Augusta circuit district attorney, chief judge have opposition this year

Augusta Circuit District Attorney Ashley Wright and Chief Superior Court Judge J. Carlisle Overstreet each have opposition for re-election this year.


Augusta attorney and former municipal court judge Evita Paschall qualified Thursday in Atlanta to run as a Democrat against Wright, who qualified Wednesday as a Republican. The pair will face off on the November general election ballot in the circuit’s Richmond, Columbia and Burke counties.

Also on Thursday, Augusta Circuit Juvenile Court Judge Willie Saunders qualified to run for the Superior Court judgeship held by Overstreet.

Overstreet becomes the only one of five incumbent Augusta Circuit Superior Court judges to have opposition this year. Elections for the nonpartisan judgeships are
July 31.

Also opposed this year is Sen. Jesse Stone, R-Waynesboro, as perennial candidate Robert F. “Bob” Ingham qualified Thursday to seek the Senate post as a Democrat.

Ingham, a tax preparer and parliamentarian for the Richmond County Democratic Party, has twice sought a seat on the Augusta Commission, three times run for Richmond County Board of Education and in 2008 ran for Georgia governor, but has lost each attempt.

Stone is the only member of Augusta’s legislative delegation facing opposition this year.

Others to qualify Thursday included Hattie Holmes-Sullivan, who is running for Richmond County Clerk of Court.

Holmes-Sullivan, a judicial assistant to State Court Judge David Watkins, will face incumbent Elaine Johnson on the Democratic primary ballot July 31. No Republicans are seeking the post.

Also qualifying Thursday was Rick Allen, an Augusta businessman seeking the District 12 Congressional post held by Democrat John Barrow.

Allen is the fourth Republican to qualify for U.S. representative, joining Rep. Lee Anderson, of Grovetown, Augusta attorney Wright McLeod and Dublin attorney Maria Sheffield in seeking the July 31 Republican nomination to run against Barrow in November.

Candidate qualifying ends at noon today.

Wednesday's qualifiers