Columbia County boards set first meetings

Columbia County boards to convene

Columbia County commissioners will start off the new year with a meeting bumped a day back because of the holiday.


The Board of Commissioners will meet at 6 p.m. today at the Evans Government Center auditorium on Ronald Reagan Drive. Commissioners ordinarily meet on the first and third Tuesdays but moved the meeting this week to accommodate New Year’s Day.

The light agenda for the first meeting of 2013 includes the election from among the four district commissioners of a vice-chairman, a post currently held by District 1 commissioner Ron Thigpen. Chairman Ron Cross also will announce committee assignments for commissioners, and board and authority appointments will be named.

Commissioners are scheduled to establish a service and fee schedule for rollout of the county’s broadband utility and consider rezoning a parcel of land on Chamblin Road.

The county’s school board will hold its first meeting of the year at 5:30 p.m. Jan. 8, at the Board of Education office on Hereford Farm Road in Evans.

It will be the first meeting for newly elected District 1 trustee David Dekle. He replaces Wayne Bridges, who did not seek re-election.
The school board meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays.



• Chairman - Ron Cross

• District 1 - Ron Thigpen

• District 2 - Trey Allen

• District 3 - Charles Allen

• District 4 - Bill Morris



• Chairman - Regina Buccafusco

• District 1 - David Dekle

• District 2 - Kristi Baker

• District 3 - Mike Sleeper

• District 4 - Roxanne Whitaker



Thu, 11/23/2017 - 17:28

Rants and raves