Branch NAACP has recently retained its No. 1 ranking among all Georgia State Conference NAACP units.

According to a news release, the branch was recognized at the Macon Georgia State General Membership meeting as the state’s top compliant membership unit.

This is the third time in the last 10 years the Augusta branch has been ranked as the best and most productive membership recruitment unit with 493 members.

Media awards

Augusta Family Magazine won five awards Saturday from the Parenting Media Association.

The association gave out 87 editorial and design competition awards and 30 general excellence awards to parenting newspapers and magazines during its convention in Atlanta.

Writer Lucy Adams received three of the awards, a gold in general feature writing and a gold and silver in service feature.

Michael Rushbrook received a gold award for interior illustration.

Editor Karin Calloway was honored with a silver in the publisher/editor’s note column category.

The award were given in the circulation category of 25,000 and under.

Augusta Family Magazine, a division of Augusta-based TAC Media, is printed 10 times per year and distributed free in Augusta and Aiken.